We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britmead House B&B

Britmead House B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Britmead House B&B
Ranked #34 of 60 Bridport B&B and Inns
Abbots Langley
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Comfortable and well placed for West Bay and "Broadchurch". The 2 rooms on the ground floor were ideal for myself, my wife and dog, plus my elderly father next just door.
Owner and staff made us very welcome and could not be more helpful, plenty of parking at both front and rear and nice gardens, also there is a big meadow at the back to exercise the dog or just walk by the river.
Plenty of choice for breakfast but after having the "Full English" the first morning did not try anything else but the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon was enjoyed by the others.
Only thing we did not like was not being able to leave our very well behaved dog in the room or bring her into the breakfast room meant we had to leave her in the car during some of the hottest weather for years, we won't be going anywhere else that has this restriction.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms good for people with mobility problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    17
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
42
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

This was our sixth stay here and yet again Alan & Louisa were wonderful.
The staff are all very friendly and could not do enough for us.
Rooms are spotless, and a very good view looking over a very well kept garden and towards West Bay.
Breakfast you could not fault, and if you want something different you only have to ask.
We would highly recommend this B and B.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesleyandjohn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is the 11th year I've been here. I thought it was a great place to stay the first time, could it get any better? Well yes it has!
The breakfasts are the best I've ever had, anywhere. Everybody is really friendly and nothing is to much trouble.
The rooms I've stayed in are all clean and tidy and are refurbished regularly.
At the back is a lovely pattio & garden for chilling out and doing nothing all day if you want

Room Tip: All the rooms are good most have a shower but same have baths. There are double and twin bed choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colebrooke_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonbridge
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Spent a most enjoyable week at this lovely b&b. Alan and Louisa made us most welcome and fed us very well with their excellent breakfasts. Our room and bathroom were spotlessly clean, the bed comfortable. We had a lovely view overlooking the beautiful garden and toward West Bay where the sun sets.
There is a bright and sunny sitting room at your disposal if you wish to listen to music or read.
Thank you Alan and Louisa for making us most welcome, certainly a home from home.
We shall be visiting again very shortly.
Fell in love with Scampi, but they would not let me bring him home.!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paularyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freshwater, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Probably.... What a beautifully maintained, clean fresh and friendly Britmead House is. The perfect compliment for Bridport/West Bay.

The breakfasts were great, a variety offered so something for everyone.

The room was always clean, tea making facilities and the cutest fridge you ever did see!!!

View from the room was of the beautiful rolling hills of West Bay. Private parking away from the road was yet another added bonus.

Thank you Alan, Lousia and Kaye for making our holiday so special.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

After a very long two days from France to England our journey was to head towards Lands End. We stopped at Bridport & soon discovered West Bay, late we looked for accommodation , we came across Britmead House where we were greeted with a kind smile & welcome . All the rooms are ensuited which is comforting to have your own space. The room is so well appointed & comfortable. The house has a guest common room just like your own living room. Breakfast is available with great choices. This lovely place we have for just one night as they are very popular , we just wish we could stay longer. Oh by the way just a short stroll to the harbour were you will find a superb restaurant a a host of other eating choices. How lucky we were to stay here.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charney Bassett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We required accommodation for 1 night in Bridport and as soon as I spoke to Louisa I knew this was the venue for us. On our arrival we were shown to a lovely room, light, airy and spotlessly clean and a sparkling en-suite. The beds were extremely comfortable and our breakfast the next morning was superbly cooked by Alan and served by an extremely friendly lady. It is within a few minutes walk of West Bay where there is plenty to see. We would not hesitate in recommending this B & B to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PollyWalkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bridport hotels
0.4 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
7.3 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britmead House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britmead House B&B

Property: Britmead House B&B
Address: 154 West Bay Road, Bridport DT6 4EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Bridport
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Britmead House B&B Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing