We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Food Ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castleman

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chettle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castleman
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chettle
Dorset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Food Ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

We went for a family meal 50th bday, there were 20 of us, we all ordered something different and the food was out of this world. Staff were friendly, wine was good and just generally a lovely evening we will be back!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    30
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
44
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caterham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed for one Friday night and wished it had been more. Dorset is one of my favourite counties and the Castleman and Chettle did not disappoint.

It is an old building, just the sort of place we love to stay. It is in the heart of a tiny village surrounded by fields; so tranquil. Inside, there is wooden paneling, book-lined walls, works of art on the walls - very olde-worlde.

We stayed in Room 2; a very generously sized room with an enormous comfy bed and huge bath.

We ate in the restaurant and the food was out of this world. Breakfast offered everything you could possibly want.

The staff were friendly and helpful as well as being unobtrusive.

If you want a nice romantic break this is the place for you.

Room Tip: We did not see other rooms, but Room 2 was ideal for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieCaterham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

This is my favourite place to eat in Dorset. The hotel is set in the beautiful village of Chettle and the owner is very jolly and hospitable. The bar is snug, the restaurant cosy and coffee in the study makes it a really lovely evening. The food is good hearty stews, modern fish dishes, great puddings. The service is also good. It s a very special place and reasonable. We went mid week and the set menu was two courses for twenty pounds. Worth a vIsit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cezza101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

"Can I book a table for 6 on Friday 27 December?".."yes of course"...gave my name " thought it was your voice". Oh sorry we're full that night" with a laugh..."so that will be for you and your 5 "close friends" will it"...the numbers went up to 12 and then back down to 8..just no problem either way...and they were pretty busy on the night.

Have taken over hotel twice in recent years for special parties, and they have never let us down..old friends now..

Had a great meal there that night and it was cracking and relaxed as ever. Great steaks we had (post Christmas food) Easy to stay very late and chat,,,you feel you are at home...

The food is excellent and very good value...and they have some great wines..

Dont miss it, but dont tell too many people about it....if you expect TV flatscreens etc forget it...the bills are handwritten..."shall I round it up to include a tip?" Yes of course you can..

Please dont spoil it...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelaround71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Went to the Castleman for the first time with friends for Sunday lunch. It won't be the last time we visit, most enjoyable. Staff attentive, ambience superb, lovely relaxed atmosphere, time to talk over coffee in the lounge after eating. Good choice of starters, mains and puddings, although I had traditional "Sunday dinner", which was excellent value. Only tip, arrive early, it's so popular the car park fills up quickly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We always enjoy going to the Castleman with friends for Sunday lunch and this is a regular occasion with a group of friends. More recently the hotel put on a dinner for us for over 30 people. We took over the hotel for the evening and stayed overnight for the first time.
This hotel has a real country house 1950s feel and our room was spacious and clean if up rather a lot of stairs.
The dinner was delicious and we all chose what to eat on the night from a choice of 5 starters, 5 main courses and 5 puddings. Service is friendly but professional.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonniegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Have eaten in this quirky hotel/restaurant several times and have always enjoed the meal. It isn't slick but the service is warm and friendly and the surroundings are like few other restaurants. A choice of about 8 starters and 8 mains gives plenty of choice (2 starters and one main for vegetarians). The grilled sardines with basil, garlic and olive oil pleased a non-fishy person and the home-cured gravlax & Loch Fyne smoked salmon pleased someone who was. Cod, brill and halibut were offered as mains as well as lambs kidneys, fillet steak and roast pork belly (served with very tasty puy lentils, red wine, chorizo & tomato). Prices are very reasonable for this standard of cooking - £5/6 for starters and £13 - £22 (steak) for mains. A great place to celebrate something.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chettle
0.0 mi away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plumber Manor
Plumber Manor
#2 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Museum Inn
The Museum Inn
#1 of 3 in Farnham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castleman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castleman

Property: Castleman
Address: Chettle DT11 8DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Chettle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chettle
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Castleman Hotel Chettle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing