We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Appearance but Not Clean - Overpriced”
Review of Fernhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fernhill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charmouth
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Appearance but Not Clean - Overpriced”
Reviewed September 9, 2010

We stayed in a £170 per night room at high season but it was certainly not worth it. There was dust on the towel heater, shelf above the sink and the kettle. The button of the toilet flush was broken. The tea cups in the room were turned upside down directly in the basket, which is not hygienic (they should have been put on a plate) as the basket does not get washed. The chairs in the breakfast room had breadcrumbs and one of the coffee cups had coffee stain inside it. Breakfast was OK but not special enough to justify the price.
The location of the hotel was great, with wonderful views and the whole hotel was beautifully decorated. The service was really good. If you do go, I would recommend the afternoon tea and cake there, especially the apple cake. There was a jacuzzi in the bathroom, which I really liked but there were no instructions as to how to use it so even when you turned it off, it kept starting again every few minutes as long as there was water in the bath. Unfortunately we could not use the pool because the weather was so bad.
If it was cleaner and cheaper I would have recommended this hotel but I do not believe it deserves the price it charges. If it was clean, it would be a great romantic escape. With these prices, and with the cleanliness problems, I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bchighstandards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    70
    13
    10
    1
See reviews for
52
138
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2010

The Hotel is in a nice setting, though it is close to the busy A35 and the the less busy but still noisy A3052.
The Hotel has a heated swimming pool and loungers around it,which were very nice. There is an abandoned concrete crazy golf course right out the front which spoils the initial impression a bit. There are also a number of holiday properties very close to the Hotel in the gounds which is a bit unusual.

On arrival we weren't exactly greeted with enthusiasm, but pleasant enough. We also received the complimentary tea and cake in the lounge which was very nice.

Our room (no 6) was very good initially (but see later). The owners had obviously tried hard to make it nice and it seemed clean and tidy. Good decoration and facilites. Tea and coffee (no sugar) was available in the room with locally sourced biscuits. There was a kettle for making coffee etc, but it was not possible to fill it in the sink in the bathroom; doh!!
There was a fair amount of road noise from the two roads mentioned above. The bathroom was a little cramped, but at least it had a bath and shower and a funky mirror with a 'infra-red' sensor to switch on the lighting in it (once we had discovered how to work it...not obvious). This was a blessing as the fan in the windlowless bathroom was quite noisy. There was a very nice 'Pure' DAB radio in the room, but there were no DAB stations available..seems a little pointless!

All started to go wrong when we went down to eat in the restaurant. Were were booked for 7:30pm and asked by the staff to go to the bar to select from the menu. There ws no one serving in the bar for some time. Eventually the receptionist arrived in the bar and gave us our drinks and took our order.

About 1/2 hour later we were invited into the dining room. Good we thought as we were hungry. Another 1/2 hour later we were still waiting for our food. Eventually our "well-done" steak and pork arrived. We could immediately see the steak was barely cooked and more like rare with burnt bits on the outside. Cutting into the pork and this too was not cooked properly. We had to send BOTH meals back. I have never ever had to send two meals back at the same.... appalling! The waitress did apologise profusely and said we did not need to pay for the main courses. By the time the food had arrived satisfactorily, it was after 9pm.

Next issue was with the room. As there was some road noise still at night we had to close the window. Fell asleep OK, but a couple of hours later woke up roasting hot and had to throw off the 9 Tog duvet (in summer?) and had a very uncomfortable night. Asked for a lighter duvet in the mornign which was provided with no quibble, but the room was still very hot again the next night. There was a ceiling fan in the room and this was controlled by a remote control...we did not think of this at 3am.

I don't know if they had a staffing shortage when we were there, but we did not see anything of the fantastic staff mentioned by other reviewers. They were at best OK, nothing special. As others have mentioned, the price is also a bit steep for what you get.

If you are at all affected by road noise, forget this Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2010

Thanks for a great stay. Good service, good accommodation, good facilities. Highlights would be the room (we had a spa room), the snug, the breakfast (superb!), the warmth of the pool (in bad weather), the grounds, and the rather bizarre ornamental pool uber-teeming with fish. If only management had been able to organise some decent weather! Will return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happypunter_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2010

I would like to think that my husband and young son (aged 4) are seasoned travellers and travelled and stayed in many hotels but to my shame I have never bothered with Trip Advisor to write a review (even thought I use it extensively before we book anyway). I was prompted to write this review as we decided this year to holiday in the UK (in addition to our European holiday). Fernhill Hotel exceeded our expectations for a UK break. Beautiful location and amazing service. We treated ourselves to a spa roomand were delighted with the aspect and size. The food exquiste, fabulous service but most of all the attentive welcome we had from the owners. Our every request was greeted with a smile and prompt attention from our request for an impromtu massage in their treatment cabin to a babysitter for our son and some calpol to boot after too much sun by the great swimming pool. Highly recommend. We will be returning next year!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knapster1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2010

From the moment we arrived we were treated like real people, as opposed to objects on a conveyor belt. Everybody took it upon themselves to personally ensure that we were comfortable. The evening meal was one of the best I have had the pleasure of having eaten in a hotel. A quality and memorable stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fozzy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We spent a splendid three nights at this charming little hotel. It wasn't grand, but homely and comfortable. Our room, one of the larger doubles, was tastefully decorated and having wonderful views from double aspect windows, enabling us to see Golden Cap and catch a glimpse of the sea in the background. The bathroom was a little on the small size, but perfectly adequate - converting an old country house into a hotel must create huge challenges and this is a small scrifice, more than compensated for by the individuality of every room.
The owners and staff were unfailingly friendly and welcoming and offered the kind of efficient but unobtrusive service that we appreciate.
The restaurant was of a very good standard - not Michelin starred style, but hgh quality ingedients locally sourced and well cooked. If I had any comments the menu could perhaps be a little moe adventurous, and may have become a little repetitive for a longer stay, but there are many other excellent alternatives in neaby Lyme Regis if you get bored.
The hotel grounds are also impressive with a lovely walk through 36 acres of meadows, which inlcude an ornamental lake literraly swarming with carp and a soon to come fishing lake. Despite the weather being variable during our stay, keeping us out of the water, the heated swimming pool was very well frequented by guests with families. We didn't sample the spa, but I am sure this would have been just as acceptable.
Overall, our stay was just what we needed from a short break to recharge the batteries and the hotel must take a great degree of credit for this. You will find bigger, swankier and more luxiroius country house retreats, but when equating value for money I doubt you will find anything better in this area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpinewoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2010

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Fernhill Hotel and we have had the loveliest, relaxing time. All the staff at the hotel were friendly and profesional. The bedroom was spotlessly clean with a very comfortable bed, fresh fruit and fresh flowers awaited us with bath robes and fluffy white towels. We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was fantastic, better than some 5* restaurants we have eaten in. Even though the weather was disapointing, the pool was warm and we even enjoyed a swim in the rain! I would definately recommend the Reiki therapist. Thank you to all the staff at the Fernhill Hotel for making our stay a wonderful one, we shall be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charmouth
4.0 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
7.3 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernhill Hotel

Property: Fernhill Hotel
Address: | Fern Hill, nr Lyme Regis, Charmouth, Bridport DT66BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > Charmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fernhill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful West Dorset small hotel conveniently located between Lyme Regis and Charmouth. The perfect base to explore West Country with stunning views of rolling Dorset Countryside, and 15 minutes walk to the beach. Ample free parking and its location on the Jurassic Coastal path & bus routes make it is easy to leave the car behind while exploring the area. AA 3 star and GTBS Gold award for Green Tourism show Fernhill's commitment to providing outstanding service, with a local seasonal focus whilst minimising impact on the environment. With 36 acres of woodland, ponds and meadows, a la Carte and Bar & Grill Dining, outdoor heated Pool (May-Oct), and Holistic Therapies there are many ways to relax at the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fernhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernhill Hotel Charmouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing