We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot”
Review of Mangerton Mill

Mangerton Mill
Ranked #12 of 38 things to do in Bridport
Attraction details
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely spot”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Superb galleries on the site, lovely walk along the river and round the lake, and a fascinating view of times gone by in the (partly) restored mill. Well worth a visit - we didn't make use of the tearoom, though, so no comments on that

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank arandomtraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    39
    8
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
510 reviews
239 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 592 helpful votes
“Interesting craft shops / cafe in a pretty setting”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stumbled across this hidden gem - well off the beaten track and needing more publicity. There is an attractibe lake (the mill pond) and an operating old mill wheel. Several craft shops selling a mixture of local and imported craft items and paintings by local artists. The cafe looked great, but we didn't have the opportunity to eat there. A pleasant walk around the lake and past an attractive small caravan / camping site adjacent to the mill.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Lincs
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tea Time”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Lovely tea room, cakes etc. some craft shops ( one specializing in mirrors) and if you want to see these it is great. If you want to see the mill, well lets say there is a lot of work to do, but if you are interested it is all there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank itsmjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
“Lovely afternoon tea”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Been here a couple of times just for a cup of tea, but always tempted by the selection of cakes. Friendly service in a rural setting. Not had a meal here, but menu looks lovely

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, Surrey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hidden Hideaway”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

First visit to the mill yesterday. Lovely litlle hidden gem. Lunch was very good reasonable price and varied menu. friendly staff. Range of craft and art shops and short walk round lake through hens and ducks. Think museum should be free if you eat as there is not an awful lot to see, otherwise loved the place. Will return when next we are down. I really enjoyed the place and will definately return but our friends were not so keen, all down to personal choice at the end of the day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HazelDorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangerton Mill also viewed

 
Burton Bradstock, Bridport
 

Been to Mangerton Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing