We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely Rooms , wonderful food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Marquis of Lorne Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Bridport
Certificate of Excellence
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Homely Rooms , wonderful food”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I have now stayed here about half a dozen times on business. The Marquis is above all a village pub that does superb food, and has a proper village pub ambience. They produce simple but fantastic food , using local fish and meat, and serve the local cask ales.

It is located in a bucolic piece of Dorset, and is close to Bridport and the jurrasic coast for those wishing to use it as a touring base.

The rooms are very much B & B rather than hotel , but are comfortable. They have the usual, tea making , and TV facilities and the pub has wi fi.

a great little place

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitchurchwinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    44
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
31
119
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed in a nearby village and walked to the pub which was recommended to us. Beautiful location just nestled between 2 villages. Lovely pub, friendly staff and excellent food. The pub on a Saturday afternoon was full of friendly locals with their children/dogs, good to see a local business so well supported.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 503821Clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Traditional country pub with great food and friendly people! Comfortable, clean rooms, super beds, home made choccies and cookies - what more could anyone want? This was our second visit, and we hope to go again in the spring. I cannot recommend The Marquis of Lorne highly enough. Within easy reach of Dorchester and Weymouth, and set in beautiful countryside, this really is a place to treasure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

A very welcoming, cosy village pub in the depths of rural west dorset. The staff were friendly and the food was good with decent portion sizes and appropriately priced. It is definitely worth a visit if you're in the area, even if it's just for a drink in their beer garden.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank H01lz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights last weekend. Very friendly and welcoming The rooms were very clean and yummy chocolates and biscuits on arrival to room on tea / coffee tray. Very peaceful and out of the way from it all which made it very relaxing, although only a short drive to West Bay. Would highly recommend and would definitely return. Many Thanks to all at Marquis of Lorne for the excellent service and mouth watering food

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meandyou123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Proper country pub, local beers (Palmers Bridport brewery), locally-sourced food - all wonderful, as are the rooms and friendly, welcoming staff. Powerstock village is five minutes walk away, the majestic Eggardon Hill hill-fort a bit further. This is real Dorset. Enough said! But be warned - the roads are very narrow, undulating and bendy - you never know what is around the next corner, so go slowly and take care - use of mobile phones while driving is NOT advised! Very quick response to emails and tweets which was one of the main reasons we booked here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We enjoyed a fabulous 2 day break here....The food is an excellent standard and nothing is too much trouble for the fabulous staff, the rooms do need a little updating but that does not detract from the warm hospitality and attention to detail, I think it is worth it's money and would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Room no 1 spacious overlooks front of pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridport
3.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
781 reviews
4.5 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
495 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
268 reviews
6.5 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
889 reviews
4.1 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marquis of Lorne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marquis of Lorne Inn

Property: The Marquis of Lorne Inn
Address: Nettlecombe, Bridport DT6 3SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bridport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bridport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Marquis of Lorne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marquis Of Lorne Hotel Bridport
Marquis Of Lorne Bridport
The Marquis Of Lorne Inn Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing