We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fourth year...lovely site!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monkton Wyld Caravan and Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Great site, lovely pitches, facilities spotless and well looked after and friendly staff....wouldn't go anywhere else when in the area...sshhhh don't tell too many people how good it is though..don't want the secret to get out...:-)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HerbieHammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 104 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

A very cleen and tidy site, the shower cubicals are very large so there is plenty of room to hang your clothes up,also they don't get wet when the shower is on , they are also very clean , as are the toilets. The staff are very friendly as well. all in all a nice site.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights on the camping field at Monkton Wyld and can thoroughly recommend it for anyone with a caravan or tent - whatever the size. We have a large tent and gazebo and pitched hence why we went on the camping field and, despite it being the overflow area, it was well provided for with toilet and shower blocks as well as water points in the field. My only request about that would be could we please have a pot wash there as the closest was into the main site area.

The reception staff were very helpful and physically led us to the pitch with a little golf buggy that I thoroughly enjoyed a ride on :D and there is a very nice man who does hog roast on a Friday night and jacket spuds on a Saturday night.

Upon arrival you are given a leaflet with lots of useful information - including local medical centres which was of great help when we needed to take our three year old for some medical attention.

There is a beautiful dog walk within a little wooded area which is lit up at night with fairy lights and we would happily travel back there again if we are visiting the area.

Despite it being a fairly large site there are several different areas which are hidden from each other by hedges, trees and bushes and it felt less intrusive than its size might suggest.

Before you travel though - just check your sat nav as ours kept trying to take us left off the main road opposite the Huntsman Public House which then leads to an awkward right hand turn back onto the road for the site. If you go past the Huntsman and take the second left it i much easier.

The location is ideal for trips to Charmouth Weymouth, Lyme Regis and many other beaches and venues in the area.

Room Tip: If on the camping field pitch closer to the entrance to the field as the far end is alongside the A3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We found this site with the caravan and camping club.The good points, all facilites were top rate very clean and the pitches were also a more than average size it had an on site shop and the staff were very helpfull its only a shord drive to Axminster ther you will find two well known super markets and it it is quite a nice town with River Cottage canteen and deli.The down side its a little to far outside Lyme and Charmouth,taxi's were very expensive and so was the pitch prices, they also say in the info pack that there is a pub within walking distance, well there is but the road is very dangerous the best bub localy is in Upper Lyme,The Talbot Arms great people and great food http://www.talbotarms.com/ The site is a little too manicured and quite stricked about noise so no talking after eleven there are closer sites to Lyme and when I go back,because its a great area I will be looking at them,but if you don't mind taking the car everywhere thin give this site a go.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NIK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was our third stay at Monkton Wylde - through the camping and caravanning club and once again we could not fault the site. The staff are very welcoming and the site is immaculate (especially the showers and toilet blocks!). This year we had the extra bonus of a Jacket potato van on the saturday night and this was a real treat with a lot of choices of fillings both hot and cold and very reasonably priced, my husband also said the fish and chips which came in on tuesday evening were also very good. The site is very close to Lyme Regis and Charmouth. We can also recommend the pub - Hunters Lodge at Raymond's Hill for food which is about a mile up the road - again our third visit. We really had a good week and apart from rain on thursday afternoon and all through the night had good weather for the rest of our stay - but as long as you are in England that is the only thing you can't guarantee. Nevertheless it didn't spoil our holiday and we will be back to Monkton Wylde again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoventryKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at this campsite in May 2013. We came as a family with 3 caravans and we were all sited together on lovely big pitches by very helpfull staff.
The site itself was kept immaculate and my daughters who both have dogs, were very impressed with the dog walk,the children had plenty of space to explore and play areas kept them amused all day where they made friends.
The camp is handy for visiting Lyne Regis and surrounding bays of the Jurrasic Coast. Axminster is close by with Tesco superstore and shopping area. On 2 nights during our stay,a fish and chip van and a seafood van visited the site.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here w/c 8th April, for the first time. A wet week 3/5 days, but the site staff keep it immaculate. The showers were nice and hot, and we never had to queue. One of the best things is the dog walk at the top of the site, with plenty of bins, and fairy lights at night, so it's easy to find in the dark!

There are plenty of local walks away from the very busy A35. Both Axminster and Lyme Regis are close by. We found Axminster a bit disappointing (very small), but really liked Lyme Regist with its quirky shops and restaurants.

On Tuesday nights, there is a handy fish and chip van on the site. Wifi access is charged: £2 for 2 hours, or £5 all day. As one holidayer here said - the mist could be awesome, but disappeared 2 miles down the valley.

We will stay here again, hopefully in sunshine!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charmouth
3.0 mi away
Seadown Holiday Park
Seadown Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Charmouth
188 reviews
3.2 mi away
Newlands Holidays
Newlands Holidays
#3 of 5 in Charmouth
503 reviews
8.3 mi away
Highlands End Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
259 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
153 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cliff House B&B
Cliff House B&B
#5 of 7 in Charmouth
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkton Wyld Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkton Wyld Caravan and Camping Park

Address: Scotts Lane | Monkton Wyld, Charmouth, Bridport DT6 6DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > Charmouth
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Charmouth
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monkton Wyld Camping, Caravanning & Static Holiday Caravans offers idyllic Camping and Caravanning in West Dorset. Straddling the Dorset/Devon border only three miles from the coastal village of Charmouth and the historic harbour town of Lyme Regis; centre of the World Heritage Jurassic Coastline. The park lies in 25 acres of beautifully landscaped and carefully maintained grounds; over the last 17 years we have focused on ensuring that the park complements the rich landscape of the West Dorset Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Shrubs, trees and flowers abound while mature oaks spread across surrounding farmland that forms the rolling countryside. We have also enhanced the site by the careful planting of native woodland to divide the grounds into several separate small paddocks which add to the general atmosphere of peace and quiet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Monkton Wyld Caravan And Camping Park Charmouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing