We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping at Newlands”
Review of Newlands Holidays

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Newlands Holidays
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Camping at Newlands”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I'm a first time camper and have just got back from 4 nights of camping at Newlands I thoroughly enjoyed it! At first the staff were a little unfriendly. However, as we got acquainted with the site they were very helpful and friendly. Although, the pitching spots weren't very flat and a bit too close to the road it was still an enjoyable experience. The indoor pool (although small) was really clean and nice. I liked the entertainment. However, it could use a quiz or bingo night for the adults. There was a lot of entertainment for children such as kids clubs and a soft play area. Everything was a short drive away and the beach was great. Overall, I enjoyed my first camping experience and would definitely go back to Newlands again.

Room Tip: Take a good sized tent that doesn't take too long to put up. ( we can't always depend on Bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    156
    93
    28
    26
See reviews for
277
98
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I have just stayed a week at Newlands my first time camping. Arrived fine on first impressions a small site near the cost. We were greeted by a very friendly member of staff who took us too our pitch. One negative was no flat land so we slept slanted in our beds. Once arrived we went to the bar which was clean and well maintained but sat at the bar were some unfriendly cleaning staff resting their feet on the table people eat their food off of. Apart from that the showers were clean and well kept and we enjoyed are stay. Food on site is expensive and poor so for a meal dip into the village of Charmouth as there are lots of nice pubs and takeaways to have. One positive note is the two men running the shop were both fantastically helpful and friendly and are willing to help in any way possible. Be wise as they will attempt to charge for everything they can so stay aware, for example they will charge to use the swimming pool which although is small is never very busy.

Room Tip: TOP TIPS: Being your own lunch as no food at all served before 5:30. The George at Charmouth is wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddielee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We have stayed here before . This time we stayed in the motel for 2 nights and the executive pine lodge for a week. We were warned on booking that there might be noise from the entertainment at night - none heard, 2 bedrooms bathroom and sofa bed. The lodges here are great. More like 3 room bungalows. Private nice comfy beds. 2 bathrooms and kids adventure playground could be seen - not heard from window. If you want to go fossil hunting book in advance online through Charmouth Heritage Centre. Charmouth beach in walking distance. If you want a small boat for the river that goes down through the beach buy at Charmouth. ok prices and they will blow it up for you every day. .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Location was great and the caravan we stayed in (king style-no 53) was more than big enough for 2 adults and 2 young children and fairly clean. The scenery was also lovely.
However the shower was awful unless you are happy with freezing cold temperature. Also the TV was absolutely tiny and the sound kept going off, until you'd banged the side of it or the floor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onyx07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We booked a long weekend camping at Newlands. We chose Newlands because we cant carry much camping gear on the bike and they advertised all ameneties inc breakfasts available, which there are not.
The Bad points:
The touring pitches are on a hill, couldn't find any level ground. The pitches are not marked out so it's a free for all, and we had unruly kids running around, one landed on our tent and when I reprimanded them I got an earful from the parent !
Food in the clubhouse was awful, road noise was very loud, we gave up and came home early.
The Good points:
The showers were good, lots of very hot water, and no queues. Charmouth is charming and just a short walk to town or the beach.
This is probably a good site if you have lots of unruly children. It has a good play area for kids, and the evening entertainment is very good for kids. But if you want peace, look elsewhere. Our mistake probably.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vrodder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
128 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our two night stay at Newlands although there are a couple of things that could have been improved!

When booking our stay in the Motel facility I really wasn't sure what to expect as there was minimal information on the website about the rooms, and there were no photographs of them either there or on trip advisor! At a cost of only £65 per night self catering, I was expecting a dull and dreary, grubby room. However upon arrival I was pleasantly surprised. It was light and airy and clean. The double bed was comfortable and our room had stunning views over the Dorset countryside.
We also had a television, en suite bathroom and kitchenette.

The kitchen was well stocked with a kettle, microwave, fridge freezer and toaster, and after peering in the cupboard I was impressed to find a portable hob and a mini oven. Perfect for a short stay and the shop below was very well stocked with items that could be cooked with these utensils. Glasses and cutlery were available as well.

The bathroom was clean but there was room for some improvements here. The toilet seat was broken and so you slid somewhat precariously when you sat down! The shower was very poor. The water pressure was fabulous...... If you like your shower scolding hot. However if you wanted the temperature a little more tolerable or even cooler in 30c heat.... Forget it. The pressure turned into nothing more than a light drizzle. I considered walking to the camping field's shower block to see what the showers there were like. Also, when we arrived my boyfriend had to use a tissue to pull out a wad of other people's hair from the plug hole in the shower basin! Disgusting!

The outdoor pool and slide looked fun and it was very popular. We thought it was a lovely feature even though we didn't use it. The bar area was good and we thought the 'no children in front of the bar past 9pm' was good and thought we would sit here to be away from children for a while, only to find that it wasn't enforced. The arcade area is good if used properly, however some parents seem to find it acceptable to let their children go wild in there. Several times we saw young children shaking and banging them and misusing them. But where were the parents? The other side of the room none the wiser. Shame really as it spoils the experience for everyone else.

The entertainment for children was great with Dino Dan and games, plus a disco and not here was a soft play area (indoor) as well.

The food from the bar was poor. I had a veggie burger and chips. It was quite clearly the cheapest type of burger that they could find as it tasted of absolutely nothing. The chips were cheap as well and not very tasty. The peas I think were out of a tin. And their idea of a 'salad garnish' was a few lettuce leaves drizzled in... Water? Watered down dressing? I'm not sure! Not really the lettuce-tomato-cucumber-onion combo I had in mind. All this for £10 not including a drink! Absolute rip off considering the quality. McDonald's provide better quality meals at half the price!

I would recommend walking into Charmouth village instead of dining at Newlands. There you will find a chip shop, small italian restaurant and a cafe. We drove into Lyme Regis on our second night and enjoyed a delicious curry at Lal Qilla.

Overall we enjoyed our stay but I think there is room for some improvement, namely the Motel ensuite facilities and the food provided in the bar area. Great for families and lots to do for children.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Twiglet88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had caravan no 54 which was absolutely lovely looked nearly new sturdy picnic bench outside the caravan was situated right at the top of the site which give brilliant views, not so good for my 37 week pregnant wife so driving down to the club house,shop.

Not much to do for the kids so we ended up traveling quite a bit about, crealy,pecorama,Lyme Regis etc.

Food and drink at the bar is a bit steep for my liking

Didn't bother with wifi
Chippy is a bit dear and don't look overly appealing from outside but as usual you can't really turn around and walk out lol

Kids club was on a Monday, weds and Friday night 1930-2030 my 2 kids loved it 2 and 6 year old my daughter 6 loved the games they played and just ran up to our table. Saying mum, dad I won and showed us some sweats which my 2 year old son demanded she shared him. Lol

After the games the disco music was played and that's when the younger ones can have a dance as well there's a small arcade next to the dance floor which my son was very attracted too luckily we sat next to the entrance to it so could spin him back round and send him back to the dance floor with his sister. Lots of laughs and smiling faces for the kids and adults.

Only gripe is it could start a bit earlier as a hour of games flies by.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charmouth
1.3 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
236 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
141 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
334 reviews
6.0 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
483 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newlands Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newlands Holidays

Property: Newlands Holidays
Address: A35 | nr Stonebarrow Lane, between Bridport and Axminster, Charmouth, Bridport DT6 6RB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > Charmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Charmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newlands is a family run park located in the picturesque World Heritage village of Charmouth just a stones throw from the fossil rich Jurassic Coast near the Dorset/Devon border. Set in 23 acres of landscaped grounds, the park offers a range of luxury accommodation and modern facilities for tents and tourers. With a host of local attractions for families and couples, you'll find our five star holiday park the perfect place to spend some quality time whatever the season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Newlands Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newlands Holiday Park Hotel Charmouth
Newlands Holidays Charmouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing