We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Cap Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights on a touring pitch with our caravan and enjoyed views across to the beach and sea which was fabulous.
Accessing the site is a bit nerve wracking as in some parts the lane is extremely narrow but thankfully less than a mile long, i assume this is why arrival and departure times are so far apart!
Only downside was the cleanliness of the main shower block.....the showers looked like they needed a good scrub, particularly as the grout is mouldy in places, but worst of all there were stains on the tiles in the one shower myself and my daughter used that were still there a few days later!
Having said that, there were plenty of showers to choose from and we never had to queue for one considering how many campers/tourers were on site at that particular time.
The site itself is very close to Bridport which is a lovely town and had the fabulous west bay nearby.
Overall a good site!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank rach77ello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDLH, Manager at Golden Cap Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are very lucky to be located in such a beautiful area and the Jurassic Coast does come with great views, however this does also mean that the area is well protected and that the public access road has been restricted to development. We try our best to keep the road easily accessible by staggering the arrival and departure times and keeping the hedges cut back. Your comments about the shower block have been forwarded to the maintenance team and they will be looking into this. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you will be able to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
There are newer reviews for Golden Cap Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 288 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

Lovely site - great access to the beach and we were impressed with size and location.
Lots of toilets and showers - even in August we never waited for a shower.
We camped and loved the location.
Great little shop and close to 2 pubs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDLH, Manager at Golden Cap Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you for your review, it is always a pleasure to read when our customers have enjoyed their stay. We are very proud of our holiday park in location and facilities and we hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Just had 2 weeks camping in big berries field .wow what a spot .we stayed near the top with a great sea view and loads of space its about a 7 minutes walk to the shower block and loo but its fine and we have 3 under fives thanks golden cap we will be back .oh and its worth investing in some good guy line pegs like delta pegs because it can get windy here like any campsite with sea view

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandysandwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDLH, Manager at Golden Cap Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you for your nice review, we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at Golden Cap Holiday Park and the view from Big Berries camping field is very beautiful. We hope you and your family will be able to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Brilliant place, very friendly, peaceful with great views. Will definitely be back, caravan was heaven! Stayed with our two grandchildren who had a great time. Staff were excellent with the shop well stocked. Fish and Chip van called at site on Saturday evening which we all enjoyed. Facilities were excellent could not have asked for more. Beach just a few 100 yards from site.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank canada44458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDLH, Manager at Golden Cap Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are really pleased that you and your grandchildren enjoyed your stay at the holiday park. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and don’t forget we have three other holiday parks in the area that are also very charming and welcoming to children.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a nice site if you wish to walk and they do except dogs, site very clean and tidy ideal for the beach, they now even have a fish and chip van on a Saturday night, fishing onsite seemed very poor which we were not expecting having fished their lake some years ago pulling out some very nice carp, sadly we only had a few bites and caught nothing, but were told by another camper that comes to the site very regularly that the lake had been dredged and fish sold, which we were unaware of before, and not told by the staff when buying the fishing permits!! which spoilt our week-end, and because of this we personally would not return although sea fishing is right on the door step

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Thank fisherman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDLH, Manager at Golden Cap Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed the park, we are very proud of our location and being so close to the beach.

In regards to our park fishing lake I am afraid we cannot stop rumours and misinformation. Our staff dealing with the fishing permits did not tell you about any problems with the fishing because we are not aware of any problems. The pond has not been dredged and we definitely have not sold any fish.

As far as we know, the same fish are still in the pond. I am not a fishing expert but we are unable to give an explanation for you not catching anything but still having bites. The pond is regularly checked and recently there was some work done on the pond edge but this was because we had a leak and this probably resulted in the dredging rumours.

It is a shame if the fishing lake will prevent you from visiting the holiday park again but I hope you were able to catch plenty of fish in the sea and that you tried cooking mackerel on the BBQ back at the holiday park. Hopefully, we will see you in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

lovely site with fab views of beach/sea. Very clean site although didn't use toilet blocks. Would go again - fishing not very good on lake. Well stocked shop. Staff are very welcoming and keep this place immaculate - always picking up rubbish etc. Stopped in the one lodge which was lovely except sat on the decking you are on full show for everyone entering the site or visiting the toilet block (next door). Settee could do with replacing and carpet bit stained - but aside from that great!

Room Tip: lodge has fabulous views
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MidlandsMoaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDLH, Manager at Golden Cap Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you have had a wonder around the park looking at the other forms of accommodation. We appreciate your comments about the lodge and we will be looking into this. We are very proud of our holiday park and its location on the Jurassic Coast and we do our best to ensure the park is kept clean, we want all our customers to enjoy their stay. Best wishes we hope you will be able to visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a lovely weekend at Golden Cap. We stayed in one of the wooden camping pods (just beds and electricty provided) which made life much easier as we were travelling with a toddler. We had lovely views of rolling green hills with sheep and cows. The site was busy but managed to retain a calm and quiet atmosphere. The shower block was very clean and the onsite shop was one of the best stocked i have seen. It is just a few minutes walk to the sea and the cliffs with a nearby pub. We really enjoyed our stay and have every intention of returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SophieW5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDLH, Manager at Golden Cap Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thank you for your very nice review, we are pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed staying in the Camping Pod. When we decided to add the new Pods to the holiday park we did think they would be a great attraction to families with young children, mainly because of the novelty and the opportunity to go camping without the tent - which can become a little stressful with small children after a long journey. We do have more Camping Pods at our other holiday park Highlands End if you would like to try a different location. Thank you again and we hope you will be able to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chideock
2.8 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
508 reviews
1.7 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
253 reviews
1.9 mi away
Highlands End Holiday Park
3.2 mi away
Newlands Holidays
Newlands Holidays
#3 of 5 in Charmouth
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Cap Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Cap Holiday Park

Address: Sea Hill Lane | DT6 6JX, Chideock, Bridport DT6 6JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > Chideock
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Chideock
Price Range: $21 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Cap Holiday Park has a range of accommodation from touring and tent pitches to lodges, hire caravans and camping pods as well as holiday homes for sale ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Golden Cap Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Cap Holiday Park Hotel Chideock
Golden Cap Holiday Park Chideock, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing