We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delighted with our overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Three Horseshoes Inn
Ranked #6 of 60 Bridport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We were delighted to find this small, remote, dog friendly inn, and would not hesitate to visit again. We were made very welcome from the moment we said 'hello' and charmed by Susi who keeps an excellent front of house; meanwhile her partner cooks superbly - while the menu was relatively limited, this allowed him to produce excellent food with some very interesting twists, certainly not your typical pub grub.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 143 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

We visited the Three Horseshoes on a number of times whilst staying in a nearby cottage, we found the food excellent and the staff were very polite and helpful. the beer garden has lovely views over the surrounding countryside, we would certainly visit this pub again if we visit Dorset again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DAVID H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

What a great find a few miles from Bridport, even though the lanes are very narrow The Three Horseshoes Inn, Powerstock more than met our needs, set in great countryside with opportunity to explore and walk locally. Our room, the annexe of the Inn was excellently furnished to a very high spec. with a beautiful view. We had a very warm welcome and the staff were very friendly throughout our visit. Breakfast was more than sufficient and dinner in the evening (x2) was first rate, quality again 5 star for room and food. Would not hesitate to return to repeat the experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Went to the Three Horseshoes for Sunday lunch and had a very poor experience. After commenting to waitress that we felt the Greek style salad was extremely small for the £10 price tag we were shocked to be offered more chips or bread instead. Their attitude to our quiet and polite comments were appalling and eventually our meals were taken away and returned with quartered tomatoes slung on top. We were eating in the beer garden at the rear of the pub and felt that they only just tolerated the two small children we had with us Can now understand why the pub was so quiet on a Sunday lunchtime in the middle of the holiday season. Normally we would have had to book for a table here over a year ago. Such a shame.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We and another couple have just spent two nights staying at The Three Horseshoes Inn in Dorset, and wow what a fantastic experience. The rooms were truly awesome with fantastic views, large, modern, comfortable and exceptionally clean. The food was top class from start to finish, a delight to eat there. The owners/managers could not be more welcoming and it is also fantastic value for money. Breakfast was also first class and we will definitely be going there again.

Room Tip: Ask for room number 2, if that is not available ask for room 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geezers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The Three "Shoes" hosted me and my good lady wife last weekend and by the way this is a flamin gem! In fact we were very fortunate too as the weather put pay to a camping adventure and instead brought us here. We loved the room over looking the Egardon Valley and the food , breakfast and a restaurant meal of Rib of Beef was delish! Service great too! Will definitely return, complete value for money. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

A word of caution - get a good sat nav and a decent map when you set off for this pub restaurant in the middle of the back of beyond. But, go there !!! The five of us ate some fantastic food. Home made bread, scallops, Veal Burgers, Chicken, Home Made Fish cakes, Triple cooked chips, veal escapoles with home made gnocchi, home made ice cream - all were terrific. What we liked were the twists to each dish - a home grown herb, something forraged from the local area, the unusual combinations of ingredients. The food reassuringly takes some time to arrive but each dish is spot on. Portions are generous, the staff friendly and helpful (especially with the directions home). The place itself is a pub pure and simple; no fancy interior design schemes here. All the effort goes into the food and long may that continue. Excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Peter084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridport
3.7 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
889 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
179 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Greyhound
The Greyhound
#9 of 10 in Bridport
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
522 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Coach and Horses Inn
The Coach and Horses Inn
#1 of 1 in South Perrott
56 reviews
7.3 mi away
Halsons Bed and Breakfast
Halsons Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Morcombelake
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Horseshoes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Horseshoes Inn

Address: Dugberry Hill | Powerstock, Bridport DT6 3TF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Bridport
Price Range: $122 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Three Horseshoes Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amie, Tracey and our vibrant team WELCOME you "back to the future" of your local The Three Horseshoes Inn - Powerstock, from Nov 2016. Where beautiful beer meets the most handsome food, created by our very talented and passionate team. A village pub with rooms, welcoming all new doggie friends. We boast the most idyllic Dorset countryside view and live by a simple vision that is, everything we do is designed to be loved by our customer's, whether it's on their holidays or a visit to the local for any occasion. We would love you to see our passion, through the perfection of the beer and food, and very importantly the quality of service that everyone will receive. It is our intention to source, grow and smoke superb Dorset local produce and maintain a consistent quality of our food and drink. By building a family team with the same ethos we will always ensure each person leaves the "Shoes" having had a fabulous experience, turning it from a secret into a very public pub. Our ambition is to be the best destination pub in West Dorset! Check out our social media and posts for updates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Three Horseshoes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Horseshoes Inn
Three Horseshoes Hotel Bridport
Three Horseshoes Inn Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing