We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,104)
Filter reviews
1,104 results
Traveler rating
656
280
98
48
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
656
280
98
48
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cocktail bar roll top bath boutique hotel gold room dyson fan deluxe room nespresso machine lovely hotel high street eggs benedict mr mrs family room great room breakfast and dinner wine list saturday market double glazing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
560 - 565 of 1,104 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2016

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights directly after our wedding in Loders and Symondsbury. We stayed in the Red Four Poster room which was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The hotel has recently had a refurbishment and you can tell the room has been finished to a high standard. The inclusion of USB ports in the plug sockets was a great bonus.

The best thing about this room is the free standing bath tub which is big enough for two. Very romantic, although you need to make sure you close the blinds before getting in unless you want an audience on the street outside.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank robn31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Bull Hotel H, General Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2016

We are so pleased were able to contribute to your special day and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2016

Decided to treat ourself , as it was our anniversary and we live local. Met up with friends and an fantastic evening of very good food and lovely wines. We had booked in for one night at a cost of £220.00 it's not a £220.00 per night room or though very clean a very well presented. We had a terrible night due to cooling system that started on and off all night. Didn't have breakfast surprisingly not in the mood! Did complain offered 10% discount and to insist on seeing the general manager who increased the discount, we shouldn't have been charged at all really. Will go back for food but won't risk staying at those prices.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Bull Hotel H, General Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2016

Thank you for providing you review. As discussed at the time of your stay we are deeply sorry that you experienced problems due to the neighbouring businesses cooler unit. Please be assured that this has never been raised as an issue in the past but I appreciate that due to the warmer weather the fan is now kicking in more through the night which added to the windows being open, this has caused some disruption. I can assure you that since your stay I have asked the business to turn it off at night and also arranged for their engineers to come in the next few weeks and either provide noise prevention or move the unit altogether if the noise cannot be reduced. Please be assured I am looking into this to get it rectified. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2016

What a great find! We were only here for 1 night (4th Aug) but will definitely be back. From the moment we arrived everything about the stay was PERFECT. Starting with a complimentary room upgrade, we were then shown to our gorgeous room which was quirky & fun, such a pleasant change from 'soul-less' chains! We didn't dine in the hotel restaurant but did enjoy a cocktail in the Veneer Bar, where there was a good buzz and extensive cocktail menu (Barman very knowledgeable about different rums too :-) ). The breakfast and friendly staff set us up nicely for our round of golf at Bridport & West Dorset Golf Club (also highly recommended).

Thanks for a great stay and hope to be back soon :-)

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenWebb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Bull Hotel H, General Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2016

The room and the food was lovely however we were disappointed with the service. It was our honeymoon and it wasn't made special at all. Our room was expensive, but lovely however we couldn't sleep in the morning as the noise from the traffic was really loud and we had to have the window open due to the room being very hot.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Y5521RElisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Bull Hotel H, General Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2016

Thank you for providing your review. Unfortunately we are a town centre hotel and a listed building so we are unable fit air conditioning into the rooms but I do appreciate that the secondary glazing to block the noise would not have served its purpose to block the noise if you wanted the window open. All feedback is of course important and I am sorry to read that your stay did not live up to your expectations on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2016

Hotel is beautiful. Room was nice. The cocktail bar was lovely and atmospheric. Breakfast great and pleasant service from start to finish. Definitely will stay here again. Night time a bit noisy with outside room ventilation but apart from that, beautiful

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Amyireland2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Bull Hotel H, General Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review - we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews