We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than acceptable and thriving on a Wednesday night”
Review of Olive Tree

Olive Tree
Ranked #7 of 138 Restaurants in Bridport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $72
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A friendly restaurant serving Mediterranean food using local seasonal produce, cooked in our open kitchen! Our dishes are prepared to order so we are able to accommodate gluten-free and other dietary preferences.
Bridport
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“More than acceptable and thriving on a Wednesday night”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Serenaded a little too loudly by a man and his guitar, although pleasant it was difficult to hear my companion. We guzzled nicely warmed glasses of red, enjoyed the plentiful fish Spectacular and 5 spice chcken after sharing the crayfish starter-sadly overchilled. Service good, and you can see your food being cooked.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RubyBridport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    119
    45
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointingly Unspectacular”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

As residents we know the Olive Tree quite well but had not visited for a nmber of months as it had always been a little lacking in atmosphere and fllair.. After some recent very positive publicity concerning its food in the Guardian (which they are very keen to remind you about) we decided to give it another try. It has not improved. Their signature dish is 'The Spectacular' which is a sort of low grade boulliabasse - because of the reviews we all ordedred this. It was a great disappointment and is essentially a piece of fish , hake on our visit, laid across a pile of mussels. This sounds very appetising except that nearly all our mussel shells were empty - this was all 4 of us - and we each had three prawns and one scallop. That was it, except for some bread. It was NOT spectacular and very expensive - perhaps not for a Guardian journalist but certaily in this part of the world...............oh and there was also a carrot each. The price for the fish and shells nearly 18.00 each.Two of us had the most expensivbe starter, charcuterie - very disappointing. The various meats had been bought in from a supermarket and certainly not the one owned by John Lewis down the road. We had to ask for bread and when the waitress decided that I was saying 'bread' and not 'red'; I do not have a speech impediment and I could not quite work out what I could want that was 'red', brought us four small slices for the two of us, no butter was offered. This level of service typified a slow and rather disinterested level of staffing, The highlight was the rhubarb crumble, which was tasty is a school dinner kind of way. The overall cost for four with one mid - price bottle of wine was 135.00 which was we felt very expensibe for a reasonable piece of fish perched on a very large number of empty shells. Every time we have been to the Olive Tree we have vowed we would not go again , this time it is a definite no matter what The Guardian writes about it. Bridport has much better restaurants and THIS IS NOT as it claims 'one of the best fish restaurants in Dorset'.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliveTreeBridport, Owner at Olive Tree, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
The Seafood Spectacular contains a minimum of 450g Mussels, 200g Clams, 150g prime fish fillet, 50g crayfish tail and 3 or 4 shelled tiger prawns 2 or 3 Lyme Bay Scallops [depending on size], & occasionally more ... depending on market prices. We don't serve empty shells, perhaps some of your mussels had fallen to the bottom of your bowl. All our meat & Charcuterie are supplied by a local high quality butcher. We regularly eat at other restaurants in Dorset and I've never found a three course meal & good bottle of wine for as little as the price you paid. We frequently get asked for 'more red' [wine] & rarely get asked for more bread as our portions are generous, so I was surprised by your comment about our waitress for wanting to be sure that we were getting your order right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Dropped in for lunch last Saturday and had the most delicious West Bay Scallops in a white wine, cream and leek sauce, followed by lemon pannacotta. Lovely atmosphere and friendly service. Family members also chose the minute steak and 'catch of the day.' Everyone agreed the food was lovely. Will definately be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good menu”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Not a huge menu, but something for everyone. We've had fish a couple of times and the portions have been generous and well cooked. It's a bit draughty in the winter if you're sitting near the door but the service is always friendly. It's always busy so you need to book.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We visit Bridport several times a year to visit relations but won't be back to visit the Olive Tree. We had had a busy day and did not have time to stop for lunch so by dinner time we were very hungry. We booked and were seated by the kitchen. My sister and my mum ordered duck with Dauphinoise potatoes with vegetables, i had a lamb tagine. The lamb was far to under cooked and the portion size far to small. It was below average. The duck was very salty and over cooked. My mum's dauphinoise potatoes were under cooked and hard, when we complained about the meal the waitress said ' I will tell the chef ' and that was that. No one came over at any stage and asked if we were enjoying our mael, very telling. We ate because we were very hungry, but we still all left some.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Tree also viewed

 
Burton Bradstock, Bridport
 
Burton Bradstock, Bridport
West Bay, Bridport
 

Been to Olive Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing