We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Scones!”

Bay Tree House Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chideock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay Tree House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 9 Chideock B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic Scones!”
Reviewed August 6, 2010

Stopped here for a cream tea having been stuck in traffic for hours. Scones were truly fantastic, warm and light. Came with lashings of cream and organic jam. Friendly service, who were happy to wrap up my second scone for me to take away (they were massive!).
Also very friendly resident cat and dog. Can't wait to get stuck in traffic for another visit again.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo6073569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
42
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2010

I stayed here with my husband a couple of weeks ago and had a lovely time. The rooms are lovely, the gardens beautiful and the crab sandwiches to die for! It's only small - 2 rooms and a separate holiday cottage - but I would highly recommend it for location and great hosts, Sally and Jerry!

We had fab weather and ate breakfast in the garden almost every day! Did I mention the breakfasts? No? Well, they too were delicious, all locally sourced products, including eggs with lovely golden yolks! They do cream teas (and crab sandwiches) in the afternoons, which were obviously very popular!

The lovely quiet beach at Seatown is about 20 minutes walk and the Anchor pub is worth a visit for dinner! Other local eateries include The George in Chideock and The Clock House, which is literally on the doorstep. Bridport has a good selection of restaurants and for something special, try The Riverside at West Bay.

All in all, a very enjoyable stay!

Sue & Jeff Carberry

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suecarberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights over the Easter period, recommended by my parents. What a wonderful stay. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. The room was hotel standard with lovely large en-suite, the breakfast was out of this world, what a choice. We had an extra treat with the Easter Eggs and Hot Cross Buns, superb. Would recommend this place to everyone. Our hosts were more than accomodating and the cream tea, well what can I say. Will definately go back there.
Jamie and Clare - 6.04.10

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suey15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2007

The Bay Tree Bed and Breakfast, Chideock near Bridport. What a find, delightful hosts, beautiful bedroom, excellent choice of breakfast which can be taken in the country style kitchen, or on the deck of a beautifl the tea garden, which has earned great reviews for the home made, yes home made scones. With so many B & B's to chose from in this area, we have stayed in most, this is a real gem, perhaps we should have kept it to ourselves!.

Helpful?
2 Thank kiters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2006

We found this place by chance after being disappointed by a booking we had made elsewhere.

The double room we booked into was great - hotel standard room.

The welcome was superb and Bay Tree House also has an adjoining cottage and tea room.

All the food is freshly prepared - fresh ground coffee, scones baked every morning.

A superb place - we hope to go back!

Helpful?
4 Thank hb4400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chideock
3.0 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
495 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
781 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Monkton Wyld Court
Monkton Wyld Court
#2 of 7 in Charmouth
39 reviews
3.1 mi away
Newlands Holidays
Newlands Holidays
#4 of 5 in Charmouth
464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chimneys B & B
Chimneys B & B
#7 of 9 in Chideock
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tree House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tree House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bay Tree House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Duck Street, Chideock, Bridport DT6 6JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > Chideock
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chideock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Bay Tree House Bed And Breakfast Chideock, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing