We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely relaxing break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marquis of Lorne Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Marquis of Lorne Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Bridport
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We've just got back from a two night weekend break at the Marquis of Lorne and I can't recommend it enough. Tracey and her two lovely daughters were so friendly and welcoming. The room, although small, was very comfortable and the lovely extra touches (chocolates, cookies and fresh milk in a little fridge on the landing for teas/coffee) were great. The food was absolutely excellent and mostly from locally sourced produce. We live in a village so are used to no mobile phone signal and it didn't bother us. The coastline is beautiful - Bridport is a lovely little town and we really liked Burton Bradstock. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HertfordshireHels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    43
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
29
117
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is our 4th stay at the Marquis & we have never been disappointed. Tracie & Steve & their staff are friendly, helpful, & attentive at all times. The food as always is excellent & the service prompt & efficient without losing the friendly touch. Our spacious room with lovely touches of choccies & cookies, overlooked Eggardon Hill ( a must visit for its stupendous views & serenity) The only downside is the dieting that must be undertaken on our return! Can't wait to go back & enjoy a most relaxing break

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paula_richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Found the Marquis via trip advisor and its good reports, you would never discover unless it was your destination as its in the middle of where? exactly. That said it will provide a perfect place to stay and get away from it all but still within easy reach of some interesting places to visit, Bridport especially on Saturday for the market, West Bay home of "Broadchurch" take your kid and get him to lie on the beach while you take his photo, Lyme Regis, Portland, Studland Bay for fantastic beaches, Corfe Castle and loads more.
Ok, now for the Marquis itself, basically its a pub with rooms, the room we had was large with ensuite and a comfy bed. The bar restraunt served a good choice of well cooked and presented home grown and made meals with an accompanying wine and beer selection. The bars are cosy and there is a friendly atmosphere engendered by the host Tracy who will look after you. The breakfasts are in a word great and will certainly set you up for the day. Outside they have built a new childrens playground with enough things to keep even the most easist of bored children happy for hours
There is wi fi but the mobile phone signal is weak.
Perfect for families, couples and oldies (me). Just make sure you have the right directions before you set off, it could prevent a few otherwise rows!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shelemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Overnight stay due to work. This lovely hotel with its Fantastic Food and warm welcome made the trip worthwhile. The only downside was no mobile signal but the free wifi meant I could still speak with the kids before bed so everyone was happy.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilolme43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have just come back from my umpteenth stay at the Marquis and it has again not disappointed. In a nutshell - Tracie & Steve are amazing hosts, lovely homely atmosphere, great food from Steve's kitchen, first class Palmers beer and beautiful surroundings. What more can you ask from bed breakfast accommodation. I can not praise this pub enough!. Well done Steve, Tracie, Hannah & Jess.

Room Tip: Ask for No. 3 - great view of Eggardon Hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maytemby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freckleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Booked this for our short break to Bridport after checking out trip adv. Main reason for booking was that our dog could come with us. Warm welcome and a cosy dining room. We had soup and prawns to start and sea bass and fish and chips. excellent fresh food. only comment is it is in the middle of nowhere and we drove for miles wondering if we were on the right road, worth the trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank intrak2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have stayed here twice while on business in the area, enjoying the calm environment. The local beers are fine, and the menu has plenty of choice.
Mobile telephone coverage is limited, but don't let this put you off - no-one can bother you! If you must, just top up your Skype credit and use the free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reviewer999_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridport
3.6 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
4.6 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
14.2 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
4.1 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marquis of Lorne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marquis of Lorne Inn

Property: The Marquis of Lorne Inn
Address: Nettlecombe, Bridport DT6 3SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bridport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Marquis of Lorne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marquis Of Lorne Hotel Bridport
Marquis Of Lorne Bridport
The Marquis Of Lorne Inn Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing