We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in great location.”
Review of Fernhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fernhill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This hotel is top notch in so many areas; friendly staff, lovely rooms, excellent food and great facilities. It is set in fantastic grounds with a swimming pool and relaxing outdoor seating area. We were given tea and coffee on arrival and then had Sunday lunch in the majestic dining room. The waitress was very attentive keeping us stocked up on bread and drinks and ensuring we had everything we needed. The food was well cooked and well presented, and sourced locally. We couldn't manage deserts as they don't skimp on the portions! The rooms are very tastefully furnished and a good size. I think my overwhelming impression was the desire from the owners to give great service and the attention to little details that made the trip memorable. Congratulations on creating such a warm, friendly and relaxing experience!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 261 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

Really relaxing stay. I think we had smallest room in house, as booked quite late. But it was a lovely room overlooking pool and hills beyond. Soft towels and duvet cover! Everything you needed in your room. Lovely Hosts, not in your face just very helpful when you needed them to ask any questions.
Can walk to Charmouth. Caught the bus outside Hotel into Lyme Regis, a favourite of ours really buzzing sea side place. Lots of pubs to drop into and lovely scenery.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michellelou27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is the best hotel we have ever stayed, indeed! I warmly recommend it for anyone! One can feel that the owners put their heart into it and sincerely do their best to make a very comfortable and pleasant stay for their guests.They are personally very nice people and have helped us a lot with our questions, finding proper bus connections and so on. Upon our arrival, they have kindly offered us tea and cake, and that was for free! This lovely hotel is situated in a picturesque place within a walkable distance to Charmouth beach, one of the best places for fossil hunting. Famous Lyme Regis is also not that far. Besides, a bus stop (Jurassic Coastline X53, bus 31) is just in front of a hotel: very convenient also for those guests without a car. As foreigners, we are sincerely interested in English culture, and have been very pleased to find lovely English interior in the Hotel with fragrant fresh flowers. Also, a delicious typical English breakfast is served (with lovely music), what we wanted to try and liked very much. Again, only local products are used, what gives an opportunity to try real South English food. Our room was very cosy and clean. There is wifi Internet connection for free. Very helpful, one can borrow DVD (feature films, popular science films (Jurassic Coast, dinosaurs)) and play them using an installed DVD player in a room. Finally, the hotel is green tourism awarded, what we find an important detail. Summing up, if we come to Dorset or East Devon again, we will come back to this very lovely English hotel without any doubt! Once again, we feel this hotel has been created and is being run with all heart.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evgeny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

+ Very helpful receptionist, very clean rooms, modern bathroom, home baked cookies in the room, good breakfast.
It was the Perfect location for us.
Free car park and wifi.
Luxurious shower gel.
They were very helpful with our special request in the room.

- The bed in our standard room was a bit soft to our liking.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clytemnestra8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Dear Rob & Jo, Thank you so much for a lovely comfortable stay.
There were lots of welcoming touches in the room, fruit, homemade biscuits etc.
The advice on where to go and what to do was excellent.
Also we had one of the best breakfasts we've ever had. Well done Chef!
We both slept very very well and would love to return!
You have a great balance of making you feel at home yet keeping a professional
service. Keep up the good work, wishing you continued success.
Julie and John Davies. From Worcester.
Ps. The weather was shocking but we didn't let it stop us, the waves were amazing!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayoman15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Had such a lovely 2 night stay in this hotel. Really thoughtfully decorated with a shabby chic style. Room had wonderful views over the hills and loved complimentary White Company miniatures and tea/coffee/hot choc and biscuits in room. Owner was so friendly and helpful too. All in all can't recommend it enough for a quiet weekend away. Lyme is lovely to have a wander round too with some nice restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We booked four rooms for the weekend and all of them were beautiful all the staff were friendly and welcoming, tea and cake a really nice touch and the cakes were delicious could't fault anything, breakfast gorgeous we all had a really lovely time - Beds were so comy that were all off to buy mattress toppers thank you for a great stay

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charmouth
1.3 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
446 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
910 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant
4 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
390 reviews
7.3 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernhill Hotel

Address: | Fern Hill, nr Lyme Regis, Charmouth, Bridport DT66BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > Charmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charmouth
Price Range: $181 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fernhill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful West Dorset small hotel conveniently located between Lyme Regis and Charmouth. The perfect base to explore West Country with stunning views of rolling Dorset Countryside, and 15 minutes walk to the beach. Ample free parking and its location on the Jurassic Coastal path & bus routes make it is easy to leave the car behind while exploring the area. AA 3 star and GTBS Gold award for Green Tourism show Fernhill's commitment to providing outstanding service, with a local seasonal focus whilst minimising impact on the environment. With 36 acres of woodland, ponds and meadows, a la Carte and Bar & Grill Dining, outdoor heated Pool (May-Oct), and Holistic Therapies there are many ways to relax at the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fernhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernhill Hotel Charmouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing