We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first visit, excellent all round and we'll certainly return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Purbeck Vineyard
Ranked #10 of 10 Corfe Castle B&B and Inns
Southampton, England
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Our first visit, excellent all round and we'll certainly return”
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We booked this hotel at short notice knowing that the only available room was the standard twin, described elsewhere as small and not having the vineyard view. Whilst that is indeed the case, the room was of a very good standard with an excellent bathroom - one of the best we've found. Extra touches such as bathrobes, tea making facilities and free newspapers also really made a difference. The meals (both breakfast and dinner) were very good indeed : fresh, local produce expertly prepared by a good chef. The only reason we couldn't give an overall 5 star rating was because the service was a bit haphazard at times : young and friendly staff but who were just a bit disorganised.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul_n52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2011

A fantastic weekend again at the vineyard. The welcome remains just as warm and the food fantastic. Different room this stay overlooking the vineyard beautifully designed and spotlessly clean. We,ll see you in the summer

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilovepurbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2010

We stayed for one night in a family room - great value - to visit corfe castle. The manageress could not have been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble, from extending the heating to letting us check out late since I felt iunwell. And the views from the breakfast room were stunning. It's not luxury but its very good for the price .

Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank hanhanbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

We booked the vineyard 4 weeks in advance for my 50th birthday,we were looking for luxury accomodation with fine dinning.Day before travelling i phoned to book a table and was told they no longer offered fine dinning!! SO WHY does there web site still offer a service they do not provide,WHY was`nt i informed of this when they received the booking via e.mail,phone or post they had all the information.
On arrival we were taken to our clean,modern but small £130 a night no way well overpriced.The uht milk in the room was off great start.
First night decided to eat in the"daily menu" starter salmon served on a extra thick stale slice of bread on top a lettuce leaf.....LOVELY next ,main course rib eye steak a
half of tomatoe between two! i had fifteen chips on the plate and the steak was about 10mm thick this is normally known as a slice!also ACCOMPANIED BY ONE OF THE COOKS HAIR!
I asked for a bottle of the vineyards full bodied red,sorry we hav`nt any...you have to laugh!
so we had a botte white acidic was not the word not reccomended
Went back to the room turned on the tv no reception i was told this is common in all the rooms!SO WHY advertise it??
Breakfast was excellant both mornings,but our first night was an experience we will never forget.
Thi accomodation has four star AA ratings,its about time they went back,and take the authorities with them and look at food & hygiene and trading standards for false advertising.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank weekender069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

V brief review. I stayed here on a family re-union. The rooms were nice, the staff when available were helpful and the food was excellent. The kids had a great time. At times during the day there was no-one around. It is simply a function of the staffing of this "bed-and-breakfast" like place and is not a reflection on the fact that the staff at this place. They on the whole work very hard and are eager to please. I was very happy with this place and would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cityNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

My Wife & I stayed here with our two year old son for the August bank holiday weekend & had a great time.

The hotel is fantastically located between, Corfe Castle, Swanage & the beaches ideal for a weekend getaway. We stayed in a family room & there was a bed tucked away where you would normally find the wardrobe in a hotel room by the door with a curtain covering it, our son thought this was brilliant like a little den & also meant that he didn't have to sleep at the end of our bed.

The decor of the hotel is very sylish but also inviting, you feel like you are a guest at a friends house, all the staff seem genuinely pleased you chose to stay there & you have the free run of the place, explore the vineyards, nice lounge area & an honesty bar all go towards making you feel very welcome. They even had a baby listening devise so that we could feel comfotable leaving our son in the room while we had dinner.

The food is at a reasonable price & of a really good quality the new chef came & spoke to us about his ideas & they sounded very interesting indeed. And we were pleasently suprised by the quality of the wine as well & even bought a couple of botles home with us.

Thanks to all the staff for a great couple of days

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2010

We were visiting family and friends as we live in Canada and hadn’t been back home for over 5 years. We booked to stay for a week. The rooms were great, we had the family connecting room and the family room upstairs as we have 4 children. The setting is beautiful, with a huge garden for children to play in and watch the Swanage steam train from. The staff are great and couldn’t have been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble and always received with a smile. The food was exceptional, the breakfast was fantastic and could be substituted without any fuss. The children absolutely loved the food, especially the pasta. On the Saturday night we had a group dinner, first 14 children followed by 17 adults which worked really well. Everyone with our group loved it and some even extended their stay. The children are already asking to go back! We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseRebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfe Castle
1.6 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
939 reviews
3.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
930 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
1.6 mi away
Ammonite Bed & Breakfast
Ammonite Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 10 in Corfe Castle
188 reviews
1.6 mi away
Olivers
Olivers
#1 of 10 in Corfe Castle
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Purbeck Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Purbeck Vineyard

Property: The Purbeck Vineyard
Address: Valley Road | Harmans Cross, Corfe Castle BH20 5HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Corfe Castle
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Purbeck Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Purbeck Vineyard Hotel Corfe Castle
The Purbeck Vineyard Corfe Castle, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing