We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent meal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Marquis of Lorne Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Bridport
Certificate of Excellence
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“excellent meal”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Looking for above average meal? This delightful pub offers not just a warm welcome but warm bar and dining rooms even on one of the most miserable days this winter There is a considerable menu of starters two of which sufficed for my lunch. Both were interesting; seared scollops on a bed of mashed potato with a couple of rounds of blackpudding surrounded with a light white and green sauce. The other was soft herring roes with a sauce of red onion and capers. Both were very attractively presented. My wife had a similar experience with crab meat topped with fine sliced apple and pink grapefruit segments .may sound odd but was excellent.Also ate ham and eggs and chips all very well done .Ham had a excellent sweet crust and was not of the wet out of the packet variety. Food of this quality does not come at a bargain rate but very good value for money. Service very friendly and swift

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chickenfeathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    44
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
31
119
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Woking
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

If you eat here absolutely nothing - we have just spent two nights in this character full establishment - its a country pub - in a very small village in the middle of nowhere - absolutely perfect for a get away from it break. The whole atmosphere is friendly but very very efficient. The food is really first class - right down to a first class breakfast. The beers are excellent too.
It is in the middle of nowhere down narrow roads - it is a pub with rooms above the bar so there is a bit of noise filtering up until the bar closes at 11 & the building is beautifully old so don't expect a new build perfect interior however the place is spotlessly clean.
Overall a fabulous place to get away from it - we will return without doubt

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_n_Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is our 3rd stay with hosts Tracey and Steve and we have had a fab time as usual, this is a beautiful old pub in a very quiet village off the beaten track - you are made welcome the minute you step through the door- the accomodation is clean and comfortable- everything is there you could want plus chocolates and home made cookies as an extra touch. the food at the Marquis is wonderful from the full english breakfasts to the sunday roast dinner- beautifully cooked and presented and ample portions. Thanks again Tracey and steve and yes, we will be back !!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Visited recently whilst on holiday in Dorset.Have been many times before.Palmers tenanted pub with decent ales,wines and spirits.Extremely popular restaurant with fanatastic food based on local ingredients which of course include seafood but also locally sourced meats and veg from their own garden.All staff very helpful and knowledgeable about the area and seaside.Have accomodation which we understand by word of mouth to be very good.Lovely garden with childrens play area and well kept flower beds.Ample parking,clean toilets.Because it is in deepest dorset countryside the lanes are very narrow in places and make sure you allow extra times to get there.They have been assessed recently by"anonymous eaters" without the knowledge of the tenants and have been in the local newspapers for their excellent food and service.They feature in numerous guides but especially as a main entry in the Good Pub Guide.We will continue to visit whenever we are in Dorset.
Well done Tracey and Steve.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Marquis of Lorne is an ideal country inn. Set in wonderful countryside with some lovely walks from the inn and the coast not far away . The rooms are comfortable and the food superb. Tracy and Steve are excellent hosts

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We travelled up from a short break in Torquay and spent a very enjoyable weekend with Trace and Steve at their lovely Inn. They were celebrating 2yrs at The Marquis of Lorne and so we joined in their celebrations enjoying a barbeque and music, including an appearance by Sam Kelly, a finalist from Britains Got Talent The food was delicious as always and we were made most welcome, they are fantastic hosts as are Hannah and Jess. We always look forward to coming back. The rooms are very comfortable with extra little touches, bottled water, homemade biscuits and home made chocs, yum. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: We like Room 7, because it has a bath/shower. It has a double aspect overlooking the front of the In...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upton pontefract uk
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

you wonder where you are being lead to if you follow your sat nav but get better directions for leaving and returning once you arrived and when you do arrive what a little gem loverly rooms proper milk in a fridge out side your room chocolates and home made biscuits that are delicious excellent evening meal on the first night and on the second night because there had been a local pub challenge there was only the sunday roast menu available due to meals being served all day this is not a criticism it should be available every night it was wonderful. if you wont a peaceful location then this is the one for you

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sburns55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridport
3.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
781 reviews
4.5 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
495 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
268 reviews
6.5 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
889 reviews
4.1 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marquis of Lorne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marquis of Lorne Inn

Property: The Marquis of Lorne Inn
Address: Nettlecombe, Bridport DT6 3SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bridport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bridport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Marquis of Lorne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marquis Of Lorne Hotel Bridport
Marquis Of Lorne Bridport
The Marquis Of Lorne Inn Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing