We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Security, what security”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Freshwater Beach Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Security, what security”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

We spend a week over easter at Freshwater holiday park in our motorhome and found all the facilities to be excellent. The pool, sauna and steam room were a welcome place of solitude from the noise of the pool and the restaurant and sun terrace were very relaxing. All toilets and shower facilities were first class and cleaned to a very high standard. One point for motorhomers and caravaners is to ensure that you have levelling blocks as some of the pitches are deceptively inclined. The entertainment facilities ensured that all the family had a good time with lots to do and see.
The thefts reported by Jim I were noted and many stories of the 'security staff's' apathy were again confirmed by our neighbours; we were not directly affected by any theft but it appears that the 'spree' lasted some time and could have been limited by more attentive security. Overall, this would not put us off returning but we are and will always remain security minded with our outdoor accesories.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank captainbanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    122
    38
    23
    19
See reviews for
326
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Enjoyed many fun weeks away here staying in a static caravan, lovely walks, close to the beach, West Bay is definitely worth a visit and the Lyme Bay Rib charter boat trips are great fun. Have to mention the entertainment team at Freshwater they make our children's holiday fun fun fun, games colouring competitions, Flopper the Rabbit, they all make it so much fun and interact with the children and families. Cabaret family friendly and the team dance with the kids and join in. This years Ade Dasbo abs and Nat Nat were fab and my kids can't wait to return.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

We visited Freshwater Beach for a family Easter weekend break, with 5 adjacent pitches in an assortment of caravans and tents. We all went on the recommendation of my son and daughter inlaw who have been frequent visitors with their children. Unfortunately even they now feel they are not likely to return. All was well until Sunday night when some robbers went on a thieving spree, countless windbreaks (some with swimming costumes on!), a number of caravan steps, gas bottles , and goodness knows what else were taken on the rampage around a large section of the site including ours. My nephew saw them running and phoned the security number on the brochure only to get voicemail. I was told by a member of staff in the morning that the reception was inundated with reports from the moment it opened. My question is that if it was such large scale, where was the security ? We know we take risks of isolated theft leaving equipment outside but really feel that Freshwater have let us all down in this instance, and have a job to do in recovering confidence (and some replacement windbreaks wouldn’t go amiss!)

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Jim I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We visited Freshwater Beach for the day with our inlaws, a 2 year old and a 9 month old and found the park to be superb, lovely location, very clean, the pool facilities were amazing for families and super clean!
The food in the restaurant was lovely and service was excellent!
The whole holiday park is ideal for families who was to stay on resort and have a chiiled break with entertainment on site. We are going back to stay here in June!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Caravan was very clean, as was the pool area. Ten pin bowling was very popular with the children and the prices were very reasonable. Food from the Rolling Stone restaurant was ok, but not good value for money.
Was not pleased to find out about internet access charges on the day we arrived (it was not specified on website), so did not pay for it. I think that extra charges should be notified in advance. In my opinion £20.00 for a week is excessive, but of course others may be happy to pay.
The whole site looked tired, many caravans spaces empty. There was littering on the grounds. There is no recycling point, so if you want to recycle plastic or paper it needs to be taken to Bridport. Site shop was handy and there was lots of choice.
The location of course is great, lovely beach with many fossils to be found.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MES19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Just arrived back from a 2 night break away in our folding camper with my wife, two children and our family dog. It was our first visit to Freshwater and will definitely be one of many. We stayed in the top field close to the shower block which was spotless with great pressure hot showers. Pitch was nice and flat. We had quite a small pitch but there are larger ones available which we will probably request for next time. Swimming pool is great and again spotless. Large pool for a good swim and a smaller pool with slides etc for the kids. The Evening entertainment was good old traditional campsite style which the kids enjoyed giving us the chance to relax and enjoy the evening with a drink or two. We had a bite to eat in The Rolling Stone Bar and the food was of good quality at a reasonable price and as for Julia R who reviewed recently - COME ON love, you were meant be on holiday enjoying yourself and not back in the school playground arguing over who gets what first. LOL. Good job were not all the same. I am writing this GREAT review because Freshwater deserve it. Great campsite and well worth a visit. Extra compliments to the cleaners who obviously work very hard. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDP77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately some people need to be on-line even on a weekend away.
Here they have rip-off wifi prices ( £4.00 a day but a 'day' is only a certain ammount of data then you get cut off. No 3g .
Long walk to facilities.
No exit signs.
If none of this is important to you then the walks, beaches and countryside are perfect.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Autocruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridport
0.4 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
1.4 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
1.3 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
11.0 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freshwater Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freshwater Beach Holiday Park

Property: Freshwater Beach Holiday Park
Address: Burton Bradstock, Bridport DT6 4PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Bridport
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Freshwater Beach Holiday Park Hotel Bridport
Freshwater Beach Holiday Park Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing