We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gluten free with a G & T...”
Review of Fernhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fernhill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We spent 2 nights here and booked specifically from a search for gluten free hotels . The food was lovely and it was a pleasure to be free to order across the menu as did my partner who is not GF . Staff were engaging yet relaxed and it was good to see such an interest in how food was sourced and prepared for the hotel guests. We were lucky to be there on a glorious weekend of weather so a walk into Lyme Regis and over to Charmouth gave us a great feel for a lovely location. The pool looked very inviting but the bar beckoned and so we enjoyed some G & Ts in the sunshine.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 261 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights at this lovely hotel. We found the staff friendly and helpful - on arrival we were shown to our room, given a little tour of the hotel and offered tea/coffee and cake as a welcome gesture. Throughout our stay the staff could not done more to make our stay a happy one. Our bedroom (number 3) had a delightful view over the countryside, beautifully furnished with a large, extremely comfortable bed. The spa bath was a added bonus.

We ate every night in the restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed both the food and the drinks! The hotel also has an outdoor pool which we made use of during our stay.

We would definitely return to this hotel if we get chance in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PeteSandraH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This hotel is outside Charmouth, but quiet and relaxing with good food and marvellous service. There are a lot of stairs to negotiate if you are on the top floor and it would be lovely, but probably impossible, if they could install a lift. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in at hotels and the bed linen was of very good quality.
The staff are very helpful and the food lovely. Everything is cooked to order so no buffet style hot meals for breakfast.
The staff and owners are very helpful when I injured the ligaments in my leg, they provided ice packs, phoned the local medical centre who advised going to Bridport Hospital and then provided a map so that we could get there. They even brought me breakfast in our room when I was unable to get down to the dining room.
We would stay there again.

Room Tip: I would suggest you ask not to be put in one of the top floor rooms unless you are young and fit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We were greeted by the owner on arrival who showed us up to our room he also lugged our cases up three flights of stairs with very good grace and offered us complimentary tea and cake. We did not eat in but the menu looked very appetizing. The bar was comfortable and the staff very friendly and chatty. The room was well furnished and the bed comfortable. The breakfast was freshly cooked and of good quality, no complaints, would stay here again and would not waste our money eating out in Lyme regis next time but give the in house restaurant a go.

Room Tip: Can't help sorry but from what we saw the rooms are all in queit locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

When we arrived we received a very friendly greeting and a quick tour of the hotel before being shown to our room. We had booked room two as it seem to have a nice view and we were not disappointed. The hotel had everything we needed including Wi-Fi in the rooms along with a TV and DVD player with DVDs available and a large very silent ceiling fan which I suspect might be a necessity in the later months. The only issue we had with it is the fact that the bedroom window which faces the front of the building is clear glass which meant that every time we used it the blinds had to be drawn. I know that it might look a little odd if an obscure glass was installed but a venetian blind instead of the roller type might have been a worthwhile compromise.

We had dinner in the hotel each evening and the food was delicious and well presented. The only slight downside to this was that there seemed to be very few people using the restaurant, most settling for bar food with the result that it was a little too quite. Breakfast was the usual buffet starter with a cooked meal provided. One problem was that some of the starters such as mixed fruit seemed to disappear quickly and were not topped up often enough.

There is a pool but while advertised as available remained covered for the duration of our stay. The area is ideal for walking but be warned although Lyme Regis is only a mile or two away the hill makes it a daunting proposition.

Room Tip: Room two is the one to go for if you have a choice. Good size and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Whilst holidaying in a cottage at Fernhill Heights (between Lyme Regis and Charmouth), we ate at the Fernhill Hotel. The cottage was in the grounds of the hotel so we could walk; the bar area of the hotel was both welcoming and comfortable. The manager (Rob) and staff were friendly and informative. The meal in the restaurant was fantastic; a simple a la carte menu with local produce well cooked. A real gem of a place for a quiet drink, snack or dinner.

Room Tip: Didn't stay in the hotel, but it all looked very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VickiYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

A nice hotel. Our room was great, no view though which would have been nice considering the area. A good selection of toiletries on offer.
Exceptionally friendly staff except for the lady running the breakfast service - the breakfast was very good - small and limited buffet but an extensive cooked breakfast menu.
A very well stocked bar and nice area for relaxing with a book or drink.
Dinner was ok - excellent value, good service.
All in all a very nice time was had - recommended.

Room Tip: Room 9 was very nice although it did not have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmbieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charmouth
1.3 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
446 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
909 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
524 reviews
4 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
390 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernhill Hotel

Address: | Fern Hill, nr Lyme Regis, Charmouth, Bridport DT66BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > Charmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charmouth
Price Range: $182 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fernhill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful West Dorset small hotel conveniently located between Lyme Regis and Charmouth. The perfect base to explore West Country with stunning views of rolling Dorset Countryside, and 15 minutes walk to the beach. Ample free parking and its location on the Jurassic Coastal path & bus routes make it is easy to leave the car behind while exploring the area. AA 3 star and GTBS Gold award for Green Tourism show Fernhill's commitment to providing outstanding service, with a local seasonal focus whilst minimising impact on the environment. With 36 acres of woodland, ponds and meadows, a la Carte and Bar & Grill Dining, outdoor heated Pool (May-Oct), and Holistic Therapies there are many ways to relax at the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Fernhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernhill Hotel Charmouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing