We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful find!”
Review of Castleman

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chettle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castleman
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chettle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We had dinner, B&B here to celebrate my husband's birthday, having read a review by An Inspector Calls in the Mail.
We consider the Castleman a real find and will definitely return. It is somewhat shabby and has seen better days but charm and class ooze out of the place and you can forgive a few tatty edges as part of its overall character. Our huge room had a 4-poster bed and a super bathroom, all overlooking the lovely grounds and neighbouring fields.
Dinner was sumptious, beautifully presented and delicious, as was breakfast the following morning.
The great thing is that this hotel is affordable, which is why we will certainly return for any excuse!

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CafnJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 122 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2011

For us it was a Hotel we would go back to
The bathroom was perfect, plenty Hot Water, decent sized Bath, shower which worked
The Windows opened
The Bed was of good size and very comfortable
The Room had plenty of Space, comfy chairs and Mirrors
The Hotel had fresh flowers everywhere
The breakfast was local and Good
Lastly the staff were friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Farmerhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Barbara and her team pulled out all the stops to ensure my 60th Birthday Dinner went without a hitch. My Guests enjoyed every mouthful.

Don't miss this excellent Hotel and Restaurant if you are in the area, its a real find.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

This hotel is set in a tiny village set in the beautiful countryside of North Dorset. It is peaceful and relaxing with rooms given over to numeous comfortable armchairs and sofas - perfect places to sit back with one of the numerous books from the shelves or enjoy a post dinner digestive. The rooms are spacious and well furnished. We didn't eat there in the evening although the restaurant seemed extremely popular and the breakfast was excellent. The staff were brilliant.

If you are looking for a Hilton type experience you won't find it here but if you want an authentic hotel run by genuine people give this place a shot.

Wish they'd take dogs as would love to come down here as a family with the mutt and explore the surronding countryside.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattyw70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

It was recently my great pleasure to celebrate my 50th birthday along with my family at The Castleman Hotel, somewhere I had long wanted to visit. I can only report that the day was an utter delight from start to finish and my hopes of a lovely afternoon of good food, great company and some lovely wine were far exceeded. This was due (apart from the presence of my wonderful family) to the excellent care and hospitality we were shown from the moment we arrived until we finally departed. We had a range of ages from 10 to 92 at the dinner table and everyone agreed the menu had a lovely selection on it and some great choices were made! The meals were outstanding and enjoyed by everyone and the deserts were a triumph!
However, the service and 'nothing was too much trouble' attitude of the staff made the day an outstanding memory for everyone, a total gem of a place with the most wonderful staff in every area; I cannot speak highly enough of them. After dinner we were served coffee and tea in the grounds, they had even set a seat in the shade in case the heat was too uncomfortable for my father - how very kind and thoughtful and jsut one of many kindnesses that made a special day 'extra special.'

Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
Thank like2eathere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

It's a restaurant with rooms. The room was OK, a little tired and needs a coat of paint maybe. The shower was excellent, there was a TV, kettle etc.
Unfortunately the room was above the bar and suffered from a bit of noise from the patrons and cars/taxis picking them up. The extractor fan in the bathroom stayed on too long and was a bit loud. I can't think of a hotel that I have stayed in where I have enjoyed the meals so much. The quality was excellent, the service matched that quality. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We are making plans to return, it seems that a lot of the locals already do just that.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idlelayabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2009

We had a wonderful break at this peaceful hostelry in the Dorset countryside. (Residents' and restaurant licence only} Do not expect facilities or room service. For us, it was perfect. All the staff were very friendly but unobtrusive and all professionally trained to do their job whether it be chambermaid, receptionist, chef or waitress. They had thought of everything - 2 hot water bottles, fresh milk in the bedroom, masses of storage, magnifying mirror. We had a huge room with double aspect views of the gardens and countryside. Nothing stirs during the daytime. Cars hardly pass this quiet location. At night the excellent restaurant comes to life and gets very busy as the locals arrive for various celebrations. Dinner was faultless every evening, service was spot on and the menu changed daily according to season and market availability . The efforts are mainly concentrated on the restaurant and the rooms are a little faded and the lighting was rather poor but we were very comfortable and found the 2 lounges and bar very comfortable as well. Excellent breakfasts served til late - anything you asked for, more or less. Perfect scrambled eggs and really fresh mushrooms.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RameCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castleman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castleman

Address: Chettle DT11 8DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Chettle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chettle
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Castleman Hotel Chettle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing