We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Beer, Good Food and excellent views.”
Review of Hare & Hounds Pub

Hare & Hounds Pub
Ranked #51 of 133 Restaurants in Bridport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good Beer, Good Food and excellent views.”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

As we were staying local to this pub, we used it on a number of occasions, firstly the garden views across the Brit valley are great and the garden itself is full of flowers very well presented. Once inside, the bar area is small, but this is a laid back place, so chill out and take your time. The beers are local and a good selection of wines available, plus ciders from both Somerset and Dorset. The pub and gardens are dog friendly and dog biscuits available on the bar when required. The dining area has five tables and can get busy during the evenings unless the weather is good and then eat outside.
We had steak on our first visit which was very good, cooked to our liking, chips and trimmings of mushrooms and peas. The second visit was a Sunday evening and those of us that had steak again were disappointed, but the haddock rarebit was very good. Things got better on the third visit with the steak returning to normal, the crab tart was very tasty but the steak and ale pie was a little dry.
There is a small menu but a specials board can be found in the bar area and these are worth trying.
However, if you are passing this pub in Waytown, which is miles from anywhere, it’s worth stopping, those who can drink, it is a great place to soak up the scenery with a pint, and the food is good, and try some of the specials, it’s a good selection. The staff are friendly and so is the landlord but he may need time to come round. The pace of life is slower and that’s what you would expect in this small village, take time to talk to the locals, they can point you in the right direction and recommend beaches and local functions.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    27
    3
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A little Gem”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stay near the Hare and Hounds and wish we had visited before this is a lovely pub. We had Sunday lunch roast pork followed by a desert and you could not fault anything at all. The service was good with friendly staff the meal was presented nice and was hot, the sweet was again perfect. The view from the garden was amazing with lovely flowers. If was also nice to have a carafe of water with ice and lemon on the table. You must book as people were being turned away as this pub is also popular with local people this speaks for itself as a very lovely place to eat. I can assure you we will be back as it is also very reasonable priced and we could find nothing to fault whatsoever . Thanks very much.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track and well worth a visit.”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We visited this lovely country pub on two consecutive lunch times, once walking from our holiday cottage about two miles away and then by car. It is deep in the Dorset countryside and the beautiful and well tended garden has lovely views.
We enjoyed the sandwiches and chips, which were tasty and well presented. Nothing amazing,but there again the prices were reasonable compared to some of the other pubs around this area. Our dog was fine sitting outside and there is plenty of seating in the large garden.
There were hot meals available and a good variety and there is a dining room. We were told by a local that it is often necessary to book for dinner in the summer months.
Friendly and helpful staff and we felt very welcome, would definitely visit again if in the area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank yogamoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A pub in the middle of wonderful countryside”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We sat outside in a beautiful garden with dogs & children enjoying the fresh air and adults the food & view across Marshwood Vale. The food was excellent value, good portions and very tasty.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sybil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Out of the way pub in beautiul surroundings”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Lovely pub, with very well cared for gardens. Great views across the countryside. Bar itself very small, difficult to get served when it is busy as on possible for one person to work behind the bar - you need to be patient. We only had Ploughmans for lunch, which was OK, nothing particularly inspiring although both the ham and the cheese were of good quality. Possibly home made chutney but not sure. I have had much more imaginative Ploughmans over recent months so would not rate the food that we had very highly. Recommend that you follow the road signs to the pub - we followed the sat nav which took us down some very narrow lanes.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynda679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hare & Hounds Pub also viewed

Stoke Abbott, Dorset
Bridport, Dorset
 
Bridport, Dorset
 

Been to Hare & Hounds Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing