We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good coffee”
Review of Lula - CLOSED

Lula
Price range: $10 - $48
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Lula is intimate but informal, cosy and comfortable. We serve our food cooked to order using high quality, local produce. Our menu changes regularly and we always endeavour to give our customers that extra little something that makes food a delight. All are welcome Monday to Saturday for breakfast & lunch, Thursday to Saturday for Supper and Sunday for brunch and lunch.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Popped in for a coffee and what a lovely cosy place. Menu looked good but we just wanted a drink, however settled on a scone as cakes looked lovely and homemade. Sadly scone was very poor, too much baking powder leading to nasty after taste. Sure this was a one off and look forward to going back for a main meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MontyCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lulabridport, Owner at Lula, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Oh dear - we owe a huge apology to you as the one customer who received a poor scone from a small batch with an ingredient measuring error; after you left we realised the error and removed the batch. You were very kind to point out it was a one off as indeed it was and there is a free replacement scone & tea for two awaiting you when you make yourself known to us. Once again our apologies for the lapse. Angela & Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (293)
There are newer reviews for Lula
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 223 of 293 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is my kind of place - cosy, comfortable, with friendly service and good food, freshly prepared, inviting to look at and delicious to eat. It isn't cheap but cheap food is normally nasty. So I'd say it was good value for the quality. Particularly touched by the wave from the kitchen as we were saying goodbye. As we have moved to area recently, we'll definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Thomas_H530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lulabridport, Owner at Lula, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you kindly for your review. You have brought the weather with you as well so a warm welcome to Bridport and Dorset and good luck in your new home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and myself popped in for lunch on Thursday. The waitress was welcoming and efficient. Menu was interesting and obviously all cooked on the premises. Food very good. Atmosphere very good. Will definitely be making this a regular lunch venue.

Thank Gelfy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lulabridport, Owner at Lula, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for your kind review and comments. We are always thrilled to gain a new regular and we do hope you join us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Only went in for a coffee which was good and the girls who run it very nice. Menu looked good and will go back another time.

Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lulabridport, Owner at Lula, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for reviewing Lula (and calling us nice girls!), sorry you only had time for coffee and we do hope you get a chance to try our food another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Read the reviews and just had to pay a visit. Today my wife and I popped in here for a coffee and some cake.Well my wife had the cake and I had a cheese scone. The cake was delicious but the scone was just the best cheese scone I have ever had.Very pleasant and helpful staff. We will be back and next time for a complete lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lulabridport, Owner at Lula, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your kind comments. We are very glad you enjoyed your cheese scone which we bake ourselves to our own recipe. Hope to see you at Lula again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lula also viewed

West Bay, Bridport
Burton Bradstock, Bridport
 
Burton Bradstock, Bridport
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing