We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great part of the country, great hosts.”
Review of Fernhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fernhill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charmouth
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great part of the country, great hosts.”
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I've been back a few times now to the Fernhill and remain totally impressed with the whole set up. Friendly and accomodating staff, beautiful rooms and outstanding food! Breakfast is a multiple choice affair where you are totally spolit for choice and the cooked breakfast is hot, tasty and noticeably fresh.....simply delicious. The restaurant in the evening remains a first class venue with a varied and appetising menu, all meals that I've experienced cooked to perfection, and service second to none. If you haven't been........get down there and enjoy the scenery, the comfort, the wonderful hospitality of Rob, Jo and their team.........and make sure you don't snack on the way, because you will LOVE the food!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronniejuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    72
    16
    10
    1
See reviews for
54
148
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Fernhill is a beautiful hotel run by the nicest couple you will meet.

The location is perfect and is close to all the local attractions.

If, like me, you enjoy a good breakfast when you stay away from home...you won't be disappointed!

Would recommend it to all types of people for all types of holiday/visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobadob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2011

The owners of Fernhill are just so fantastic. They genuinely love what they do and this shows through every part of the hotel. The atmosphere is extremely relaxing and you are welcomed by the most pleasantly when you first arrive! We had our dinner at the hotel on the first night and the food was out of this world. I had the fillet steak, which was cooked to perfection! One of the best steaks I have had, hands down. The rooms are very comfortable, bright and airy and have beds you can just sink into after a day of trawling the beaches for fossils! The breakfasts are equally as good as the dinner. There's a brilliant selection of cold food and hot food cooked fresh to your liking. It is also within very easy reach of many touristic sights, by car or by the buses that run daily past the hotel. My family and I only stayed for two nights, but those three days, we were made to feel extremely at home and welcome. Thankyou so much for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie-Su
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We discovered the Fernhill Hotel whilst visiting friends locally at Christmas time. We needed somewhere to stay overnight and were delighted to find this little jem. Jo and Rob are fantastic hosts and nothing is too much trouble. We and our two boys were made to feel totally welcome, and even though one of our boys is lactose intolerant and very fussy about what he will eat, this was no problem at all! We all enjoyed the delicious breakfast and the portions were very generous.

We stayed in the family room at the top - fantastic as it even had a separate bunk room which the boys thought was great (even if they did fight over the top bunk!). The room was spacious and very clean, and the bed was deliciously comfortable.

Despite the weather, we managed a walk down to the beach for a spot of fosil hunting (v successful) before heading home.

Excellent hotel - can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JT99A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We used Fernhill Hotel as our reception for our wedding and had various meetings with Jo, the owner, about what we wanted and were open to her suggestions. When the big day came and we arrived at the hotel, Jo, Rob and their staff made everyone feel extremely comfortable and we couldn't fault the service from beginning to end. All the guests commented on what a lovely location we had chosen and that the food was exceptionally good, with the staff replenishing items that had been finished and generally acting extremely professional while remaining charming and approachable. When the evening was over, we all retired to our rooms, which are all finished to a very high standard and had all the usual facilities (Bath/Shower, some with whirlpool baths etc). When arriving for breakfast the next morning, we were greeted with a lovely choice of foods, which were all cooked perfectly, and again, the waiting staff performed exceptionally.

Overall I would recommend the Fernhill Hotel for any stays, or for any receptions you might want. They offer a lovely building, service that we could not fault and generally a very professional service while maintaining a very friendly atmosphere. Also the grounds/building provide an excellent backdrop for any wedding photos.

Room Tip: Room 2 , great view superb bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreggnCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2011

We hired the whole hotel for our wedding breakfast, evening entertainment and a nights bed and breakfast for all our guest and we couldnt have had a better time anywhere else. The staff were friendly and most helpful, the place was beautifully decorated and Jo the owner helped with all our preparations relieving us of the pressure. The whole day went very smoothly and a great time was had by all, thank you again to the owners

Room Tip: View the rooms available on their webside
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marnie1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Stayed for a couple of nights with my wife and daughter (6yrs). The rooms were spotlessly clean and far better decorated than I would expect for a small hotel. The quality of the food was far above what I'd expect of a 3* hotel (we usually choose 4/5* larger hotels), and the staff made us feel as though nothing was too much trouble. The beaches at Charmouth perfect for children and fossil hunting. River Cottage Axminster also definitely worth a visit. Lovely walks locally. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papagaiobeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charmouth
4.0 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
349 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
434 reviews
7.3 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
797 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
147 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernhill Hotel

Property: Fernhill Hotel
Address: | Fern Hill, nr Lyme Regis, Charmouth, Bridport DT66BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > Charmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fernhill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful West Dorset small hotel conveniently located between Lyme Regis and Charmouth. The perfect base to explore West Country with stunning views of rolling Dorset Countryside, and 15 minutes walk to the beach. Ample free parking and its location on the Jurassic Coastal path & bus routes make it is easy to leave the car behind while exploring the area. AA 3 star and GTBS Gold award for Green Tourism show Fernhill's commitment to providing outstanding service, with a local seasonal focus whilst minimising impact on the environment. With 36 acres of woodland, ponds and meadows, a la Carte and Bar & Grill Dining, outdoor heated Pool (May-Oct), and Holistic Therapies there are many ways to relax at the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fernhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernhill Hotel Charmouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing