We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely well equipped holiay stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Welcome to Buzzards Swoop - sleeps 4
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Buzzards Swoop - sleeps 4
Beautiful West Bay beach 10 mins by car Play area and dog walk at cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Welcome to Buzzards Swoop - sleeps 4
Beautiful West Bay beach 10 mins by car
Play area and dog walk at cottage
Comfy lounge & wood burner
Sunny open plan
Kitchen with cloakroom off
Kingsize bed
Comfortable single...
...or twin
Upstairs bath with shower
Homemade welcome cakes
Enclosed garden with BBQ
Outdoor seating & garden room
Private parking for 2 cars
Quiet no through lane with gate straight to ...
... dog walk & field for games ...
... play area ...
... dedicated dog walk through our wood
Fabulous walking directly from the cottage
Lovely family beach at Burton Bradstock ...
... with award winning Hive Beach Cafe
West Bay - gateway to the Jurassic Coast ...
... our local beach ...
... with bustling kiosks ...
... and harbour
where TV Hit Broadchurch was filmed
Lively Bridport with cafes and market
plenty to eat & drink
Iconic Colmers Hill overlooking the town
Anchor Inn at nearby Seatown ...
... beautiful coastal walks
Our dog Tess catching the rays
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bridport, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Linda H
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely well equipped holiay stay”
Reviewed July 20, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Binghams Farm Barns was recommended to us, and although we took one of the smaller properties we were not disappointed. Situated in Melplash a short distance from Bridport, the property is ideal for visiting the surrounding area. With beautiful views and available walks there is plenty to occupy whether you want to be active or just relax! The property was well equipped and had everything you could want from a holiday property. Alistair and Lisa were very welcoming and helped to make our stay a very enjoyable one. Certainly somewhere we would look at revisiting. Thank you again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was as we would have hoped.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ninamacph...
Bristol,UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely break”
Reviewed June 27, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Second visit for us - and hopefully not the last. Ideal cottage for a couple. Garden is good for reading & sunbathing - private & sunny. Small shop, very close by, is useful and the grounds are great for a walk. Location ideally situated for Bridport & West Bay. Burton Bradstock (NT) & Abbotsbury offer coastal and inland treats. Further afield Eype and Lyme Regis make for excellent day trips. If you like Moores Biscuits the original factory has a shop at Morecombelake. Farm shops are in abundance as are quality art galleries. Plenty of on-board fishing trips are available at West Bay and Lyme. Lyme and Bridport are good for wet days but we have enjoyed excellent weather thus far. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious feel, airy and private.
Liked least: concrete garden
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue N
1 review
“Pretty cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed June 3, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Lisa & Alistair kindly allowed us to bring our 3 dogs and the cottage housed us all comfortably. Cottage was clean and well equipped, an ideal base for exploring Dorset .

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele G
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A warm welcome and homely cottage”
Reviewed June 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Well equipped cottage, very clean and a nice,homely feel to it. Very useful folder full of info on dog friendly beaches, local markets and pubs/restaurants etc provided by the owners. Hosts are friendly and helpful but leave you to get on with things unless you need them. Kids loved the trampoline and football pitch. Dog loved the walks! Already planning on going back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The fact that we had to come home!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Karl S
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable cottage in beautiful Dorset countryside”
Reviewed May 6, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This is the third time we have chosen to stay at this comfortable cottage nestling in the beautiful Dorset countryside. The charming owners Lisa and Alistair Herbert are very personable and accommodating. If any enquiries or help required they are only next door. The cottage is well equipped and in a good location for a range of days out. Sandy beaches at Lyme Regis are only 20 minutes away and West Bay Harbour, with many good places to eat, is just down the road. We find the cottage clean, warm and welcoming. On arrival a tray was set out with tea and homemade cakes, just what was needed after our long drive. It is very relaxed and ideal for families with children and happily for dog owners, which we are, we find it wonderful too. The cottage garden is an enclosed patio area and then beyond the garden gate there is so much more. It has an extensive lawned area, and a children’s play area with trampoline and swings where children can safely run around and have fun not too far out of sight. There are lovely walks rambling down through a well maintained woodland to a river. In April the woodland area was filled with wild flowers, banks of bluebells, ramsons, primroses and violets and the air filled with bird song. There are further extended walks from the doorstep through the beautiful Dorset countryside. Happily there seems to be a welcoming village pub conveniently located just a few miles walk through the countryside in either direction.
This cottage suited our requirements admirably. We would recommend this as a place to stay and we hope to return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing to report
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage and more than helpful owners”
Reviewed October 9, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have stayed at Buzzards Swoop 3 times now. Every time the cottage has been found in a clean, welcoming condition. Always set out with homemade cakes and tea/milk etc on arrival.
Lisa and Alistair go out of their way to accommodate your needs prior to arrival and are so relaxed with dogs and our children on their land. The kids love it there, they can play safely on the farm on the trampoline and swings etc provided.
We always have a lovely, relaxing stay. Great for just getting away from it all.
I will no doubt return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing