We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of The Beach Rooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beach Rooms
Ranked #3 of 7 Charmouth B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Wonderful 3 day stay fantastic views great accommodation lovely hosts so friendly highly recommend, cant wait to go back .polly and pete couldnt do enough for us and the breakfast each morning kept us going all day it was the best break I have ever had truly amazing .so thank you so much to you both and look forward to seeing you both again


  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwhybrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebeachrooms, Owner at The Beach Rooms, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Many thanks for the review Jacquie. We are so pleased that you both enjoyed your stay so much and we look forward to seeing you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
42
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Ok - we were very lucky with the weather - perfect blue skies in March - but The Beach Rooms really made a special weekend even more special. Greeted by the bubbly Polly who made it clear from the outset that she a) liked people (a rarer quality than you may think) b) liked guests and c) wanted to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Nothing stuffy or uncomfortable about this B&B - its just so relaxing and well, perfect really. There is a double bedroom and a sitting room with kitchenette, a bathroom (bath and shower) and a loo. It has its own entrance and terrace. We had our kids with us and the sofa folded out to a sofa bed for them. Everything has been done without cutting corners which really shows through - the towels are nice, the bed is super comfortable, the bath is a pleasure etc. Nothing irritating or difficult. Breakfast was the best we have had in Dorset - really wonderful - and even a vegetarian breakfast and a gluten free breakfast were sorted out with no problem at all. So The Beach Rooms is fab but I haven't even mentioned the really best bit which is the view and the position. It is as near as you can get to the beach with fantastic views of the sea and the Charmouth cliffs. Fantastic.

Room Tip: There is only one room and its the best one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willis68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebeachrooms, Owner at The Beach Rooms, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thanks for posting such a comprehensive review. It seems you have covered nearly everything about the Beach Rooms experience! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Excellent stay.. Nothing was to much trouble, would highly recommend. Perfect stay just didn't have a pen to write in the comments book.. Sorry so thought best put one on here!!
Perfect location and will hopefully be staying again. Many thanks to you both....... :-)
The views are fantastic so close to the beach.
Charmouth is a wonderful place.. You won't be disappointed at all, Ive visited in winter and summer both are equally as beautiful.
Christmas Day swim was fab to watch.. Didn't go in myself but family did.. Very brave.. I might try next year ;-)

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a peaceful weekend away and loved every second of it. Polly and peter couldn't be better hosts. The accommodation was perfect with your own private lounge, entrance and garden. The breakfast was delicious and I wasn't left out at all by being gluten free! Would definitely return and recommend to everyone!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie260783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

OK - just to make things clear at the outset: we're letting you in on this secret on the condition that you're to keep it to yourselves. We don't want just anybody queuing up to stay here, because there won't be room for the likes of you and me. Get it?

We had decided on a few days R&R in Charmouth so a recent Thursday afternoon saw us crunching up the driveway of the Beach Rooms; it's literally the closest house to the beach. Our car had hardly come to a halt when out bounced Polly with a smile as wide as the horizon and a warm welcome. Both Polly and her husband Peter are naturals with people; by the time we left we felt as if we had been staying with friends, who just happened to let you stay in their annexe This consists of a large picture window (and comfortable sofa) with a spectacular view along the Jurassic Coast all the way to Portland Bill, a spotlessly clean sitting/dining room with sink, crockery and the usual etceteras, plus fridge with fresh milk, small but peaceful bedroom with a superbly comfortable bed and the usual bathroom/loo off the little lobby. There's also a sheltered private lawn and patio with table and chairs. Heating can be an issue at this time of year but this was resolved immediately to our complete satisfaction. Wet clothes? No problem - dry by the morning. Extra wool throws and pillows are tucked into the ample wardrobe and we were sure that if we'd asked for a yak wool blanket, Penny could cheerfully source one ... and probably find a local yak farmer in the process!

Breakfast deserves a paragraph of its own. As can be seen from the complements in the guest book, these are rather splendid. Apart from the fact that Polly/Peter take orders on a daily basis, your likes and preferences are catered for: local bacon, sausages, fish, eggs, etc. I strongly suspected the orange juice was freshly squeezed and the bread is from the local bakery too. The fruit option and croissants are fantastic. And to add to this, it's brought to your own table at the time of your choice - you are invited to feel free to still be in your jammies ...

Above everything else, what impressed us about the Beach Rooms were the friendliness of Polly and Peter, the peace and quiet, the view and the comfort/cleanliness of the suit itself. Nothing was too much trouble and there was always time for a chat (Vespasian!). Also, by staying at the Beach Rooms, you are paying into the local economy in the soundest possible way. Polly and Peter - well done and good luck. We hope to see you again before too long. Just keep the suite free, OK?

P.S. Ask Polly to let you have some of her special "vintage" marmalade. Just don't tell her I said so. Oh, and be nice - don't mess us, as you are going on our recommendation and we don't want to blot our copybooks for the next time we stay.

Room Tip: No need - only one suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wandabristoluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebeachrooms, Owner at The Beach Rooms, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thankyou for a lovely and very entertaining review. I think you covered just about everything!
We hope to see you again, when you can get down the M5 for a night or four. Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Had a wonderful two nights at the Beach Rooms. Polly and Pete are great hosts, nothing was too much trouble and they had a great local knowledge. Breakfast served on the patio and was delicious and the home made marmalade a real treat. The sea view from the patio and lounge, the closeness to the beach and coastal walks make this a great place to stay and relax. the best nights sleep I have had for a while just the sound of seagulls and distant mooing of cows. this was our first visit but will not be our last.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celia2552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebeachrooms, Owner at The Beach Rooms, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thanks for reviewing us, we are happy you enjoyed your stay so much.
We look forward to seeing you again in October.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here just for one night (pity!!) Polly and Pete couldn't have been more friendly, fun, interesting and accommodating. It is difficult to find anywhere that will have a family of 5, unless you go for 2 rooms at a hotel which is very expensive and dull. The rooms here are great, they managed to get us all in with a little manoevering, the three children loved the experience, played frisbee in the garden and felt very comfortable and at home. The breakfast was an absolute triumph, Polly's home made marmalade is fabulous. We wanted to buy a whole load! Also the location is superb, plenty of parking and a 2 minute stroll to the beach. We will definitely come back on a stormy day to get better fossil hunting!! Thank you for a lovely start to our holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethyten66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebeachrooms, Owner at The Beach Rooms, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It was lovely to meet you all and we hope the rest of your holiday was as good as the review you have given us. Many thanks for taking the time to do so.
We hope to see you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charmouth
0.0 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
144 reviews
4.6 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
344 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
781 reviews
6.4 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
495 reviews
5.3 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Rooms

Property: The Beach Rooms
Address: Lower Sea Lane, Charmouth, Bridport DT6 6LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > Charmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Charmouth
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Beach Rooms Charmouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing