We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay”
Review of Highway Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highway Farm
Ranked #3 of 60 Bridport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We were celebrating a family birthday and took over the 4 rooms for the long Easter weekend. We had a brilliant time from the moment we arrived with welcoming and very friendly hosts. We would all very happily return to enjoy again the relaxed stay we experienced. The rooms were comfortable, the food delicious and Pauline and John were warm and very friendly. The location is ideal for visiting the local area and there was lots of info offered to help us decide what to do. Many thanks to you both.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank c b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TillyBale, Owner at Highway Farm, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We love a family celebration! Always lovely to gather everyone together and delighted you chose Highway Farm. A pleasure to meet you all and we'd happily welcome you all back to Dorset, anytime or for another special occasion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    14
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
54
137
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We were unexpectedly (and very happily) offered an upgrade to stay in Ganders Cottage, which sealed a lovely long weekend for us. Husband went off to do another section of the SWC Path, while I lost myself in the market in Bridport on Saturday (Farmers, antiques and ordinary) - take a young man (or two) to carry everything! Surrounding area glorious, hosts so willing to make sure we had a good time, sharing local info and recommendations. The Crown does a great Sunday lunch. Early morning sitting outside watching the deer and rabbits, and the local birdlife - all made a very welcome relaxing break from the madness of everyday life. We will definitely be back for more. Our thanks to a smashing couple xx

Room Tip: Ganders Cottage well equipped, cosy, and with excellent early morning views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TillyBale, Owner at Highway Farm, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Very welcome relaxing break from the madness of everyday life....love it. So pleased you had a great time. We aim to make your stay special! Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights at Higjway Farm on our way to Devon. Pauline and John were very energetic and informative hosts. They are a wealth of information on the local area.
Very nice large room with a large and powerful shower. Only slight downside for me was an oversoft bed, but thats just a personal preference.
Breakfasts were delicious.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Inselaffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TillyBale, Owner at Highway Farm, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
We enjoyed meeting you both. Thank you for taking the trouble to review.
Come back and see us, Bridport is full of interesting memorabilia....check the vintage scene!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Had a lovely time in Bridport and surrounding area. Super B and B in the main house with friendly knowledgeable hosts. Well recommended. Will come back and stay in one of their cottages and go self catering. Eating out every night is pricey for 4. The George at Chideock was v good with music thrown in. Ilchester Arms was average fare.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie532014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TillyBale, Owner at Highway Farm, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for writing. Lovely to meet the family and we'd love to welcome you back to Dorset, maybe in one of our Special Dorset Cottages sometime soon. P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a one night stay here. Our en-suite bedroom was large and very comfortable. It is surrounded by lovely countryside. Pauline was very nice, kind and helpful. Breakfast was very good with a great choice. We enjoyed an evening stroll to the nearby village of Symondsbury for a meal at the pretty Ilchester Arms.Thankyou for everything. Jean & Brian.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TillyBale, Owner at Highway Farm, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. Hope to see you back for longer next time. xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2014

A blind B&B booking which not only had some of the best accommodation we have come across, but the added bonus of a friendly and interesting host who conjured up breakfast to die for despite the death of the cottage aga.

Highway Farm is definitely on the top of our places to revisit.

Room Tip: You couldn't do better than the cottage.."Ganders".
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nanniejan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TillyBale, Owner at Highway Farm, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Ganders cottage with breakfasts cooked for you. Just right for that special break. So very pleased you enjoyed the stay, and we hope you'll be back for more of Dorset!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed just on a week at Highway Farm Cottage with two active boys.
The well appointed cottage was a home away from home. With a space for our children to run around and feed the chickens!
John and Pauline were fantastic hosts with a wealth of information about the area.
Highway Farm is also ideally located near River Cottage too where I participated in a bread making course.
If your after a place that is clean, warm and in a beautiful setting then Highway Farm is ideal.
Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CherieS118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TillyBale, Owner at Highway Farm, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Even in the winter there is lots to do and see in Dorset. Thank you for your lovely review, it was great to welcome you all to Dorset.

Ganders Cottage is perfect for 2, and it also suits 2 couples, and families of 4 as it has 2 ensuite rooms and one bedroom is on the ground floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bridport hotels
1.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
754 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
1.9 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
163 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
237 reviews
6.9 mi away
Monkton Wyld Court
Monkton Wyld Court
#2 of 7 in Charmouth
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highway Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highway Farm

Property: Highway Farm
Address: Highway Farm West Road, Bridport DT6 6AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Bridport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decidedly Dorset! Highway Farm B&B and Ganders Cottage are situated in the countryside by the sea. It a stunning walk to the south west coastal footpath from the farm and you can also walk to the market town of Bridport and a good local pub. Enjoy hearty breakfasts on the patio in the garden overlooking the fishing lakes. All the rooms are spacious and en-suite rooms and Cottage for self-catering or wintertime B&B. We are local hosts with a wealth of local knowledge and we're here to help make your stay special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Highway Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highway Farm Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing