We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely fabulous”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Old Rectory

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
view from verandah
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
11 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 30
Bridport, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Joanne D
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We booked The Old Rectory for 23 family members to celebrate 2 milestone birthdays. We ranged in age from 7 to 80 and everyone loved the property and location. We all had our pick of the bedrooms and the boys loved the attic room whilst the girls were quite at home in their princess bedroom. The dining room seated all 23 of us each evening and the lounge was perfect from chilling out in. We had the most perfect weather to enjoy the garden to the fullest with tennis, football, frisbee, croquet (well our own version of!) and a birthday picnic on the lawn. Agree with other reviewers that the kitchen is a tad small for the the size of the property but this just meant that the two on cooking duty each evening were not disturbed by any one else and the appliances are more than adequate to cater for a large number.
There are great walks around the village and Bridport is a must for anyone who loves a rummage for an antique or two. West Bay and Burton Bradstock beaches are definitely worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space that the property offers both inside and out. The uniqueness of each of the rooms. The shabby chic decor.
Liked least: Kitchen is on the small side but appliances perfectly adequate.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess P
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I rented the house for my birthday along with 25 other guests and I couldn't have wished for a more perfect stay. The owner Phil who I dealt with in the lead up to the trip was great, very accommodating and understanding. The house itself is incredible, I am from the local town of Bridport originally but I felt like a world away being in the house - it felt like a real treat. I am 100% going to recommend this to my friends and would love to make a trip there with my friends an annual thing as they all enjoyed themselves so much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pollyputt...
Windsor
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A really great experience to stay here!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

A big group of us stayed here for 2 nights. There is a huge dining room and we did a couple of lovely parties where you feel like you are a member of the cast in a real life Agatha Christie film. We got 30 round the table for a sit down dinner - they provide enough plates and glasses etc for all those people.
Everywhere you look are beautiful things, vases and furniture, odd ornaments and books. All very tasteful and in keeping with the style and age of the house.

The bedrooms are something else! The bathrooms all had excellent showers and the kitchen was well equipped.

I found Phil and Ann very kind and accommodating - couldn't do enough for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The verandah with terracotta pots.
Liked least: Only one dishwasher! It needs 2, but hey!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
350Lisa
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed March 23, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I booked the Old Rectory in Symondsbury for a family Christmas. Leading up to our stay, Phil the owner was incredibly helpful with all my enquiries, and when we arrived I was absolutely gobsmacked at how beautiful and massive the house was. It is even better than it looks on the internet, and much, much bigger than I had imagined. The house was completely PERFECT in every way. The bedrooms and bathrooms were stunning, and the many other rooms were outstanding in a shabby chic kind of way. My family and guests were utterly knocked out by the house, and are still talking about it months later. Phil is just next door to deal with any problems should they arise. We were there during Christmas so it was cold and rainy outside, but despite the size of the house it was well-heated and we never felt cold. I would imagine in the summer this would be an ideal place to stay as the garden is very large, and the house is a short drive away from the coast. I would definitely stay there again. Actually, I would like to live there...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself is absolutely stunning
Liked least: the kitchen is a little on the small side
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawnie712
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Wonderful place for a weekend with freinds”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

22 adults and children were in our party and we had plenty of space. The kids loved every minute, exploring the vast amount of rooms. The rooms were all very individual and beautifully presented, what I would call shabby chic. I agree the kithen is small but who wants to cook when your away for a break with 22. Walk 100 metres to the local pub instead.
TIP: look out for Phil's grandad, he is wonderful and has some great tales to tell about the place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: being lady of the manor
Liked least: the stairs with young children
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 28, 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bedrooms, sitting room, dining room and open fires
Liked least: The size of the kitchen was a little neat compared to the rest of the house
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 27, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character of the house
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing