We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Haddon House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Haddon House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Bridport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Due to a family memorial tradition our family visit West Bay every year to cast flowers into the sea and what was once a somewhat sad occasion has gradually become an occasion to look forward too .
This is in no small way due to Haddon House Hotel and its Excellent Staff.
Paul and Jo are most welcoming, and the banter that ensues only adds to our visits.
In the early days some of the rooms were very dated ,but now most of them are First Class with Jacuzzi baths and even tv in bathroom. Some rooms are still being refurbished but if they are as good, which I am sure they will be, so any room you stay in will be excellent, and the Food has always been Exceptionally Good, and it is only staying in other Hotels do you realise just how special Haddon House is, particually the Breakfasts, wonderful We agree with all the other positive comments. Thanks again Paul and Jo see you next year hopefully.

Room Tip: All rooms good, but you can say if you want ground floor or back or front of hotels none of the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nixyoxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne R, Manager at Haddon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for your very kind comments looking forward to seeing you all again next year
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 515 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

After visting Hadden House for the past 11 years it is about time we let everyone know what they are missing. The hotel is a family run hotel in a suberb location in West Bay. Paul and Jo strive to make improvements to the hotel where possible. The latest addition is the installation of jacuzzi baths during the refurbishment of the bathrooms (bathroom tv included). There are many places to eat in and around West Bay but you will be hard pressed to beat the quality and choice of food avaliable in their restaurant. Above all the friendly atmosphere and the excellent service from all the staff will ensure you will want to return. We can't wait to go back in August.

Room Tip: Anyone booking a room should not worry about a particular room as they are all very comfortable. Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bridport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne R, Manager at Haddon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to leave us some feedback.

Please call and visit us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

My sister & I decided last Friday afternoon to go away for the weekend. Luckily Haddon House had a twin room available. Everything was first class, the room, service and food. We have been there before and will certainly return. We arrived at 8.15pm and were straight away offered an evening meal. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

Room Tip: This Hotel is very quiet whichever room you have, even though on the main thoroughfare into West Bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ched Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne R, Manager at Haddon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to leave us some feedback.

Please call and visit us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I stayed here with my sister for a night as we were visiting an elderly relative in nearby Bradpole. Its ideal for anyone seeking a break in West Bay and Bridport is a bustling little town.

We asked for a twin but the room was made up as a superking. The receptionist who showed us to our room offered immediately to have it changed but it didn't really matter. The room was large with an ensuite bathroom, wardrobe, dressing table and two leather chairs. Tea and coffee facilities and TV with freeview -Everything you need.

We slept well and went down for breakfast - fresh pots of tea and coffee to your table and a freshly cooked to order English breakfast. I also had a bowl of fruit before my cooked breakfast and they also had cereals and yoghurts on offer.

The hotel itself is like taking a step back in time. It's old fashioned but anything modern/contemporary in that part of the UK just wouldn't be right. The lobby is a jungle of plants and everything is dark wood. The only thing that creeped me out was the dolly sat in the hallway at the top of the stairs - I don't like dolls and my room was beyond the dolly!! Very dated carpets and curtains but it all adds to the cosy warm atmosphere (aside from the doll for me!). Don't be put off by the decor though, it's a bit like going to see your Nan; everything is clean, comfortable and cosy. I wouldn't hesitate in staying here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dirtyhumans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne R, Manager at Haddon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to leave us some feedback.

Please call and visit us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My Wife and I have just spent a weekend based here - the welcome feel of the Hotel in a lovely part of the country (especially given the awful weather of late), the Staff, the standard of the Food and the overall Service was excellent and has made us want to return, which we are aiming to do in the next few weeks.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne R, Manager at Haddon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to leave us some feedback.

Please call and visit us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed here for one night plus our daughter, husband and their 2 year old twin daughters. The hotel staff were so helpful and friendly and made us all feel really welcome. We were joined in the evening by 2 other family members and were treated to an excellent meal and great service. The breakfast the following morning was also excellent in both quality and quantity - it even defeated our son in law! It was a pity it rained all week-end as though close to the West Bay we were not able to walk down to the sea - we will next time!! This hotel is very easy to recommend. We enjoyed room 3 ( a large double on the rear) whilst the family had the massive room one (on the front) - plenty of room for the 2 additional cots and still a large space for the girls to play. Well done Haddon House and staff - an excellent first stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonaboaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne R, Manager at Haddon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to leave us some feedback.

Please call and visit us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here for one night and it was our first stay. What a little gem of a hotel, friendly staff, nice breakfast and Room 7 was an absolute delight with a TV in the shower! We can thoroughly recommend this hotel, it has ample parking and is only a short walk from West Bay itself. It certainly embraces Christmas and it is tastefully decorated. If you wish to spend a short stay in West Bay then this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Ask fro Room 7 which has been recently refurbished and is a large room with a comfortable bed and an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne R, Manager at Haddon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to leave us some feedback.

Please call and visit us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridport
1.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
846 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
1.5 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
376 reviews
7.3 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
256 reviews
11.0 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haddon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haddon House Hotel

Address: West Bay, Bridport DT6 4EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bridport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bridport
Price Range: $162 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Haddon House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haddon House Hotel is situated just 300 yards from the picturesque harbour, Jurassic coastline and 18 hole golf course at West Bay. It is an ideal base for touring the counties of Dorset, Devon and Somerset. All of our bedrooms, (two on the ground floor) are of a good size, the bedrooms have all been equipped with flat screen colour televisions, telephones,hairdryer, radio alarm clock and complimentary toiletries. Please find us on facebook for regular updates and offers. En suite bathrooms with spa baths and wall mounted bathroom television ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Haddon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haddon Hotel Bridport
Haddon House Hotel Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing