We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Outstanding in Every Way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Marquis of Lorne Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Bridport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is our 4th stay at the Marquis & we have never been disappointed. Tracie & Steve & their staff are friendly, helpful, & attentive at all times. The food as always is excellent & the service prompt & efficient without losing the friendly touch. Our spacious room with lovely touches of choccies & cookies, overlooked Eggardon Hill ( a must visit for its stupendous views & serenity) The only downside is the dieting that must be undertaken on our return! Can't wait to go back & enjoy a most relaxing break

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paula_richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 213 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

Found the Marquis via trip advisor and its good reports, you would never discover unless it was your destination as its in the middle of where? exactly. That said it will provide a perfect place to stay and get away from it all but still within easy reach of some interesting places to visit, Bridport especially on Saturday for the market, West Bay home of "Broadchurch" take your kid and get him to lie on the beach while you take his photo, Lyme Regis, Portland, Studland Bay for fantastic beaches, Corfe Castle and loads more.
Ok, now for the Marquis itself, basically its a pub with rooms, the room we had was large with ensuite and a comfy bed. The bar restraunt served a good choice of well cooked and presented home grown and made meals with an accompanying wine and beer selection. The bars are cosy and there is a friendly atmosphere engendered by the host Tracy who will look after you. The breakfasts are in a word great and will certainly set you up for the day. Outside they have built a new childrens playground with enough things to keep even the most easist of bored children happy for hours
There is wi fi but the mobile phone signal is weak.
Perfect for families, couples and oldies (me). Just make sure you have the right directions before you set off, it could prevent a few otherwise rows!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Overnight stay due to work. This lovely hotel with its Fantastic Food and warm welcome made the trip worthwhile. The only downside was no mobile signal but the free wifi meant I could still speak with the kids before bed so everyone was happy.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilolme43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have just come back from my umpteenth stay at the Marquis and it has again not disappointed. In a nutshell - Tracie & Steve are amazing hosts, lovely homely atmosphere, great food from Steve's kitchen, first class Palmers beer and beautiful surroundings. What more can you ask from bed breakfast accommodation. I can not praise this pub enough!. Well done Steve, Tracie, Hannah & Jess.

Room Tip: Ask for No. 3 - great view of Eggardon Hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maytemby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Booked this for our short break to Bridport after checking out trip adv. Main reason for booking was that our dog could come with us. Warm welcome and a cosy dining room. We had soup and prawns to start and sea bass and fish and chips. excellent fresh food. only comment is it is in the middle of nowhere and we drove for miles wondering if we were on the right road, worth the trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank intrak2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have stayed here twice while on business in the area, enjoying the calm environment. The local beers are fine, and the menu has plenty of choice.
Mobile telephone coverage is limited, but don't let this put you off - no-one can bother you! If you must, just top up your Skype credit and use the free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reviewer999_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you want a small comfortable pub/hotel away from the milling crowd near Bridport, this is surely one of the best. True, the approaching country lanes need to be negotiated with care, but the welcome from Steve and Tracey is terrific and the food top class. We met travellers staying for the fourth time - Recommendation enough!

Room Tip: Room three has a brialliant view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarryPMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridport
3.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
845 reviews
4.5 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
514 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
4.1 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
541 reviews
6.5 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marquis of Lorne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marquis of Lorne Inn

Address: Nettlecombe, Bridport DT6 3SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bridport
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Marquis Of Lorne Hotel Bridport
Marquis Of Lorne Bridport
The Marquis Of Lorne Inn Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing