We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Location and Good Value”
Review of Norden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Norden House
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We're regular visitor to the Isle of Purbeck and have stayed often at Norden House. The premises are well located. It's a short stroll into Corfe Castle or the Swanage railway and all of the other attractions of the Jurassic coast are a short drive away. The rooms are clean and comfortable and all but one of the rooms has en-suite shower or bath facilities. Although slightly more expensive than you might expect to pay for a B&B, it is one of the most competitively priced accommodations in the area and represents good value. There is a working farm and camp site adjoining the house where you can buy farm produce or visit the farm "zoo". Breakfast is very good. The staff are all polite and helpful. Any problems or issues we ever encountered were dealt with promptly and fairly. Would definitely book it again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the farm can be a little noisy from Cockerels early in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveandCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 88 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

Norden House is part of a farm and camping complex just outside Corfe Castle. Our room was spacious and clean and we could just see the Castle from our window. Our host was friendly and we were greated by a Cockerel called Bruno! Corfe Castle village could be reached by a footpath, which runs right alongside the castle. Breakfast was great and we eat in the evening on one occasion.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The room was very nice and it was nice to wake up to the cockerels but the odor of fish at breakfast was overwhelmingly bad. I like fish but this was not good. The noise of an extractor fan ran all night in the room and the owner was very unfriendly about using a clothesline that was not posted not to use. It was under our window so we thought it was ok to use. The setting was good and the waitstaff was good but the fish and the fan noise would make it impossible for us to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milynda2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We were recommended the food at Norden House and it didn't disappoint, I had haddock on a bed of saffon it was delicious. One of the best meals I've had in a while! If only I lived closer I would become a regular!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have just come back from camping here for a second time and if anything this time was even better than last. Even though they were full there was alot of space for kids to play and you did not feel like you were on top of each other in fact it was difficult to believe that they were full. The showers near the playground are excellent for a campsite and the family room meant I could give my daughter a bath which after a few days was very needed!

This year they have added a new viewing area for the animals which the kids loved. They are so friendly in the shop - what a lovely place.

And the lady that cooks the breakfasts and dinners in the shack is just wonderful! Thank you!

Room Tip: Use the showers near the playground as they are much better than the ones near the fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We got in here at the last minute. Very satisfied. Good amenities, bed comfy, breakfast very good quality, excellent coffee. Dinner in the restaurant was superb also.

Only downsides were the Cockrels slightly annoying in the morning, but not worth getting upset about. And the shower was not as powerful as I am used to at home.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Norden House is an extremely pretty farm house on a working farm. My priority is getting a good night's sleep so decoration, view etc. are the least important. I slept like a log and was aware of cockerels crowing nearby in the morning but it's the countryside and I'd rather that any day than drunken noisy neighbours or traffic noise. The breakfast was good, the decoration very dated but that's not important for one night. I loved the fact that a cockerel and a peacock were wandering around the garden. All of the staff that I spoke to were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curryking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corfe Castle hotels
0.9 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
978 reviews
0.9 mi away
Olivers
Olivers
#1 of 10 in Corfe Castle
270 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Scott Arms
The Scott Arms
#9 of 10 in Corfe Castle
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Ammonite Bed & Breakfast
Ammonite Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 10 in Corfe Castle
192 reviews
2.3 mi away
Woodyhyde Campsite
Woodyhyde Campsite
#3 of 4 in Corfe Castle
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norden House

Address: Norden House On the A351, 1 Mile From Corfe Castle | Norden Farm, Wareham, Corfe Castle BH20 5DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Corfe Castle
Hotel Class:4 star — Norden House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norden House is a Georgian Farm House newly refurbished into a beautiful self-catering letting house to comfortably sleep fourteen, and set within its own grounds overlooking the ruins of Corfe Castle in Dorset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Norden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norden House Corfe Castle, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing