We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Review Highlights
"A must"

Definitely worth a visit. Full of interesting things to see and touch. Lots of facts to read about... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
carol b
,
Fareham, United Kingdom
Fossil hunting

Very nice museum catered for the teaching of children and adults too. Many exhibits were found by... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Carl G
,
Tiptree
via mobile
Read all 705 reviews
  
Reviews (705)
Filter reviews
705 results
Traveler rating
469
200
30
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
469
200
30
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fossil hunting fossil walk interesting displays free entry fossil shop all ages helpful staff children and adults on display interesting place great for kids sea dragon lyme regis guided walk couple of hours low tide beach cafe
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 705 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2019

We joined a large group for the fossil walk today, at the start of the talk Ali ( our guide) was really informative about some of the plentiful fossils naturally eroded from the cliffs on to the beach. She explained things in a way that was interesting and increased my very limited adult knowledge of the Jurassic Coast.
We were guided to a safe area to search and the 2 hours seemed to disappear, all finds of interest were highlighted to the group and we were left with a greater understanding of the beauty of this amazing coastline and how to respect the nature that surrounded us. The Heritage centre is a charity run organisation and the Volunteers at the desk were really helpful and friendly. The centre has lots of useful guides and interesting finds and really is worth a donation of some sort, i understand you can also book private tours here of which i will probably do on my next trip. In all thoroughly worth every penny spent.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank Mcfrogley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2019 via mobile

We visited on a rainy day as we'd heard they could give us some advice before we went searching. The two ladies on the counter were very knowledgeable and gave us a great deal of information of where to look and what time look for. They encouraged us to bring our finds back to them and when we did they were very helpful telling us about what we had found. This is a great charity and I hope they are well supported so they can keep up the good work.

The museum is worth looking around too for the display of full size fossil skeletons and fish etc.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank RichardH344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2019

you need good informative team when you are out on a Jurassic era coast.. and we got the right information. Although couldn't spend enough time but 4 hours well spent on the beach hunting fossils (didn't find any) but center and staff were awesome.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank ashutoshjhureley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2019 via mobile

We visited for the fossil hunting tour and we're not disappointed.

A great knowledgeable team took us through the history of the area and various fossils and techniques for finding them in the centre before heading out to the beach.

We found a few different types thanks to the lessons and all the family had a great afternoon out

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Mariner_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2019

Our family enjoyed an excellent fossil walk/hunt under the expert guidance of Phil and the team. The staff were great with the kids and so enthusiastic which was contagious. After our session, we all now feel empowered with the basic knowledge the find more fossils on our own and to understand what they may be. Definitely worth doing.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Tom_Hetherington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews