We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean - West Bay Holiday Park
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Never Again”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed here last week, and a rainfall came, which nearly flooded the caravan, when we went for help to the reception area we got told its not our fault, go home!!!!!! impossible to do as all the roads leading into the town were flooded.therefore we had to get a friend to put us up over night until we could get accomodation. They said three working days for our money back, but needed 600 that day to get somewhere else to stay, had to use spending money to pay for it!! Had 2 days with no money third day we checked the bank and tried to rip us off and not givethe full amount.because of small print on their insurance. if I was you Id check the small print and never stay at this park, staff were rude, unhelpful. The onsite shop is a joke the man behind the counter is the most arragant person Ive ever met, the manager of the site has not got a clue wheather she is coming or going, I spoke to her personally and to run a business like that she needs the sack!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    137
    92
    28
    25
See reviews for
241
86
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I have fond memories of West Bay, we spend a week every summer here while we were groing up. So much has changes and its lost a little of the charm it once had (the little shopping arcade is now all flats, used to love the joke shop and shell shops!!) but its still lovey. The beach is only a very short walk from the caravans making it ideal for dog owners and owners of v. small children!!
The holiday park itself is great, in the same league as the John Fowler Park at Looe.. the stafrf are friendly and the entertainment is brilliant..well recommeded, especially for families...not a place for hen or stag do's...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed here for a four night break in May through the Sun holidays. On arrival we collected our keys and the staff were polite and friendly as most of Parkdean staff are. As we didn't know what caraven we would be getting we were pleasantly suprised when we arrived at the caravan which appeared to be what possibly could have been privately owned caravan at some point. We had three bedrooms for 3 people so we had lots of room and the caravan was generally clean. There were some items in the caravan which you wouldn't normally find in rental caravans which suggests it may have been privately owned. To be honest some of things just needed chucking away such as garden table with one chair, kids toys and lamps with shades that have been damaged. The duvets and pillows provided were of a poor quality and did look well used so I would suggest taking your own linen and pillows. The site is placed in an execllent location for getting around to different places and you can walk out of the site into the harbour where there is always something to see whilst enjoying your fish & chips. As the weather was really good we didn't use many of the other facilities on the site but all looked well kept and clean. I would definately return to this park as I think the location is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bexs186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Not completely tested but given this rating because we enquired about a touring pitch at 'PARKDEAN' West Bay for 3 nights as we were in the area. There were plenty of spaces but no reduction in price, the cost asked was about £57.

Needless to say, we went on to HAVEN at Littlesea (ON THE SEA COAST) just a stones throw away where there is always a big DISCOUNT if there are spaces. We got a pitch for the motorhome for £23 (over 50% discount) which included family passes for the into all the facilities, shops, bar, indoor pool, entertainment etc. Beers in facilities same price as a pub.

Littlesea is again mainly statics (offers big discounts) and also has seperate good camping, motorhome and caravan pitches with clean and modern facilities with a very nice couple who look after the touring area and live on site. Right on the coast, super dog walks!

I have asked Parkdean about its pricing policy and I await a reply.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank TheExile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bridport hotels

DERBY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed here in our touring caravan for the bank holiday and we had a great time. We took along our children aged 11, 8 and 2. They all had a great time and were kept fully entertained in the evening. Okay so the seating in the entertainment can get a little packed at night but it wasn't a major problem. The showering facilities were brilliant, very bright modern and clean. I never had to wait for a shower and the touring park seemed full when we visited. They also have a family room which again is faultless with a lovely clean bath and open shower. The swimming pool on site was great again its not massive but we didn't find this a problem. The surrounding village area is very picturesque nice with a vast assortment of cute food outlets in the harbour and plenty of pubs offering food. The beach is lovely and clean although we did find the large numbers of free running dogs annoying. Note to dog owners (not everyone appreciates your beloved companion running over and sniffing through their picnic or trying to lick the childrens faces!!) We did use the onsite shop several times and it wasn't horrendously priced as some other's can be. But there is also a very large morrisons a 5 min drive away of 30 min walk if you fancied it. And to add to that the village has a lovely large adventure playground on route to the supermarket. What more could you want. Currently we are enjoying traveling about to different parks with our new caravan and so dont plan on revisiting only for this reason but I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it

Room Tip: We stayed in our own caravan so I can only comment on the facilities provided for tourers and these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lover_of_life_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Me and my Husband and 2 children decided to stay at Parkdean's West Bay for the Easter week, as the kids were off school. Having been to a few other Parkdean holiday parks we knew what to expect, and we were very nicely surprised with West Bay. Just outside the entrance you have a lovely harbour area with restaurants, pubs, boat rides and only 200m away is the beach. Word of warning - it's stones and they hurt! Wear trainers, or as some people did, wellies! Its sand at the bottom by the shore so kids can still paddle and make sandcastles and the jurassic coast is really stunning.

The caravan we stayed in was called an 'Oyster' - 2 bedrooms, nice large shower in the bathroom and double glazed with central heating - best caravan we have ever stayed in, loved it! When we arrived it was very clean and the pillows and duvet looked almost brand new.

There's a nice park onsite for the kids to play on, looks quite new. Arcade isn't as good as Warmwell's one but it sufficed, and it's good because we didn't spend a fortune in there.

The Troupers really made the holiday special, and Sid and Lizzie always goes down well with the kids. Yes... OK the entertainment is typically cheesy, but we like that. The outside acts that come in are very good, better than expected and the gameshow and competitions are pretty good fun. Like most things though, it's what YOU make it. If you are reserved and don't like to join in, than thats fine too, but we joined in, got involved and it was great fun! And even better, I won on the bingo - twice!

Because we went for Easter, me and my little girl joined in with the Easter hunt and bonnet making, and she received an Easter egg at the end from Sid which just made her day.

This park is in one the best locations, as you are only 10 miles from Lyme Regis which is lovely, and only 25 miles from Weymouth (we visited both on our 7 day stay). Bridport itself has a good high street with shops like Waitrose, New Look, Stead and Simpson etc... and some nice Bakeries. Also, only 2 min drive from the park is a big Morrisons, so no problems with stocking up on food and cleaning items for the week.

The restaurant onsite was fine, we only ate there once- it is what it is... but with so many little eateries by the harbour you didn't go hungry.

The launderette onsite was always empty, but at £5 for the use of the large washing machine and £1 per every 20min on the dryers I could see why. I always take washing powder or liquid and handwash swimming items and underwear if we need too..

The swimming pool was very good, the baby pool is shallow and very warm, but still had a little slide and a water spitting frog that the kids could play with.

The main pool isn't large but again we had the kids with us so it didn't matter too much. My Daughter is 6 and could also go down the large yellow slide, even though she can't swim, they let me catch her at the bottom, so she could still join in the fun which I thought was very good of them. Safe pool too - always 2 lifeguards on duty.

Overall, we really loved this park - I love Dorset and this is a very good way to see it, especially if you want to go that little bit further on than Bournemouth, and hit more the Dorset/Devon border, as I believe Exeter was only about 38 or so miles on from West Bay.

Would we go back - Yes! We would love to. We like these holiday's while the kids are young, it caters well for them, but me and Hubby had fun too.

Room Tip: If you can, go for a better quality caravan, Oyster range upwards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kelzabells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

This is a difficult review to write. West Bay is a great village, the surrounding countryside is fantastic. The places we visited were brilliant and excellent value for money but at the end of the day we all felt let down by the holiday park.

My wife, two teenage daughters and I booked a top end caravan for seven nights. We were already slighty tainted against Park Holidays as we had tried to enquire about entertainment whilst we were away as it would be one of our daughter's 13th birthday. After much persistance by my wife we finally got sent an entertainment guide, as it turned out though it was not for the week we were staying.

Childrens entertainment is geared very much towards the under tens and a film show that our daughters wanted to go to was cancelled for a little ones Easter Egg Hunt. They were also very disappointed when the Teens fun hour in the pool was cancelled and no explanation was provided. On the subject of the pool, it is open to the general public so swimming times are restricted. Not something we are used to on a family holiday.

Overall I would say that we were very disappointed on this holiday, to the point where our girls asked if we could go home a day early. At no time did we feel engaged by the holiday park and that is something we have never experienced before.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilF67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bridport hotels
0.2 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
483 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
751 reviews
7.1 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
163 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
141 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - West Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - West Bay Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - West Bay Holiday Park
Address: West Bay Holiday Park Bridport | Dorset, Bridport DT6 4HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Bridport
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkdean - West Bay Holiday Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your golden gateway to the Jurassic Coast...Stroll through the scenic harbour just at the entrance to West Bay Holiday Park, and you're straight onto the beach - the golden gateway to the Jurassic Coast. From there the fun begins with fossil hunting, paragliding, coastal walks... and maybe a fishing trip or a round of golf thrown into the mix. And there's always time to browse the antique and craft stalls at bustling Bridport market town.* West Bay beach is right on the doorstep * We're set on a stunning World Heritage Site * Great walks exploring the rugged Jurassic Coastline * Hour long cruises from the pretty nearby harbour * Fantastic heated indoor pool with flume ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West Bay Holiday Park Hotel Bridport
Parkdean - West Bay Holiday Park Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing