We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weather dismal but on site facilities very good”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean - West Bay Holiday Park
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Weather dismal but on site facilities very good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed here with our grandchildren. Excellent children's entertainers who kept them busy in their respective clubs. Not a secure site as on the main road and accessible to members of the public. Facilities cleaned regularly, staff pleasant and helpful. Weather wasn't great but then we cant have it all!! Not as much entertainment as I would have expected for a bank holiday week.

Room Tip: We had a camper van with awning. Very good site for pitching tent, helpful and courteous staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    131
    84
    24
    23
See reviews for
229
76
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

I stayed at West Bay Holiday Park for Whitson 2014 in our touring caravan. When we arrived at the park we went to main reception and the receptionist told us to go to the touring field and then report in the touring reception which was basically a garden shed. The receptionist gave us all the necessary info but she could have been a bit more cheerful! The camp-site in general is huge and extremely hilly. The facilities are generally clean but at peak times of the day there was litter in toilets/complex/play area. The evening entertainment is average as the children's entertainment is actually better than the main entertainment, also the entertainment room (The Riverside) needs to be bigger because if you want a seat you will have to go earlier. Some of the staff are really nice and helpful but some are ok with adults but awful with kids as when a boy was waiting for a drink 2 members of staff ignored him!! When you exit to the site be on your most awareness as going down the hill when towing you caravan can be scary especially if you are on top row. The location is probably the best you could ever find on a holiday park because the camp-site itself is in the heart of the small town of West Bay. It is only a 2min walk to the beach from the site and you can see the sea from your caravan window and the view is incredible! You can also dig some fossils at the beach because it is along the historical jurassic coastline!
I would recommend Parkdean, West Bay Holiday Park to families mainly with small children but for couples also.

Room Tip: Try and book a pitch further away from the complex as it can be loud at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanWilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horndean, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

The redeeming feature of this site is its location. As mature adults we were not interested in the entertainment facilities for children and families. We like sites where we can park and walk easily into local towns or villages for meals, refreshment and exercise. Located at the western end of West Bay, this site is predominantly dedicated to an enormous number of fixed mobile homes with an area above devoted to tourers and campers. Our pitch was somewhat in need of TLC but came with an electric hook up, water and grey drainage so once parked we didn't have to move. From the pitch it was a fairly short walk into West Bay and onto the Coastal Path. A walk westwards to Eype brought good views and tranquility. We also noticed on the plan of the site that from the northern end of the site, there is a footpath to Bridport. That was very handy as we were able to walk to Bridport without having to contend with any vehicular traffic. The site itself wasn't very relaxing, though, as pitches were very close together and there was no obvious effort at keeping noise levels down. Checkout time was, we felt, too early (10:00) given pitch access wasn't scheduled for new campers until post 12:00. We asked to be allowed to check out late but before 12:00 but this was refused as our pitch was booked from 12:00. A sensible option would have been to offer us to move temporarily to another pitch to wait as there were many empty by then but instead it was suggested that we could park up in West Bay. Instead we drove into Bridport where we parked in its football ground car park that we'd passed on our earlier walks into Bridport. Our next campsite in Glastonbury was (is) excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterPietro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
passporter75
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

West Bay is one of the smallest holiday parks we've stayed on, and also one of the best. The staff we encountered were friendly, helpful and polite (top marks to reception); the site is well laid out, with everything in easy walking distance and enough activities (swimming, soft play/games room, and kids club) to keep our 3 year old and 1 year old happily occupied; and being bang slap in the middle of West Bay it's the perfect base for discovering this charming town. Our caravan was clean and spacious, which was great. Being so close to town, there's no need to eat on site either. In all, a thoroughly enjoyable weekend break.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

A bank holiday camping trip for are group of friends. They were happy to move us as the pitch allocated to us was covered in puddles and no one wants to sleep in puddles. Lovely view of the sea up on are pitch with plenty of room. Clean facilities and lovely hot showers. With camped at a few park deans as a group and always love the bingo and entertainment. The quiz was a bit of a let down due to the host pretty much giving away answers. In all a lovely weekend get away for little cost.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We are a touring caravanning family of two adults two girls (6 and 8). Stayed here May bank holiday on a grass serviced pitch. The pitches were of a decent size (though a bit water logged underneath). Good electric hook-up and water tap between two or three pitches. Our was easily accessible. The gravel pitches could do with a little tidy up, but generally fine. The site is clean and well maintained. The toilets showers were clean and the shower areas not too small like some can be. They were warm and well kept. Wife reports free hair driers (some charge apparently) and cleaners nearly always in attendance. There is little ambient noise from the town, but would have liked to have seen wardens after 1030 keeping noise down, but it wasn't too much of a problem (we have been spoilt at Caravan Club sites for too long!).

There is a small Nisa shop next to the site, a Spar just on the outskirts of the harbour and a large Morrison's in the town.The campsite has a small cabin with a limited stock of camping essentials but they are well chosen! The guides were very helpful and helped me move my caravan onto position (I refuse to buy a mover whilst I still have my strength!).

The site is served by a Costa coffee, a bar/entertainment area and swimming pool. There is a decent small children's park. Our children enjoyed the entertainment in the evening and the pool was good if not a little small. We didn't eat there (there are so many great places to eat in town).

By far its greatest asset is its location right by the main harbour and beach, both easily walkable. A really pretty unspoilt, non-commercialised harbour, and you are spoilt for choice for eating places (both restaurants and cabins), seafood outlets and pubs. The play park by the old station is worth a visit - some really good fun apparatus made from shipping rope and wood made for excellent playing! the beach is mixed pebble and sand, with more sand further away from the main town.

In all a lovely location and good campsite, we are already returning later this month and we are al looking forward to it.

Room Tip: The higher pitches have better views, but also more wind!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grumpole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my family have just returned from West bay and would recommend the site to any one of any age. My daughter's aged 8 & 11 loved sid and lizzie and the entertainments team, baba is a star and a real assist to parkdean making us all feel very welcome "a very funny guy". The girls on the team were extremely attentive with our children and josh made us smile every time we saw him. The facilities on park were limited and the swimming pool was closed when we went to visit, but we were later told is was closed for lunch. We will definitely be returning, but will be checking to see if baba is there first as he made our holiday.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mummyhen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridport
0.2 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
7.9 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - West Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - West Bay Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - West Bay Holiday Park
Address: West Bay Holiday Park Bridport | Dorset, Bridport DT6 4HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Bridport
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkdean - West Bay Holiday Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your golden gateway to the Jurassic Coast...Stroll through the scenic harbour just at the entrance to West Bay Holiday Park, and you're straight onto the beach - the golden gateway to the Jurassic Coast. From there the fun begins with fossil hunting, paragliding, coastal walks... and maybe a fishing trip or a round of golf thrown into the mix. And there's always time to browse the antique and craft stalls at bustling Bridport market town.* West Bay beach is right on the doorstep * We're set on a stunning World Heritage Site * Great walks exploring the rugged Jurassic Coastline * Hour long cruises from the pretty nearby harbour * Fantastic heated indoor pool with flume ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West Bay Holiday Park Hotel Bridport
Parkdean - West Bay Holiday Park Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing