We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good drinks, great atmosphere, good pub grub”
Review of The Ropemakers

The Ropemakers
Ranked #54 of 134 Restaurants in Bridport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: The Ropemakers is a traditional town centre pub offering good value lunches and a fine selection of beers. All the food is home cooked and all the ingredients are locally sourced and of the highest quality. We offer Palmers real ales and are Cask Marque accredited. At the weekends we have become welll known for live music with both local bands as well as some from further away. We like to feel that we offer a really good variety of music from some of the best pub and festival circuit bands around.
Bridport, Dorset
Level Contributor
106 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good drinks, great atmosphere, good pub grub”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Often the Ropies > as it is known locally, has live music on ... a good selection of music to suit various tastes.

When busy the pub feels buzzing, its fab.

Cheerful staff....

Good food, typical pub grub, tasty locally produced foods mostly. Cooked to order.... The bubble and squeak is yummy... and the sarnies/baguettes.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank krizzooo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, Owner at The Ropemakers, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Many thanks for your words of encouragement, glad to hear that you had a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    38
    10
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“As good as ever”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Coffee knocks spots off the bitter stuff they peddle at Costa. Beer is absolutely spot on. Staff are brilliant and look after you. A real town pub that caters for all - gardeners, musicians, cheese fanatics, the list is endless. Good on ya, John and Gwen.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, Owner at The Ropemakers, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. Nice to hear we are keeping the quality up and we appreciate your comments. The coffee we use is locally roasted and we have strived and now succeeded to get in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Simply the best, better than all the rest”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Have only used this for drinks but food looks lovely. What makes pub is the welcome you get - really felt valued. The bar staff love our lurcher, Ted and he loves everyone. Ale is superbly kept - great to have Tally Ho outlet where you know it will be spot on. Music nights can get busy - quite a mix of styles from rock through jazz and blues. Pub is a tardis - so many places you can sit. Let's hope brewery keep it as it is and don't spoil it like they did with the George up the road.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Volecatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A true town boozer”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Landlord knows what people like - good food and ale. Palmers house so pricy but John Baker stamps his own style on this spacious town centre pub. Great live music - see website.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DrEggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, Owner at The Ropemakers, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Many thanks for your kind words. Much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you on the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Local Pub Review”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Ropemakers Pub Bridport,lovely place,excellent food,locally sourced,polite friendly
staff,lovely atmosphere.Also a pub where a female can pop in for a quick drink before bus
comes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deeqew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, Owner at The Ropemakers, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Many thanks for your kind words. We hope to see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ropemakers also viewed

 

Been to The Ropemakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing