We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection - dripping with atmosphere and charm”
Review of The Gables

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gables
Ranked #7 of 60 Bridport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We rolled up here after a tired and stressful unplanned stop of in lovely Bridport. We struck lucky. Wendy couldn't have been more helpful. The place has been timewarped from the Edwardian era. Not to our taste, so we thought, but then we just fell in love with it. The attention to detail in the decor is matched by the impeccable service. Free chocolates secreted in our room, the BEST breakfast I've EVER had in a b and b, combined with unobtrusive, but flawless service made a hastily booked one night stay an unexpectedly magical experience. An absolute bargain and I highly recommend a stay here if you are heading to Dorset.

Room Tip: We were in Room One. It's a smaller room, but has a great dual aspect view over the gardens and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Punman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 99 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2012

Spent 3 nights here visiting family nearby. Had the best service. Would be happy to recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

We came to stay for a weekend with friends, and can say nothing but positive comments about the Gables.

The house has beautiful character, with period oak fittings & decor. The owners made us feel welcome as soon as we arrived, without being in anyway obtrusive.

The rooms are beautiful, with no detail missed: comfortable beds, chaise longues, space & tranquility. We especially appreciated the absence of a tv, & the fabulously comfortable lounge.

This is a great b&b to have a relaxing weekend in luxuriously comfortable surroundings that have great character.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggieallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We spent two nights here with another couple and we had first class service in every respect. The rooms were spacious and full of character. The food was superb and the owners did everything possible to make our stay a memorable and enjoyable experience. We will return!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david_newnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

My parents came from Spain to visit me in Bridport and they stayed at The Gables for three nights. Wendy and Donald greeted them warmly and I was invited to have breakfast with them two everyday. The hotel and the room was lovely, clean and warm and we were pleased with the hosts. They treated my parents and me as part of the family and were absolutely kind to us during their stay. They were also very patient with me trying to understand my not very good English. In short, The Gables is a highly recommended hotel for family and friends.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed in the lodge a self catering cottage in the grounds of gables. It was clean, well equipped, close to town, and very cosy. We were very happy to stay there and would recommend! Thanks don & Wendy

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KattSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed 3 nights from 2-5 September.
Very good experience from initial contact through to reluctant departure after three nights.
Genial hosts with valuable local knowledge; wonderful breakfasts made from locally sourced products much in evidence; and very comfortable rooms. All within a marvellous Edwardian property packed with original features and collected furniture and fittings.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the two en-suite rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cricketvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bridport hotels
0.6 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
909 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Greyhound
The Greyhound
#9 of 10 in Bridport
126 reviews
3.7 mi away
Halsons Bed and Breakfast
Halsons Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Morcombelake
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Wheelwrights Bed and Breakfast
6.6 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
261 reviews
1.6 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables

Address: The Gables West Allington, Bridport DT6 5BH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Bridport
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Edwardian house offering luxury B & B, within 10 minutes walk to the centre of Bridport. Just 1 mile from the Jurassic coast, with stunning walks from the doorstep. Beautifully decorated large and bright bedrooms with ensuite or private bathrooms. Within the grounds we also have a cosy self-catering cottage for (max of 4 people) with a private garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Gables Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing