We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GLORIOUS ROMANTIC HIDEAWAY NUMBER 2”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bull Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bull Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Bridport
Certificate of Excellence
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“GLORIOUS ROMANTIC HIDEAWAY NUMBER 2”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Although we live only 30 mins from Bridport in Weymouth, my partner and I needed some pampering in an exceptional hotel and fairly close in terms of travelling time. As I had stayed there before some years ago - just after its refurbishment - choosing the Bull Hotel in Bridport was a no brainer. As we walked in the main entrance, it was nice to see that my previous recollections were well founded. Sumptuous decor and a fabulously warm welcome were very much the order of the day. The room itself - Rooftops, a mini suite - was opulently well furnished, with a sitting room and superbly comfortable bed. Lovely original features in the bathroom, with a peep hole from the lounge, added to our gloriously romantic room that overlooked the rooftops of Bridport and stretched all the way to West Bay. Taking a cocktail in the upstairs cocktail bar (access via the stupendous ball-room) prior to dinner really relaxed us and dinner itself was an absolute joy, with plenty of pork crackling for an appetiser and sumptuously cooked lamb that just fell off the bone. Accompanied by a lovely deep red wine and in the setting of a dining room that was simply full of character, our eyes met across the table - romance is very much alive! Breakfast was a real treat with all produce locally sourced and we both could not resist the full English - it was mouth-wateringly delicious. For those romantic fools out there, the Bull Hotel is not cheap nor is Bridport a thriving town on a Sunday evening but our brief sojourn was worth every penny and we will be back soon.

Room Tip: The junior suite - the Rooftops - overlooks Bridport's rooves
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    185
    71
    34
    16
See reviews for
123
447
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

My partner, our 3 year old daughter and I have just returned from a weekend at the Bull Hotel and found that there is much to praise and little to criticise. Checking in was a doddle - the ever present receptionist, Sian, took the time to take us for a tour. Unpacked into our converted manger, complete with Mulberry wallpaper and antique Chinese wardrobe, we popped into the cosy bar for a pre dinner tipple where my partner and I were perfectly happy with the service and ambience. But, and this where this hotel excels, it was our 3 year old who was the happiest; impressive origami delivered by the bartender David was a highlight. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent - attentive service and very good food. Breakfast is well presented and there is a decent variety on offer. A visit to The Venner Bar is a must - a small cocktail bar with superb service and an atmosphere to match. We ventured to The Stable on our second night, a pizza / cider set up at the end of the hotel which is a long bench almost do-it-yourself affair which although enjoyable could do with a bit more staff help - one or two seemed a tad clueless. Some reviews quote room noise as an issue and I will concur in that we could hear every footstep of those above but once it stopped we got out heads down on a very comfortable bed. Overall, very good and the staff are professional and personable and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DamonLondon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We have just had a two night stay here booked through Mr and Mrs Smith and whilst not cheap we really enjoyed it. We stayed in room 101 which is at the front of the hotel and was lovely. There was a lovely bath and I love Neals Yard so this was a welcome addition. One comment could hotels put in Conditioner as well as Shampoo as I don't know of many women that don't use it.
We had cocktails in the Venner bar both nights and there was a lovely selection. Try the serendipity it was divine and I Am going to try and make it at home. The food was very good we ate in the restaurant both nights - the mussels weren't quite as good as at the Rising Sun in Lynmouth.
One other tip for the hotel would be to put more than one tea bag in a pot of tea for two.
I would definitely recommend it to friends. The staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Val P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for work trip with 3 colleagues and we all loved it. The rooms were quirky and characterful. The sheets and towels were quality. The 3 course meal was exemplary and the breakfast could not be faulted either, particularly the bacon which was amazing. Friendly staff and great atmosphere, we'll stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barnaclebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here from Friday through to Sunday. Service was superb at every encounter - we were upgraded at check-in but due to a frozen pipe burst, we needed to move again. All handled very smoothly, free drinks in the bar while our upgraded suite was prepared. Our luggage was also moved. All rooms we saw were individually decorated and furnished, the style was 'shabby chic'. This worked really well with the age of the hotel, and the open fires everywhere. We loved the cosy bar area, especially Sunday morning with the papers. The cocktail bar was a real hidden gem, and the Cocktails were authentic and taken very seriously. We ate an evening meal in the restaurant and it was good fresh food cooked very well. Breakfast was also a great meal, eggs Benedict were perfect. Other real positives were the supremely smooth mattresses and silky smooth bedding. So what is there not to like? Well if you like granite, polished chrome, straight lines and high pressure showers you might want to look elsewhere. If you want a cosy, authentic, town center coaching inn retreat for you and your lover, you'll love this. Don't hesitate.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BradTheLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Just back fro a 2-night stay at the Bull on one of their special breaks. Pizza and pies in the Stables on the first night -tried several of their 27 ciders- and and a 3-course dinner in the restaurant on the second evening - all splendid.
The bedroom decor is well over the top -you must look at the website, words won't convey just how weird they are!
Everyone was very friendly. Just one gripe, about the non-functioning free wifi which was new and suffering teething problems.
Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterd35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband and I have just spent a wonderful night at the Bull Hotel in Bridport. The rooms were beautifully decorated, the beds were amazingly comfortable with gorgeous sheets. The staff were exceptional nice and fun. Nothing was too much to ask. The food was delicious and we were made to feel incredibly at home and welcome. What more can one ask for???? Bliss. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louise p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridport
1.5 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
1.5 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
0.2 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
7.2 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
9.8 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Hotel

Property: The Bull Hotel
Address: 34 East Street, Bridport DT6 3LF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bridport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bridport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Bull Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bull Hotel Bridport
The Bull Hotel Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing