We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more than a Country Pub”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Marquis of Lorne Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Bridport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2012

The Marquis of Lorne is a realy great place to stay, room was lovely with nice little touches like homeade cookies and chocs. We ate lunchtime and in the evening and the food was excellent, the surrounding area is very pretty and beeches just 10 mins away, what more could you want.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanessa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 219 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2012

We have heard all good things about this place and its no surprise, a warm welcome is all part of the package and then the food is to die for. You have to try the choc nemisis which is paradise.

A little bit off the beaten track but well worth a visit.

A lovely room with everything you will need for a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benking362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay - the food is superb, surroundings glorious, and accommodation, service and hospitality cannot be faulted - a Dorset gem!

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent - check with Trace and Steve which ones would suit you best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nettlecombe30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

It is our little haven. Well off the beaten track, but we can't wait to go back time after time. Tracey and Steve work so hard and make every visit wonderful. The food is so delicious we are trying everything on the menu. We are going down this week for a special birthday and know it will be be well worth the visit. Do try Steve's Sunday Lunch, we can assure you, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

It has all been said in the previous reviews and how true they are. It is a joy to drive along the maze of quiet country lanes and reach this wonderful inn. Welcoming hosts and staff, a lovely spotlessly clean room, gorgeous food and great beer. The ideal place to unwind, relax and enjoy the pleasures of the surrounding countryside where time seems to have stood still. 5 stars all round Marquis of Lorne. We will be back later in the year for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrBluesky2951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Tucked quietly away in a little hidden world of sylvan valleys and picture book villages with storybook nsmes like Nettlecombe and Powerstock, this place offers lovely but unpretentious accommodation, fabulous food and warm hospitality from the landlord and ladlady. It really is a delightful place to stay if you like rural retreats and rambling in some of the best bucolic Dorset scenery to be found. And quiet! This place is so far off the beaten track to be completely insulated from the routine noise and commotion of modern life. The maze of lanes that lead up to the pub are bewildering (without a satnav - please, have a bit of adventuring spirit and turn it off!) but you can't get lost for long. We are going back soon!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

The previous reviews say it all, but I'll say it again. You couldn't find somewhere more tucked away if you tried (and indeed you probably couldn't find it without satnav!), well worth building extra time into your schedule to have a look round the surrounding area as well whilst you're there. We stopped overnight to break up the journey between Sussex and Devon, and found a very warm welcome and food to die for - we kicked ourselves for grabbing a pub lunch on the way down, as we literally ran out of room for all the delicious food served up that night, including catering for the Junior Fusspots. Listening to the surrounding conversations the place gave every impression of being one of the focal points for the local community, which just added to the experience. Breakfast next morning was more than plenty to send us on our way, satisfied (and overfed) travellers...

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gallopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridport
3.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
929 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
185 reviews
4.5 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
4.1 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
561 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marquis of Lorne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marquis of Lorne Inn

Address: Nettlecombe, Bridport DT6 3SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Bridport
Price Range: $123 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Marquis Of Lorne Hotel Bridport
Marquis Of Lorne Bridport
The Marquis Of Lorne Inn Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing