We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3rd visit :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highlands End Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“3rd visit :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Highlands end holiday park is a fabulous site in dorset with stunning views and daring walks. Myself and my family stayed in 2010 in a touring caravan and also in 2012 in a static caravan. We are all going back next month in august and staying in the static caravans again. We can't fault this place as we always end up booking another stay. West bay is a pretty little harbour where we spent hours crabbing and it has a really nice fish and chip shop which we always go back to, also if you're a walker theres a cute little garden cafe called down house farm in Eype, we went there most days alongside the smugglers bar in Eype. If you like views, adventure and exploring then this is the holiday park for you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDLH, Manager at Highlands End Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are really pleased to read that you enjoyed your last stay with us and that you are able to visit us so frequently. I hope you will be taking advantage of our Half Price Holiday Offer! -further details can be found on our website or give our bookings team a call 01308 426947. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    122
    43
    14
    10
See reviews for
209
152
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 7 night stay at Highlands End. We took our caravan and booked online, opting for a serviced pitch.
The journey to site was straightforward and check in was easy. We were directed to the touring section and told to select our own pitch. We drove around the site twice and found that some pitches were too small for our twin axle van- the pitches on the far left of the site in North Rye Acres are ideal for the big vans but we would have struggled on the smaller pitches, especially if we'd brought our full size awning with us.
Once we'd set up, we took in the magnificent views from the cliff top at the end of the site. A short walk left will take you down to West Bay where Broadchurch was filmed. This is a lovely little harbour village and has a lovely vibe.
On site, there is a bar and restaurant. We didn't try the food so can't comment but the local ales were £3.50 a pint which is about right these days.
Toilet blocks are nice and clean as are the showers.
There is a dog walk as well and we used this twice a day. It was a shame to see that some dog owners couldn't be bothered to pick their dogs mess up. It really stands out on the immaculately cut lawns.
I did notice that there were several large empty gravel pitches on the site, which had amazing views of the sea towards Charmouth. I didn't see these pitches mentioned when booking though and 4 of them were empty for the 7 nights we were there, all with uninterrupted views. Had I have known about these pitches, I would have booked one. I pointed this out to staff and asked why they weren't advertised, and the answer I got was that maybe they had been reserved for the dates I'd requested. I was asked if I wanted to move, but I hadn't brought an Aquaroll with me, else I would have. Sufficed to say that when we return, I shall be booking one of the gravel pitches for the views.
One thing to watch out for are the narrow roads on the site. As we were driving round, the caravan mounted the kerb on one of the bends and scratched the alloy wheels. The only way to avoid this is to take the bends wide and drive onto the grass opposite the kerb. However, this can prove difficult if a motorhome is parked on the grass, as we found out when we left. We observed several caravans mount this same section of kerb whilst we were there. I did report this to the receptionist and she said she'd get someone to look into it. There is no reason for those kerbs to be there in my opinion.
We will return and hopefully soon. This is one of the better sites we've visited.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDLH, Manager at Highlands End Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your very good and detailed review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will be able to visit us again soon. We have noted your comments about the kerb and will be looking into this. Don’t forget we also have 3 other holiday parks in West Dorset which also welcome touring units, further details can be seen on our website, West Dorset Leisure Holidays. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed over the weekend in our VW, weather wasn't so good on the Friday but the rest of the weekend was fine and we had a pitch with a stunning view looking out to sea and across the bay. Didn't use the awning as, being a cliff top site, it was a bit blowy on the Friday night. The site is very clean and well maintained, good size pitches and the staff are friendly and helpful. We ate in the Inn one evening and the food was excellent, probably one of the best steaks we have eaten for a very long time and some of the best chips we have ever had.............prices were reasonable as well. West Bay is a short stroll away along a coast path and well worth a visit. Would also recommend the market in Bridport which is held on Wednesdays and Saturdays.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angie431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDLH, Manager at Highlands End Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your very good review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will be able to visit us again soon. Don’t forget we also have 3 other holiday parks in West Dorset which also welcome touring units, further details can be seen on our website, West Dorset Leisure Holidays. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a weekend stay at the holiday park.

We had initially planned to camp. However, the site is on top of the cliff and is very windy. If camping I recommend you have a strong tent. We had trouble getting our up and ended up staying in a holiday home/caravan. (We weren't the only ones struggling, although others with large/strong tents were fine).

The staff were excellent and helped us change our accommodation. they were very friendly.

Caravan was spacious and immaculately clean.

Excellent facilities on site.

Would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leisa_down_under
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDLH, Manager at Highlands End Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for your review, I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Highlands End and that the staff provided you with an excellent service. We do our best to accommodate during difficult weather and we do have another 3 holiday parks in the area that also welcome camping and touring. I hope you will be able to visit West Dorset Leisure Holidays again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

On approach up the driveway you can tell you are entering a different leagued holiday park.
With spacious beautifully looked after grounds.
Staff were friendly and welcoming and we even got taken to our caravan and showed how to use items like the fire etc if needed.
We stayed in a fantastic caravan that looked brand new with fantastic views across the Eype valley and sea.
Bar and restaurant is spacious and is very good value for the quality of food, the bar also serves real ale.
Highlands end is also situated within easy reach of places like Weymouth and Lyme Regis.
I would highly recommend this holiday park and me and my family would happily return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bear_Claire86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDLH, Manager at Highlands End Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for your review, I am very pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Highlands End and that you found our holiday park to be set at a high standard. We are very proud of our area and want it to be appreciated by all who visit. We do offer special discounts on our Caravan Holiday Homes if you return for a second time during the year, more information about this can be found on our website. We hope you will be able to visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Have just returned from 10 glorious days. We were lucky to have wonderful weather which showcased this site in all its glory. We took our touring caravan plus dog and stayed on an all service pitch. Water, waste and electric were all provided. A TV point would have been helpful as reception was unpredictable. The site and shower block was clean, well managed and the staff friendly and helpful. I bought a 7 swim pass for the pool which was more cost effective than paying daily. The pool facilities were good and I was able to purchase goggles as I'd left mine at home. The walks from site into West Bay, Eype and further afield were stunning and mainly off road. There's a disused railway that takes you from West Bay into Bridport. Make sure you visit the tea room Downhouse farm. Highlands End really have captured a little piece of heaven! Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaphOxford_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDLH, Manager at Highlands End Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for your review, it looks like you made the most of your 10 day holiday here at Highlands End and that you experienced a lot of the beautiful local area. We hope you will be able to return again soon and don’t forget we also have 3 other holiday parks in the West Dorset area that welcome touring units and dogs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

This was our first caravaning trip and found this to be a fantastic site, good directions and signposted , friendly helpful staff on reception, in the shop and in the restaurant. Shop prices were very reasonable , we ate in the restaurant on our first night and found the food to be reasonably priced and of adequate quality. We originally booked for 3 nights and extended it for another two nights, we stayed on a grass pitch, lots of water points. Showers and toilets were clean,very well kept site, can't wait to go back again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twosomeHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDLH, Manager at Highlands End Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your review, i am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you thought it was clean and reasonably priced. I hope you will be back to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridport
0.9 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
9.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
5.1 mi away
Newlands Holidays
Newlands Holidays
#2 of 5 in Charmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlands End Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands End Holiday Park

Property: Highlands End Holiday Park
Address: Eype, Bridport DT6 6AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Bridport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Highlands End Holiday Park 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Dream Lodges * Apartments * Bungalows * Hire Caravans * Camping Pods * Camping * Touring ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and PitchUp so you can book your Highlands End Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlands End Holiday Park - West Dorset Leisure Holidays Hotel Bridport
Highlands End Holiday Park Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing