We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house, great location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Hideaway
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
The Hideaway
Lounge
Twin Bedroom
Lyme Regis across the bay
View along the beach to Golden Cap
Charmouth Seafront
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Charmouth, Bridport, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Linda B
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely house, great location”
Reviewed June 25, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My husband and I took a break with our 2 teenage grandchildren. We were all impressed as soon as we walked in. The Hideaway is beautifully furnished and equipped. The very reliable WiFi pleased the kids, as did the DVD player, large screen TV and Sky+. The living room and open-plan kitchen were spacious and attractive and the bedrooms really comfortable. The garden is a pleasant place to relax with a decked area where we often took our lunch. Away from home, it is really well situated: the beach is an easy walk, as is the town centre, providing a good takeaway/cafe and a couple of pubs, a well stocked mini-market and a general store. We hardly needed to use the car, but a trip to Lyme Regis was worth taking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor/furnishing and the convenient location
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Reviewed April 27, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HuizeCath...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The name says it all: The Hideaway”
Reviewed February 3, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The Hideaway is a lovely little, but spacious wooden cottage/bungalow. It has a twin and a double bedroom and the living/kitchen area are well equipped. The bed is extremely comfortable, so much so, that I am intending to find out what mattress is on it. The seating consists of two armchairs and a leather comfy settee. As we were there in January, we also used the log burner, but the heating does keep the place nice and cosy. The kitchen has fridge, freezer, microwave, dishwasher and a washing machine, not that I used the latter: I was on holiday!
The setting is perfect, hidden away behind two houses, which don't overlook the place, a nice garden area with decking on the higher ground from where you can just see the sea.
And, to top it all off, only a very short walk to the seafront and beach. The village has everything you need with a little supermarket, butcher, bakery open on certain days, pizza/fish and chips take away and a pub. And all within walking distance too!
We loved it there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wood burner
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally S
Wilmlsow
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent accommodation in delightful location”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The Hideaway is an unusual bungalow, very well furnished and equipped with Wi-Fi and sophisticated TV and radio facilities. The private garden is a lovely environment in which to relax and eat after the rigours of tackling the glorious coastal and inland walks and its location so near to Charmouth beach is a delight.
Charmouth has everything you could need, newsagent, groceries, post office etc and enough decent eating places should you want to try them. There really is something for all ages.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Environment and location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KittenCho...
WIltshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hideaway in Charmouth, Dorset”
Reviewed May 28, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We enjoyed a lovely short break at The Hideaway in Charmouth, Dorset. The Hideaway holiday cottage was just superb. So lovely to stay somewhere so charming and with all mod cons. We loved it. Log burning stove was a lovely touch, as it was cool in the early May evenings. The location of The Hideaway was perfect, so close to the wonderful coastline of Charmouth. We certainly didn't need the car while there. Walking to Lyme Regis and back again was a highlight, as were the abundance of eateries and pubs, all so close. Looking forward to staying again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of The Hideaway
Liked least: Going home....!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 17, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2015
So pleased to hear you had a good break in our cottage in Charmouth and enjoyed everything the area has to offer.
Can't explain why the bathroom was cold as there is a heated towel rail/radiator in there which works as part of the central heating system. Will be sure to check it out this week.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jane T
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful holiday cottage!”
Reviewed September 2, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We have just come home from a long weekend in Charmouth. I found The Hideaway by chance & I'm so pleased I did! It is charming. Tucked away from the road but easy walking distance to the beach & high street. We even wandered down to the beach one morning with our coffee! There is a good selection of shops & places to eat in the village. The fish & chips were lovely! The cottage itself is beautifully decorated - very welcoming & comfortable. Plenty of room for us & our 2 teenagers. Thank you to the owner Helen who was very helpful . If we travel to the Charmouth area in the future we would definitely book The Hideaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor
Liked least: No Bbq
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing