We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Return”
Review of Lula - CLOSED

Lula
Price range: $10 - $49
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Lula is intimate but informal, cosy and comfortable. We serve our food cooked to order using high quality, local produce. Our menu changes regularly and we always endeavour to give our customers that extra little something that makes food a delight. All are welcome Monday to Saturday for breakfast & lunch, Thursday to Saturday for Supper and Sunday for brunch and lunch.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

It was great to cheat the weather and spend another happy hour or so at Lula's. I was delighted, but not surprised, to see that they have been awarded a five star rating. It is well deserved. Our greeting was genuine and with a warm smile. The menu boards boasted some lovely imaginative dishes with the emphasis on the best fresh local produce. We were not disappointed with, and can thoroughly recommend, the haddock chowder with salad and organic bread - warming and delicious. We cannot wait until we will return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lulabridport, Owner at Lula, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Thank you for your generous review. We are guessing you visit bridport from farther afield? if so we are proud to be your restaurant of choice. Hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 238 of 293 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2012

Staff very friendly and helpful, food was delicious and beautifully presented. During two visits we enjoyed vegetable tarts, frittata and chowder. Would definitely return for more.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lulabridport, Owner at Lula, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review. We do rely on our customers to help us promote our business and so many of you are kind enough to oblige. We're very happy you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a really lovely, basement restaurant. Don't be fooled by the standard menu outside, which makes it look like it might be a rather uninteresting cafe. There's a great specials board inside packed with really delicious, imaginative, interesting dishes. The food is prepared and presented with real, loving care. And it's gorgeous, with good vegetarian and meat-eater options. Welcoming friendly service too, with high quality local artwork on display (and on sale). Oh, and great puddings. You'll want to go back again and again... We did, and do!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lulabridport, Owner at Lula, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

We're very grateful for your kind review. We really enjoy supporting local artists and hopefully we are getting a reputation for having some interesting things on our walls as well as our plates. We look forward to seeing you at Lula again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Walking through Bridport we nearly missed this gem of a place since it is in a basement. Do not let this put you off. The sun shines throught the windows, the staff are friendly, helpful and efficient. The food is good and also good value for money. Be a little patient with the food delivery since hot food is heated in an oven not a microwave so takes a bit longer than some places to arrive but, boy, is it so much better for being done properly!

Thank topcat8562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lulabridport, Owner at Lula, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Thank you for your kind review and for appreciating that real food takes a bit longer to prepare, we're glad you waited and enjoyed your self. Look forward to seeing you again at Lula soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great little place to eat, lovely food and relaxing atmosphere. Looking forward to going back again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SamPWeymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lulabridport, Owner at Lula, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Thank you for this lovely review, it's nice to have our neighbours from Weymouth over. Come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lula also viewed

Burton Bradstock, Bridport
 
Chideock, Bridport
West Bay, Bridport
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing