We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A welcoming cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Main living area looking toward the hills
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main living area looking toward the hills
View from bedroom looking to ensuite bathroom - Tack Room Bedroom one - double bed ensuite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Main living area looking toward the hills
View from bedroom looking to ensuite bathroom - Tack Room
Bedroom one - double bed ensuite
Main living area having climbed up the oak staircase
Dining area in open plan living area
Main living area looking toward kitchen area
For those who have to work whilst on holiday! Wifi available.
Bedroom two - double bed ensuite
Approaching Stable Cottage with Tack Room in foreground (door open)
Lots of local ales and ciders from the three pubs in the village - from 2 to 10 minute walk
Tack Room - separate dwelling, sleeps two and rented as part of Stable Cottage if party of six
Tack Room - ensuite bathroom
Tack Room view from bedroom to ensuite bathroom
Approach to Stable Cottage and Tack Room
Peek of the upstairs via the oak banisters!
Front of Stable Cottage
Entrance to Stable Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Chideock, Bridport, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Julie B
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A welcoming cottage”
Reviewed August 22, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

After an 8 hr drive we were delighted to arrive at Stable Cottage. It looked exactly like the photos. The owners had even left wine, beer and milk which meant we could relax straight away. The cottage is central for all locations. The rooms were well laid out and the beds were very comfortable. We aimed to eat and shop locally. I can recommend Felicity's farm shop and The George Inn.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our cottage - especially as we d not typically ask for one. We are pleased you had a good time and from memory I think the weather was kind to you too. Thanks also for supporting local businesses which is always appreciated. If you have any feedback for any improvements please let us know via email as we are always seeking to improve the quality of our guests' stay - wine and beer being one of them!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith s
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed June 7, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is avery excellent place to stay, hosts fantastic, just the right amount of information. Cottage very well equipped and cosy. Walked all week from base. Wine superb.
Look forward to returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality and location
Liked least: Coming home
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2015
Dear Keith,

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you all stay and we were impressed with your enthusiasm for walking, for laughter, and general sense of adventure.

You are welcome back anytime!

All the best,


Carroll and Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1984Craig
Copenhagen
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful cottage ”
Reviewed May 19, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were lucky enough to find this fantastic cottage in time to book it for the May bank holiday - and we can't recommend it enough.

After perfect days walking the coast paths between Bridport and Lyme Regis, it was a beautiful and relaxing base to return to in the evenings.

It is perfectly situated to explore the area and there are some great pubs within short walking distance to treat yourself to a well earned beer and impressive food at the end of the day.

If you are unsure, don't be, Stable Cottage will not disappoint!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy O
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Superb location and well appointed!”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A great cottage, well appointed with supremely comfortable beds. It's only a stones throw from the beach and what a beach it is!
We had a great week exploring the coves and bays of West Dorset - Eype is well worth a visit as is the walk up Golden Cap. The owner, Carroll had great advice about local hospitality - the Anchor is a beautiful pub on the beach with good food and fine ales and the George, just a few minutes walk away, serves great food and beers - pizza night Thursday) was very good indeed.
Take Carroll's advice if going to Lyme Regis - leave the car behind and get the bus; much less stressful than trying to park!!

All in all we had a wonderful week - the only downside was the noisy dishwasher; put it n when you're going out!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizR490
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation in a beautiful part of the world.”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Stable Cottage is a beautiful, well appointed holiday cottage set in a very pretty village, with a short walk to a stunning beach - I'd recommend it to anyone! The owner was very thoughtful and helpful. There are 3 pubs within walking distance, including The Anchor with fantastic views along the coast and The George, both serving great food too. There is plenty to do nearby - fossil hunting, museums, neighbouring towns to visit - all with a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. We had a fantastic stay.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 21, 2016
Thank you for your comments Liz - much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odyssey74...
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2018 for a stay in July 2018
Google Translation

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2018
Thank you for your review Eric. It was lovely to meet you and and we are pleased the weather was on your side given you had travelled all the way from Germany!

We trust you had a good journey home and we look forward to welcoming you back anytime you like.

Thank you again.

Best wishes

Carroll and Simon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 15, 2017
Thank you Stefan and Sabine for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to meet you all and we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you managed to share our joy of all the eateries and walks in the area!

You are most welcome to return whenever you are in the UK. If it is not too early to say so then we hope you have a lovely Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Carroll and Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing