We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“First rate!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Springfield House

The cottage, with wisteria - a vision in May.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage, with wisteria - a vision in May.
The sunny private patio, with barbecue, and sand pit or paddling pool for the children. The beautiful view from the cottage - rainbows not guaranteed!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
The cottage, with wisteria - a vision in May.
The sunny private patio, with barbecue, and sand pit or paddling pool for the children.
The beautiful view from the cottage - rainbows not guaranteed!
The light and airy kitchen and living area, with underfloor heating and wood burning stove.
The characterful oak floor is cosy with underfloor heating.
Get cosy in the peaceful lounge area around the woodburner.
A king sized bed with high quality cotton bedding, in this room with a view over the lake.
The bright and airy twin bedded room with peaceful view over the garden.
The luxurious bathroom has a separate shower, bath tub and underfloor heating.
Looking through the french doors to the patio and garden; plenty of space for children to play.
'The Girls' will provide you with fantastic fresh eggs for your breakfast!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bridport, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Danielle1...
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First rate!”
Reviewed February 18, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This place was absolutely perfect. Wonderful views. Very peaceful surroundings and excellent hosts. We'll be back!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise H
Southampton, New York
2 reviews
“Perfect In every way”
Reviewed September 30, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A huge thank you to the owners of this beautiful property. We received a warm welcome and hospitality hamper filled with local produce. The Annexe was clean, well equipped and located in a beautiful location. We enjoyed lazy mornings pottering around the Annexe and the kids loved seeing the chickens, ram and friendly cat. We all truly relaxed!
I would highly recommend the Annexe whether it's for a short break or longer. We will certainly be visiting again.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather B
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Home from home”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Just returned from a lovely week staying at Springfield House. Graham and Yvonne were great hosts and even baby sat for us one night so that we could go to the local pub for dinner for some adult only time (highly recommend the Half Moon).

The annex is ideally located to explore Dorset and was lovely and peaceful to return to after a busy day exploring.

The garden was beautiful and we ate outside in the evening.

Nothing was too much trouble and a second cot and highchair were sourced (as we have twins) at no extra cost.

I have already recommended to others.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brummielu...
birmingham,england
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“perfect in every way”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

we had four wonderful days at Springfield Annexe , every thing was just perfect, comfortable beautiful, spotlessly clean and in a stunning location. Yvonne and Graham are the perfect hosts and have thought of everything you need for a lovely holiday right down to the smallest detail. We were made to feel so welcome from the moment we arrived with a great welcome pack with all you need and more for your first breakfast including fresh free range eggs from their own hens.. we brought a dozen home ! . Springfield is in a fabulous spot , great for getting out and about for walks and trips around dorset. On Yvonnes recommendation we had a gorgeous meal at the 'Half Moon at Melplesh' for my birthday we also walked up the lane to the Hare & Hounds which has stunning views from the beer garden .We look forward to returning for a second visit next year .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana B
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A perfect retreat for any time of year”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

I apologize for not writing this before.My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Springfield heaven. The property was warm and comfortable and we had everything we needed for a winter break. We liked having a wood burning stove and throughout there were little extras which made the property special like finding all we needed for breakfast in the fridge. The views over the lake to the fields beyond were very atmospheric. The owners made us very welcome and the property was spotlessly clean and contained everything we needed for a home from home. There are many places worth visiting in the area including Bridport and Lyme Regis and wonderful walks along the coastal footpaths. I can highly recommend this property for any time of year and would certainly like to return in the future.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrs_Teaca...
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Gorgeous stay in the Dorset countryside”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely stay in Springfield House Annex. The cottage was spotlessly clean when we arrived, with a lovely basket of things for breakfast the next morning (seedy bread, marmalade, jam, tea, coffee, milk, fresh eggs from the hens, bacon in the fridge). Yvonne also kindly brought over fresh homemade banana muffins which were very welcome after the long drive! Well equipped, with baby equipment if you need it (stairgates, travel cot, booster seat). Lovely that Yvonne had left some toys out for our children, which they enjoyed playing with.

The main bedroom and sitting room have a beautiful view over a lake and countryside. The garden is larger than the pictures suggest, which is great for small children who need to run around. It was nice to be able to visit the hens too - and even meet a newborn chick. No noise from the hens because they are in a field a little bit away from the house - and there is no cockerel!

The whole cottage looks recently renovated with everything (including the kitchen and bathroom), tastefully decorated and in great condition. The bathroom is downstairs. Our only complaint, of sorts, was that the dawn chorus is very loud - but that's to be expected if you come to such a rural, peaceful location! Wifi access - but pretty intermittent - I think it was trying to tell us to switch off those phones and enjoy the holiday! Perfect location if you'd like to be close to the south Dorset coastline for day trips, but would like to stay in a very rural location rather than a town or village. We would certainly recommend this cottage to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacksBrid...
Bridport
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We booked this property for friends as a celebratory present.
The property is very well equipped, cosy and beautifully furnished. The owners showed us around the property prior to us booking for our friends, so we were completely satisfied the gift of a long weekend here would be perfect for them.
Our friends were delighted with their stay and I am sure will be back in the near future.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing