We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic when they are taking your money!!!!!”
Review of Newlands Holidays

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Newlands Holidays
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic when they are taking your money!!!!!”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We paid £2400 for a seasonal pitch here this year and they were really good until my son had an accident in their indoor pool. There was a broken tile on the floor of the pool and he cut his foot really badly, there was blood everywhere. Firstly we had to get our first aid kit from our caravan as theirs was so badly stocked. Then the First Aider didn't know how to put butterfly stitches on, another customer (a paramedic had to do it for her). I had to take my son to hospital to make sure there was nothing in the cut and nobody came to see if he was ok afterwards. Three times after that I asked for a phone call from the Manager/Owner which never happened. The accident stopped my son from wearing shoes all week until the cut had healed which meant he missed out on things that had already been organised with a youth group he's a member of. We asked for him to be compensated (only by a free swim/bag of sweets) just a gesture to acknowledge what had happed but they did nothing. In fact the only time they have contacted me since was to see if we were going to pay them again for next year. Needless to say I ignored their request for a phone call back as they had done with us!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    164
    93
    28
    27
See reviews for
286
103
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed for the Halloween weekend and found the whole place amazing. Fantastic Halloween hollow, great indoor pool, lovely evening entertainment for kids. Really modern well equipped caravan, fabulous location for fossil hunting. I would highly recommend this this holiday park, we loved it.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Just returned from a week at Newlands, first time there. Took our touring van, the facilities are spotless. The kids club is amazing and all free. The Halloween week was superb so much effort by all the staff. Will definetly go back

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HampshireLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have just come back from a 4 night break in a lodge on this site. We paid to upgrade from a caravan on arrival. The toilet hadn't been cleaned at all and the bath was the same. However the rest of the lodge seemed fine. The site is in an excellent location and the bar is a good size with nice meals. The soft play was brilliant for our 2 year old and he had it mostly to himself. The outside park had lots to do as well. Overall its a very nice site and would go back but cleanliness could do with being a bit better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steffi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We've just returned from 4 nights here in a caravan.

Pros
It's quite a nice clean well kept site. It was maybe only a 1/3rd full when we were there. We stayed in a caravan which was clean and warm and reasonably priced. The playground was great too. Generally pleasant and a good choice.

Cons
The only negatives were more minor things. The bedding provided is pretty basic, well squashed basic pillows and fairly thin duvets. We would have been chilly some nights had we not bought a quilt/blanket. The kitchen fittings are basic too, bendy plastic kitchen tools make cooking that bit harder. We'll bring our own next time to avoid that. Another annoying thing was the low season shop opening time which was only for 3 hours in the morning during the middle of the week. There's not a lot else in the area so it was awkward when we found we needed things around dinner time but had been off site all day missing the shop opening time. The only other thing was the noise. The site is right by the A35 and also on a flight path with constant helicopters in the evening so the noise was very noticeable around the time we were going to sleep. The reception staff were fairly curt. Not unfriendly but far from welcoming. When we phoned to pay prior to staying we did get the feeling that we were annoying them by interrupting what they were doing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanetteDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Newlands is a great holiday park in a fab location. The facilities are exactly what I needed a warm indoor pool, good food in both the restaurant/bar and the takeaway service offered.friendly staff always happy to chat and very helpful. The park is well maintained, clean and tidy. The lodge I stayed in was a home from home and included everything you would need.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank monners1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We spent a weekend in a caravan whilst it was the Food Rocks festival in Lyme Regis, which was fantastic.

The caravan was basic, as expected. It was clean in itself but the bedding (which is placed in a plastic bin bag for you to make up) had some unsightly blood stains on it.

The reception staff were very polite to us. We used the soft play area, and (as we were outside of the peak season) had it pretty much to ourselves. We have twins who are nearly 3 yrs old and they loved it. We used the inside pool (you have to pay £2), which was heavily chlorinated, but fine. In fact we were the only ones using it, so it was like our own private pool.

It is well situated close to beaches and roads to take day trips.

All in all, it was fine, and glad we got a special last minute deal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TKFEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charmouth
2.3 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
429 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
781 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
344 reviews
6.0 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
495 reviews
2.8 mi away
Monkton Wyld Court
Monkton Wyld Court
#2 of 7 in Charmouth
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newlands Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newlands Holidays

Property: Newlands Holidays
Address: A35 | nr Stonebarrow Lane, between Bridport and Axminster, Charmouth, Bridport DT6 6RB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > Charmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Charmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newlands is a family run park located in the picturesque World Heritage village of Charmouth just a stones throw from the fossil rich Jurassic Coast near the Dorset/Devon border. Set in 23 acres of landscaped grounds, the park offers a range of luxury accommodation and modern facilities for tents and tourers. With a host of local attractions for families and couples, you'll find our five star holiday park the perfect place to spend some quality time whatever the season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Newlands Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newlands Holiday Park Hotel Charmouth
Newlands Holidays Charmouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing