We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Highway Farm
Nearby Hotels
Fernhill Hotel(Charmouth)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$185
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Greyhound(Bridport)(Great Value!)
$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hensleigh House(Charmouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveler rating
239
15
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
239
15
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspauline johnperfect hostswarm welcomeilchester armswealth of informationon arrivaloverlooking the valleyhomemade breadlocal places to visitlarge tabletea and cakelocal pubour room was spaciousjurassic coastwest dorsetlocal arealyme regis
Filter
Updating list...
246 - 251 of 256 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Lovely modern building, great hosts with lots of local info and ideas. Pauline and John are ex dairy farmers and know the are really well. Pauline, a keen artist, is really helpful on booking, arriving and throughout stay. Enjoy breakfast on the patio, looking out over gorgeous valley, with gorgeous mix of homemade offerings and Malawian paraphenalia ......all sourced ethically.

Hurrah for B&Bs with power showers...but fill the B&B with your family or hope that neighbours in adjoining rooms (there are just three) are quiet as walls are quite thin. Having said that this is a total hoot with handy fridge for your vino/milk/strawberries and more information than you could possibly digest. Super walks, really lovely local pub (Ilchester Arms) all in a foody heaven!

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodyflourfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

Pauline and John are the perfect hosts who share the running of this wonderful B&B. They provide a warm welcome with tea and home-made cake on arrival, comfortable rooms and excellent breakfasts. Top quality local food, plenty of green credentials here. The B&B is well set back from the main road, so traffic noise is not noticeable. Lovely restful views over green countryside and you can walk from the farm to the coastal path. We've stayed here three times now and will be back again for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Explorers25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

Our extended family filled Highway Farm for the Easter weekend and what a weekend we enjoyed. We were greeted with smiling faces, hot tea and freshly baked hot cross buns. Our rooms were all beautifully furnished and very comfortable and very large. There was a tin of homemade biscuits on the tea/coffee tray along with an assortment of different teas. Plenty of hot water for baths/showers after a days activities in the beautiful local area. There were plenty of maps available and Pauline and John had lots of local knowledge combined with being able to start walks directly from the farm was a huge bonus.
Pauline also helped me make arrrangements prior to our stay, she gave me telephone numbers for clay shooting (directly across the road and great fun) and horse riding within a couple of miles on really lovely well kept/trained ponies.
We were also advised on places to eat and were never disappointed.
The many floral arrangements around the farmhouse and all the lovely willow seats in the garden make us want to go back and join some of the workshops that Pauline runs.
Plus of course the wonderful breakfasts served by John, Go, ENJOY :-)

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shorty770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

Stayed here on business. I arrived here on a cold dark winters night. Was welcomed with a great friendly welcome from Pauline & John and nice hot drink. The service and cleanliness was superb. I was pointed in the right direction (with a torch) to the local pub that did beautiful meals (highly recommended). The bed was so comfortable I really didn't want to get up, but upon seeing the scenery outside the dining room I was gutted I hadn't got up to view it earlier. Pauline's breakfast was very delicous and set me up for a busy day. Will definately return if ever in the area again. Thank you!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavePallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

My wife and I have been now 4 times in total ( twice in 2009 ). Pauline and John are such a friendly couple and they go out of there way to make there home your home.
pauline is a very good cook and the breakfast is from local produce along with home made bread.
They have a very good knowledge of the area and places to visit.
There are beautiful views across the countryside from the rear of the farm.
There are 2 ponds for fishing which are well stocked with carp which give sport allday long.
I have no hesitation in recommending Highway Farm.

sue & mark Birmingham

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1smks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews