We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George Inn

The George Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Chideock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Went here as we could not get in anywhere in Bridport. So glad we did, very friendly, lovely inn. Good food. 10 people not one complaint, good home cooked, locally sourced food., great service. Thank you, will deff be back next time we are down this was

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Foleyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigWhiskers, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hi Foleyl


I’m glad you found us during your stay in Bridport, it was lovely to have you all, having lovely customers also helps make the whole place nicer! Thanks for taking the time to review your visit and I’m glad you enjoyed everything we had to offer, we look forward to serving you again on your next visit !

Cheers

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    154
    52
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“So friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

We were staying directly opposite the George so went over for drinks and for Sunday lunch. Food was decent, not amazing but fresh and well cooked, service and bar was so friendly.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amanda636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigWhiskers, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hi Amanda636

I’m really pleased you enjoyed your stay in Chideock, it really is one of the most beautiful parts of the world and I’m also pleased you enjoyed your visit to us here at the George. Thanks for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit !

Cheers

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
93 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely pub with excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

This was the local pub that had an good choice of local beer and an extensive menu with several specials. We had the local lobster which was excellent. The staff were very welcoming and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank AdrianS2403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigWhiskers, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hi AdrianS2403

Thanks for visiting us here at the George and I’m really pleased you enjoyed your visit, I agree our lobster is excellent Thank you also for taking the time to review your visit, we hope to see you again soon!

Cheers

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good quality pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Inviting atmosphere, nice beer and beer garden, solid pub food and home cooked pizzas in wooden fire over, good prices.

Helpful?
1 Thank Emmanouil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigWhiskers, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hi Emmanouil P

I’m really pleased you enjoyed your visit and thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

Cheers

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food but slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

This pub fronts onto a very busy road but the terraced area at the rear to some extent is shielded from the noise. It is attractively decorated with floral displays and gets the sun so much that shades have to be provided. The beer is Palmers and lovely. When .... Eventually.... The crab sandwiches appeared ( the pub was not busy on. Tuesday afternoon) they were actually delicious, packed full of meat. This could have been a brilliant occasion, but we had to remind them we'd ordered and we felt a little disappointed.
We would try again as the quality of the food was so high.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigWhiskers, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hi Ann W

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit and I’m glad oin the whole that you enjoyed your visit, saying that we don’t want anyone to be disappointed in any way and I’m sorry you felt you had to wait longer than you anticipated. We do publish our waiting times at the menu in the bar and we should have kept you informed if we had exceeded this, so I sincerely apologise if this didn’t happen, something clearly went wrong! I look forward to seeing you again so we can put this right and banish any possible disappointment!

Cheers

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George Inn also viewed

 
Burton Bradstock, Bridport
 
Burton Bradstock, Bridport
West Bay, Bridport
 

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing