We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good site, but rather expensive”
Review of Bingham Grange

Bingham Grange
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bingham Grange
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Overall, this is a good site in a pleasant rural location with walks "from the door". The tent pitches were large and well separated via shrubs/hedges, although the caravan / motor home ones didn't look quite so spacious. It's very well maintained, and the facilities are very clean. In addition to the usual Men's/Women's toilet/shower/basin rooms and (I think) 4 individual rooms with toilet, shower and washbasin they have 2 'super loos' which boast the latter but have nice stone cladding on the walls. OK, this may have won them West Dorset Toilet of the Year or whatever, but I'm not sure it's a very sensible use of the available space (after all, you can only use the toilet, basin and shower simultaneously if you're very athletic). These de luxe loos were almost always occupied (even at 7.00 a.m.), so they can be rather irrelevant to the unlucky masses.
Tent pitches are a fair distance from the facilities (which are at the top of the site), and it would help to have rubbish bins down there too. Didn't try the restaurant, partly because the menu looked very unadventurous and possibly out of the freezer (lasagne and all the usual suspects).
There were a surprising number of vacant pitches (mainly tent ones) considering it was August and high season. I think the main reason must be the price - £26 a night for a pitch with electricity is pretty steep.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InspectorBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 105 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I have just spent a week at Binghams Farm. This is a fantastic adults only site. From the moment we arrived nothing was any bother to the staff, all very helpful. The site itself is well kept and so peaceful. All you hear is the birds. The facilities are spot on. The Buzzards restaurant is lovely. The food is brilliant and a fair price. The chef works hard behind the scenes, but does not show his face. The serving staff work very hard, especially the lovely lady who serves the food at your table. They do a take away service which is a brilliant idea. On the site there are ducks and chickens and you can buy their eggs from the reception, which we did, lovely.
This is a very comfortable site. We will return next year. We had our caravan and had the full service pitch which was fantastic. There is a massive area for tents as well. We thoroughly recommend this site if you are after peace and quiet. They even let you know when they will mow the grass !!!!

Room Tip: I have put rooms, but I really mean pitches. They are hard standing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DeacsHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

just returned from two fantastic days camping at Bingham Farm - facilities are excellent and the toilet block was always immaculately clean and never busy. A lovely quiet place to relax and so close to Bridport and West Bay. If stayed longer would probably have sampled the Restaurant as that has had such good reviews. Look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Just got back from Binghams, lovely site, very clean with excellent facilities. Showers and loos were sparkling. Was shown to pitch by a friendly member of staff who was very helpful. Went to restaurant once and had a delicious meal. Dogs had a great time and visited West Bay and Lyme Regis, both worth a visit. Only one gripe, lady on reception was a bit frosty, didn't even wish us well as we left or enquired if our stay was okay which would have been nice, but apart from that would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robandkarenhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Excellent Stay at Binghams last year on our way to Cornwall, so did the same this year for a visit to South Devon.
Highly recommended if you are a camper or caravaner.
Adults only. Has the best shower / loo units ever.
Restaurant has a very good choice of meals, well priced in a good atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Medway_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just got back from a bank holiday weekend camping trip at Bingham Grange and cannot fault it. The facilities are not lacking in anything and are spotless. Never had to queue for a shower as there are plenty of options available. We did have an electric hook up point on our tent pitch but to be honest, could have managed without it as there are mirrors with shaving points and plug sockets for hairdryers etc. as well as a freezer for your ice packs so didn't really need the electric cool box either.
Food in Buzzards Bar & resaurant is excellent. Not overly priced as you are pretty much a captive audience if you don't want to have to drive so that you can have a drink, and all the bar & site staff are friendly and helpful.
It was only our second camping trip and the first for friends that came with us and it has definately made us want to do more. Will probably stick to adult only sites wherever we go because it is more peaceful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way to Cornwall and 2 nights on our return.
Very nice site. Well laid out and excellent facilities. Very nice restaurant and bar. Highly recommend the restaurant, good food and good value.
Site ideally situated for sightseeing in West Dorset and well located for a short stay if travelling further West.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Medway_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bridport hotels
4.9 mi away
Halsons Bed and Breakfast
Halsons Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Morcombelake
57 reviews
7.9 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
259 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
523 reviews
6.7 mi away
Newlands Holidays
Newlands Holidays
#4 of 5 in Charmouth
503 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bingham Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bingham Grange

Address: Melplash, Bridport DT6 3TT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Bridport
Price Range: $15 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bingham Grange 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Bingham Grange Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing