We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming country inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Three Horseshoes Inn
Ranked #5 of 59 Bridport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We hit upon this charming pub by complete accident coming down from Eggardon Hill in the pouring rain.The lanes are really narrow but the sceneray is beautiful, really quiet and rural .We were rather too late for lunch, sadly, but decided to stop for a drink. The inn is a delight, just what you want from an old country inn , lovely old wooden tables and chairs and a delightful and welcoming young lady on the bar. Whilst it is an old inn it is run really well with 21st century customers in mind and lovely tidbits on offer like Dorset chorizo and olives and rather temptingly "fizz" with or without Dorset sour apple liquor!! Will definitely return to try out the food!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JeanneAlbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 143 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

We were a party of 6 for Boxing Day lunch. They were able to accomodate us even though we were a very last minute booking. We were given a lovely window table. We had fish and chips and the fish cakes. Fish was cooked to perfection. Fish cakes huge and delicious. Home made tatar sauce was to die for. All absolutely excellent. Would highly recommend a visit if in the area.

Watch out for tomtom's directions. We came from Melton osmond and tomtom's sent us seriously off piste. We ended up on a farm road perched atop a hill. Spectacular views but driving not for the faint hearted.

Room Tip: Watch out for tomtom's directions. We came from Melton osmond and tomtom's sent us seriously...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank PBF B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We went for lunch on a surprisingly sunny November day. We sat in the sun on the terrace overlooking the very tranquil valley and village. A rare treat to be able to sit out in the winter sun! It was not busy, not surprising as it was mid-week in the winter but for us that was perfect as we were able to kick back and enjoy the terrace to ourselves (there were some guests inside). We had a really great meal. I had calamari with a wicked garlic mayonnaise and sea bream for the main course with twice cooked chips. Totally yummy and didn't need to eat anything else that day! Lovely hostess. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaye S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We felt the menu could have been slightly greater. My wife's beer battered cod and chips cooked in dripping (as all fish and chips should be!) was good the triple cooked chips slightly over done the home made tartare sauce excellent. I thoroughly enjoyed char grilled mackeral, crab croquettes, braised fennel, little sweet tomatoes, aioli, sea purslane (small amount of the latter!). Beautifully fresh and well cooked. Rhe rhubarb and apple crumble with vanilla custard we shared was exemplary. I had walked in the night before from our holiday cottage and had a superb welcome from a girl who I thought was a reincarnation of Tess of the D'Urbevilles also some of the locals!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

After looking at the web I thought we had found a real gem and with a really good star rating ? ,how wrong I was . This year I have travelled the length of Great Britain and ive stayed in about 25 b&bs my budget is around £80 , I've spent £29 on travel lodges and think I've had better value for money , why my gripe ? Well room was clean but very dated , bed was ok , towels poor with frayed edges , taps had to be left running to get any hot water , room was very cold in the morning and the shower was so poor I gave up . The only good bit was the breakfast was ok . Would I stop here again NO

Room Tip: Don't stop in room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adrian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We were delighted to find this small, remote, dog friendly inn, and would not hesitate to visit again. We were made very welcome from the moment we said 'hello' and charmed by Susi who keeps an excellent front of house; meanwhile her partner cooks superbly - while the menu was relatively limited, this allowed him to produce excellent food with some very interesting twists, certainly not your typical pub grub.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We visited the Three Horseshoes on a number of times whilst staying in a nearby cottage, we found the food excellent and the staff were very polite and helpful. the beer garden has lovely views over the surrounding countryside, we would certainly visit this pub again if we visit Dorset again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DAVID H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bridport hotels
3.7 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
929 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Greyhound
The Greyhound
#9 of 10 in Bridport
130 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
525 reviews
7.3 mi away
Halsons Bed and Breakfast
Halsons Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Morcombelake
56 reviews
10.3 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Horseshoes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Horseshoes Inn

Address: Dugberry Hill | Powerstock, Bridport DT6 3TF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Bridport
Price Range: $124 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Three Horseshoes Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amie, Tracey and our vibrant team WELCOME you "back to the future" of your local The Three Horseshoes Inn - Powerstock, from Nov 2016. Where beautiful beer meets the most handsome food, created by our very talented and passionate team. A village pub with rooms, welcoming all new doggie friends. We boast the most idyllic Dorset countryside view and live by a simple vision that is, everything we do is designed to be loved by our customer's, whether it's on their holidays or a visit to the local for any occasion. We would love you to see our passion, through the perfection of the beer and food, and very importantly the quality of service that everyone will receive. It is our intention to source, grow and smoke superb Dorset local produce and maintain a consistent quality of our food and drink. By building a family team with the same ethos we will always ensure each person leaves the "Shoes" having had a fabulous experience, turning it from a secret into a very public pub. Our ambition is to be the best destination pub in West Dorset! Check out our social media and posts for updates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Three Horseshoes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Three Horseshoes Hotel Bridport
3 Horseshoes Inn
Three Horseshoes Inn Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing