We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Thatched Cottage in glorious countryside”

Review of Eagles Nest

Eagles Nest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Eagles Nest
Entrance Hall Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Eagles Nest
Entrance Hall
Sitting Room
Sitting Room with inglenook fireplace and wood burner
Kitchen & Dining Area
Dining Area
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom with ensuite
Bathroom
Bedroom
Eagles Nest
Hot tub and patio area
Eagles Nest
Games Room
Well
Outside dining area with hot tub
Eagles Nest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bridport, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Congystag
Leicestershire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Thatched Cottage in glorious countryside”
Reviewed October 5, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Eagle's Nest is a beautiful thatched cottage, spacious and well appointed. It has a large garden with hot-tub, child's trampoline and games room. Hot-tub was fun on a chilly night! A generous welcome pack was waiting for us on our arrival. We loved nearly everything about it. One minor quibble with the property would be that the wifi on offer is a weak signal and surprisingly works best outside.
The good thing about the location is that it is on a minor road with little traffic and is surrounded by countryside. On the down side there is little to do from the property except walk footpaths which we found poorly signed and hard to follow. Also the shops and pub are nearly one and a half miles away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage itself
Liked least: Advertising wifi and only when you get there they admit it is poor.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 13, 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments about the cottage. We're sorry you had problems with the wi-fi, which we do our best to rectify with the service provider as and when we have the issues, however due to its remote location it is not always a good connection.

The property is very much in the countryside and therefore the main activity is country walks, which isn't always for everyone. We do try to ensure that we advise all visitors of the locality of our houses so as not to disappoint on arrival.

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed August 4, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Eagles nest is a beautiful place in a stunning location . Dorset is a wonderful area to explore . We met so many people who were so friendly . We loved it so much and would love to move to this area in the future .

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2015
Thank you for your comments, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa T
West Midlands, United Kingdom
1 review
“EAGLES NEST SYMONDSBURY”
Reviewed April 30, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had the most wonderful week staying at Eagles Nest, with our 2 boxer dogs, who also loved it. Surrounded by open fields and horses the setting is just beautiful. You feel like you are out in the country and yet only minutes away from shops and beaches. The cottage is absolutely perfect and meets every requirement you could have. We were fortunate to have very good weather and took advantage of this by using the ideal outdoor space for family bbq's, using the fantastic hot tub and trampoline for my 2 year old great niece. Everything at the cottage was of the highest quality and we could not fault one thing. Can't wait to go again!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: very limited wifi access but something you have to accept i suppose being in rural surroundings
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 5, 2015
So pleased you enjoyed your stay look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy M
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed April 15, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Eagles nest from 23-03-15 to 27-03-2015 and had an amazing time.
The cottage is in such a quiet and beautiful setting with great views and only a 5 minute drive from the lovely town of Bridport. Excellent value for money and became really attached to our little cottage in such a short amount of time!
Facilities were outstanding - Hot tub is such a great addition and we made sure we used it every night! The welcome basket was much appreciated and it was lovely to have all the neccessities like milk, bread, eggs, cereal ect, and of course a lovely bottle of wine!
I have to say, the bed was the most comfortable bed i've ever slept in and the showers in the two ensuites are lovely and big! Third bedroom is slightly smaller but is next door to the family bathroom.
Only suggestion I would like to make is maybe a few solar lights dotted around the garden.. as outside light by the hot tub is rather dim and it can be very dark, not that it bothered us!
Other thing to bear in mind is that, because of the location, the Wifi is not guaranteed and there's no 3G, again, this didn't bother us at all, but might bother others.
Also Ruth the housekeeper was very helpful in telling us how to top up the hot tub after a couple of nights and making sure we were ok and didn't have any problems! So thank you!
Overall, Eagles Nest was absolutely perfect and everything we wanted in our break, we would love to come back as soon as possible!
 

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine W
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A superb cottage.”
Reviewed September 2, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

An ideal cottage if you want a peaceful holiday with home comforts. The setting of the cottage is excellent; a lovely sunny garden with beautiful views of the surrounding countryside. Inside is very well equipped with everything you need and the beds are large and comfortable. We had a great week - the games room providing us with things to do on the one wet day! The hot tub was the icing on the cake after long walks along this beautiful coastline. This is arguably one of the best cottages we have stayed in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing not to like!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily B
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage and beautiful location”
Reviewed May 8, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The cottage itself was beautiful, modern kitchen and bathrooms but still loads of character. The hot tub was great, we used it everyday. Kids liked the trampoline in the garden and the dog loved the huge garden, and it being totally enclosed meant we could just leave him out there to run around. There was a lovely wood burner in the lounge, and a huge entrance hall, which we used for all our coats and wellies. Having a washing machine and tumble dryer in the cottage too was convenient. The water pressure was not great, so only one person could shower at a time, but when no one else was using the water the pressure was fine.

The location was amazing, felt secluded but within 10mins drive of Bridport and West Bay.

Symondsbury Kitchen in the middle of the estate was lovely, the food was really nice, good choice of specials, not too pricey and you could take the dog in with you.

We would definitely be going back to the estate.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large enclosed garden
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T0ny_UK
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect long weekend”
Reviewed March 21, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Stayed for a long weekend with two other couples. Eagles Nest is fabulous. Spotlessly clean, comfortable, generous welcome pack with coffee, bread, eggs, jam, apple juice etc. Really well equipped kitchen. Great log burner in the lounge with logs supplied (you can buy more from the Symondsbury Kitchen if the village if you need).
The hot tub was great and Ruth the housekeeper was really helpful when we needed to top it up on Saturday after Friday nights (over)exuberance!
Great location, close to Bridport & the coast. 20 mins walk to the village and pub.
Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home - everything you needed was there.
Liked least: If broadband is important then the connection here will cause you issue. I recommend just turning off the phone and relaxing in the hot tub :)
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing