We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to get away from it all”
Review of Highway Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highway Farm
Ranked #3 of 60 Bridport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect place to get away from it all”
Reviewed August 28, 2010

The booking was very easy.
We had a very warm welcome with a choice of refreshments.
Our room was very clean and well laid out.
Breakfast was exceptional as was the surprise fruit starter.
Pauline and John, the owners, were perfect hosts.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roger081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    14
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
56
146
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Me and my Fiance (Charlie) stayed at highway farm for 2 nights in Aug. It was the best break we have had together.
Pauline and John were the most loveliest hosts you could ever want. Full of useful information and extremely helpful. The b&b was very clean and tidy. No complaints what so ever. Our room was stunning with the best bathroom/shower room you could ever want. Never felt a shower as lovely as that one. The bed and pillows were soo soo comfy!! We both agreed that we had the best night sleep we have had in a long time. There was no hustle and bustle. The b&b is located in the quiet countryside so there was no traffic noise or city noise.The complimentary tea/coffee/ biscuits were also perfect.
Everything in the room was soo well thought of, even down to the pictures and decoration.
The views from the b&b were incredibly gorgeous. You couldnt ask for more. Sipping Tea in the garden looking at the views was everything you could ask for and more on a relaxing break. The lakes were stunning with lots of carp. We also saw the geese around the lake.
The breakfast was perfect, cooked breakfast with yummy fruit, cereal and warm bread. Perfect way to start the morning.
Just to top the trip off - we got to meet the gorgeous pets on site. Truely stunning, perfectly well behaved pets. Very welcoming and great company at breakfast! Peggy, Willow and Jazzy will be our friends for life. They topped the holiday off perfectly...

We will definetly be returning to highway farm and plan on booking up again asap.
Highly recommended..!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki-keene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Lovely modern building, great hosts with lots of local info and ideas. Pauline and John are ex dairy farmers and know the are really well. Pauline, a keen artist, is really helpful on booking, arriving and throughout stay. Enjoy breakfast on the patio, looking out over gorgeous valley, with gorgeous mix of homemade offerings and Malawian paraphenalia ......all sourced ethically.

Hurrah for B&Bs with power showers...but fill the B&B with your family or hope that neighbours in adjoining rooms (there are just three) are quiet as walls are quite thin. Having said that this is a total hoot with handy fridge for your vino/milk/strawberries and more information than you could possibly digest. Super walks, really lovely local pub (Ilchester Arms) all in a foody heaven!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodyflourfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

Pauline and John are the perfect hosts who share the running of this wonderful B&B. They provide a warm welcome with tea and home-made cake on arrival, comfortable rooms and excellent breakfasts. Top quality local food, plenty of green credentials here. The B&B is well set back from the main road, so traffic noise is not noticeable. Lovely restful views over green countryside and you can walk from the farm to the coastal path. We've stayed here three times now and will be back again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorers25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2010

Our extended family filled Highway Farm for the Easter weekend and what a weekend we enjoyed. We were greeted with smiling faces, hot tea and freshly baked hot cross buns. Our rooms were all beautifully furnished and very comfortable and very large. There was a tin of homemade biscuits on the tea/coffee tray along with an assortment of different teas. Plenty of hot water for baths/showers after a days activities in the beautiful local area. There were plenty of maps available and Pauline and John had lots of local knowledge combined with being able to start walks directly from the farm was a huge bonus.
Pauline also helped me make arrrangements prior to our stay, she gave me telephone numbers for clay shooting (directly across the road and great fun) and horse riding within a couple of miles on really lovely well kept/trained ponies.
We were also advised on places to eat and were never disappointed.
The many floral arrangements around the farmhouse and all the lovely willow seats in the garden make us want to go back and join some of the workshops that Pauline runs.
Plus of course the wonderful breakfasts served by John, Go, ENJOY :-)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shorty770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2010

Stayed here on business. I arrived here on a cold dark winters night. Was welcomed with a great friendly welcome from Pauline & John and nice hot drink. The service and cleanliness was superb. I was pointed in the right direction (with a torch) to the local pub that did beautiful meals (highly recommended). The bed was so comfortable I really didn't want to get up, but upon seeing the scenery outside the dining room I was gutted I hadn't got up to view it earlier. Pauline's breakfast was very delicous and set me up for a busy day. Will definately return if ever in the area again. Thank you!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavePallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham brummie
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2009

My wife and I have been now 4 times in total ( twice in 2009 ). Pauline and John are such a friendly couple and they go out of there way to make there home your home.
pauline is a very good cook and the breakfast is from local produce along with home made bread.
They have a very good knowledge of the area and places to visit.
There are beautiful views across the countryside from the rear of the farm.
There are 2 ponds for fishing which are well stocked with carp which give sport allday long.
I have no hesitation in recommending Highway Farm.

sue & mark Birmingham

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1smks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridport
1.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
797 reviews
1.9 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
498 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
171 reviews
9.3 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
349 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highway Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highway Farm

Property: Highway Farm
Address: Highway Farm West Road, Bridport DT6 6AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Bridport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decidedly Dorset! Highway Farm B&B and Ganders Cottage are situated in the countryside by the sea. It a stunning walk to the south west coastal footpath from the farm and you can also walk to the market town of Bridport and a good local pub. Enjoy hearty breakfasts on the patio in the garden overlooking the fishing lakes. All the rooms are spacious and en-suite rooms and Cottage for self-catering or wintertime B&B. We are local hosts with a wealth of local knowledge and we're here to help make your stay special. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highway Farm Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing