We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best holiday ever, absolutely wonderful”
Review of Knaveswell Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corfe Castle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Knaveswell Farm
Reviewed May 28, 2011

We came back from a midweek stay at Knaveswell yesterday and had the best time ever. So much so that the children have already started a jar to save for another trip. We took our children - 9yrs, 7 yrs and 21 months and both sets of Grandparents plus auntie and uncle came too, making us 3 tents in total. The location is superb (next time we are planning a week's trip as we still had so much we want to see in the local area - the model village and Lulworth cove are great if you have children), Paul and Jo are lovely, very welcoming and helpful and our older two boys had a great time grooming the shetland ponies with Issy. None of us wanted to leave - even the boys said they wanted to stay forever, and from two lads who love games consoles and TV, that is high praise indeed. Our youngest ran around the whole time, watching the chickens, playing in the sandpit and just generally getting grubby and loved it when we bathed him in a big plastic tub by candle light in front of the wood burning stove, in fact if there'd been room I would have joined him!. The children got to feed the lambs, calves, pigs and chickens and our middle son was thrilled when his patience waiting by the chicken coop paid off and he was rewarded with a freshly laid egg for his tea.The tents are fab, the beds are soooooooooooo comfy, everything was really well thought out. Relaxing, great value for money, just superb, in fact so wonderful that I almost didn't write this review as part of me wants to keep it all a secret !

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Barnesbrood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 45 of 45 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2010

Have stayed at a few featherdowns - the children and the adults all love it. The kids are fully occupied all the time so it is very relaxing. The only down side with this feather down is the wood chip around the tents. It doesn't matter once the kids have got past the crawling stage. We took a 5 year old and a 8 month old. The little one was absolutley filthy the whole time - beyond normal farm dirt.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
4  Thank Mina18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

MYself wife and three small sons spent a midweek brak at Knaveswell farm last September childrens ages four and a half, 2 and a half and six months and walking.
We had the very best time and cant recomend this sort of holidasy highly enough. Our children loved every minute including bathing in a bucket in front of the wood burner. the peace and quiet of it all is great and really slows down your pace of life for a few days. If you can convince other freinds with families to go to the same featerdown farm with you for camp fire and wood oven evening its even better setling down with a hunk of local cheddar and some local cider. my only advice would be to take a mosquito net if you are worried about the odd spider. apart from that it was fault less. The kids loved feeding the animals and watching the cows milked with local sights to see and beaches to visit its just great.

check out the featherdown farm days web site for a glimse of whats on offer, may look a little pricey but honestly worth every penny

go on give it a try.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank blueboing101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2009

Great experience for all the family, i wont repeat what others have said so i will try to give you tips and the few negative points to help you.
1: you cant arrive before 4pm,and you have to wheel barrow your things to the tent
2: you also pick up your bed linen on arrival and have to make the beds(this is abit of a pain as we had to make at least 3 trips with the wheel barrows and unpack as well and the kids were getting hungry etc)And you have to strip all the beds at the end of the holiday and take the linen back upto the farm (more wheel barrow trips!)
3:you have to light the stove which takes about an hour to get really warm(longer to cook on)
4:make sure you order a stew for the first night (we didnt and wished we had)
5:there are showers but its just a porto loo shower block ,no electric power to it or sinks to wash face and teeth
6:There was only 4 candals in our tent and no more supplied so bring your own(also bring tea lights and matches and a mirror)
7:The honesty shop is ok but more expensive then the supermarket,it does do fresh bread though.
8:if you have a small travel bbq bring it (they charge £5 to hire theirs)
These are all minor points really and if they changed them would make the holiday even better.The experience is great ,kids had a ball(didnt come to bed untill 11pm every night)
there are two feilds with tents in ,we were in the second which had 4 tents in it which was great we had our own chickens which the kids loved.we all had an amazing time and are going to book for a week next summer(and i hate camping!! so it must be good)

Hopefully my tips will help so there wont be any surprises! dont be put off it is a great family holiday,happy camping!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank daisyduke33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We all know that children just love camping - the freedom, the fresh air, the new friends and the informality. Unfortunately I lost interst sometime in my late twenties - once I discovered ensuite bathrooms. But this is camping with a diffierence. The difference being you dont have to give up the comforts of home - namely a comfortable double bed and space to sit and eat -even when its raining - which it inevitably does from time to time in Dorset. That said this isnt the cheapest campsite in the country - but it is the most pleasant that I have ever stayed at.

On top of the facilities, younger campers can help out at calf feeding time or check whether the site's hens have laid enough eggs for breakfast. With personal coaching from Jo its not surprising that kids develop a personal passion for animals and their environment. We had a great time and would say this is just ideal for families with kids aged from 5 to 15 - or adults who want to play too.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank firstimer73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2008

featherdown.co.uk
well what can i say?
knaveswell farm corfe castle dorset.

we just had a fab mid-week 4 nts at this new-old fashioned back to (some) basics camping (in a big tented hut)

its like camping, caravanning and a farm break all in one set in the 1930-40's,
a big spacious hut tent (one of 10 tucked away in meadows or trees) free range chickens, no noises except wildlife and steam train when it went past in the cutting.
lovely hosts, thanks paul and jo.
this is what back to the ways we holidayed before the war.
authenctically done, oil lamps, woodburner (yes you have to get up early to light the fire, keep it going to boil your big lettle for tea and a wash then fry your eggs and bacon but god is it worth the effort...YES!!!!
nice new beds and duvets, cotton sheets...all nice
you make up your own beds and wheelbarrow your luggage and stuff from the car, you had to walk upto the fram for milk or bacon in the little well stocked honesty shop..all good exercise...

marvellous for kids to experience the way of life now fast disappearing in the uk.
just do it !

this holiday is not for lazy towny types who want their laptops and phones 24/7 forget it as there is no electric LOL
nor those who want a lie-in!!
it IS for nice people who want a super country holiday like the old days....

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Rog747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfe Castle
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
954 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
436 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
1.1 mi away
Herston Caravan & Camp Site
1.8 mi away
Woodyhyde Campsite
Woodyhyde Campsite
#3 of 4 in Corfe Castle
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knaveswell Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knaveswell Farm

Address: Knitson Lane, Corfe Castle BH20 5JB, England (Formerly Feather Down Farm)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Corfe Castle
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 unique, spacious safari-style tents plus a self-catering farm cottage on our working dairy farm. Knaveswell Farm is the perfect location for a family holiday, nestling between the golden beaches of Studland and Swanage and the ruins of Corfe Castle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Feather Down Farm At Knaveswell Farm Hotel Wareham
Knaveswell Farm Corfe Castle, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing