We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Power of this Places Stock has Gone Up!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Three Horseshoes Inn
Ranked #6 of 60 Bridport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The Three "Shoes" hosted me and my good lady wife last weekend and by the way this is a flamin gem! In fact we were very fortunate too as the weather put pay to a camping adventure and instead brought us here. We loved the room over looking the Egardon Valley and the food , breakfast and a restaurant meal of Rib of Beef was delish! Service great too! Will definitely return, complete value for money. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 143 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2012

A word of caution - get a good sat nav and a decent map when you set off for this pub restaurant in the middle of the back of beyond. But, go there !!! The five of us ate some fantastic food. Home made bread, scallops, Veal Burgers, Chicken, Home Made Fish cakes, Triple cooked chips, veal escapoles with home made gnocchi, home made ice cream - all were terrific. What we liked were the twists to each dish - a home grown herb, something forraged from the local area, the unusual combinations of ingredients. The food reassuringly takes some time to arrive but each dish is spot on. Portions are generous, the staff friendly and helpful (especially with the directions home). The place itself is a pub pure and simple; no fancy interior design schemes here. All the effort goes into the food and long may that continue. Excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Peter084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We called in here for dinner early on a Friday evening and had a most memorable meal. The chef tries hard to focus on local and seasonal - even to the extent of garden-grown nettle soup and rhubarb icecream. The menu is very imaginative and the dishes arrive beautifully presented. The dining room is quite small, rustic but comfortable and the service is friendly, well-informed and professional. We did not stay overnight but have already recommended friends and business contacts to stay here to experience some truly wonderful food and hospitality in beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dianaofdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

If you are looking for a pub that uses local food cooked expertly in quite an outstanding location with lovely friendly people to look after you, then go no further than this delightful village inn.

They have accommodation which makes for the perfect break in in a stunning location of views, walks and the sea and Bridport within easy reach.
Can't be bettered really!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JazzerDorsetUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Set in very rural Dorset this small pub run by Suzanna and Guy (who does the food), will give you a really wonderfully warm welcome and with food to die for. We had lunch of Pate, miniature scotch eggs made from perfectly cooked quails eggs as well as Escargot with cepes all to an accompaniment of what must have been triple cooked homemade chips. The beers are Palmers and the IPA is wonderful.

The evening celebrations were amazing with an incredible 7 course set menu and then later incredibly friendly local people who popped in to greet the new year. Needless to say breakfast was great

All in all an amazing experience - if you are looking for an intimate weekend with great food, great atmosphere and great local walks in the Dorset countryside whatever the weather - you will not do better. Worth seeking out!

Room Tip: Talk to Suzanne
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Three rather senior citizens - my wife and I plus a female friend (and her border collie) arrived at the Three Horeshoes as quivering wrecks after negotiating the almost impassable lanes in and around Powerstock in order to spend a three-day mini-break in Dorset. We were all immediately transformed back into lively, convivial human beings (except the dog) by the warmth and kindness shown to us by Susie and her husband Karl, who are the embodiment of inspired and inspirational innkeeping. Our spotlessly clean and spacious downstairs rooms overlooked spectacular and breathtaking scenery and the pleasure this afforded was more than matched by the excellence of the food and table service at dinner and breakfast each day. Susie was the epitome of kind concern and helpfulness, whilst Karl excelled himself in preparing a variety of menus which would not be out of place in the very best and most expensive city restaurants. All the staff were similarly attentive and made dining there an absolute delight, even Dale the dog being made to feel especially welcome. We cannot praise the Three Horsehoes and its inimitable hosts Susie and Karl too highly and will most certainly be paying a return visit there in the very near future. Terry O'Brien

Room Tip: Book well in advance - there are only three rooms, all of them excellent but in great demand!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We have stayed at this beautifully located pub about 5 times over the past 8 years or so, and seen three different sets of landlords over that time. This is by far the best incarnation so far - Suzy provides the warmest welcome with good natured enthusiasm, she clearly really enjoys her work and genuinely cares that her guests are happy. Her tolerance of our very drunken gushing over the wonderfulness of the pub was quite remarkable! The upstairs room was spacious and very relaxing, with a fantastic bathroom and lovely toiletries provided. We have also stayed in the downstairs rooms which both have stunning views over the beautiful Dorset countryside. Karl's food is absolutely superb - he is a very talented chef indeed, we just hope he doesn't move on anywhere else too soon. Fish in particular is excellent, also the partridge with home made, perfectly seasoned bread sauce and fantastic creamed cabbage with bacon and cobnuts was probably the best game I have ever eaten - and I eat loads of it! The pudding of burnt cream with rhubarb icecream and shortbread was the stuff of dreams. The pub is also perfectly located in a quiet picture book vilage, complete with chiming church clock, rose festooned cottages and rolling hills. We saw a herd of deer on nearby Powerstock common, a true wilderness that we loved even in the horizontal rain that assailed us. Unfortunately the weather was appalling so we couldn't sit on the terrace and look down on the hillside this time, but hopefully next time. Cant wait to return!

Room Tip: Upstairs room is spacious and soothing, downstairs rooms more modern but fantastic views over the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank stephfromlondon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridport
3.7 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
888 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
179 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Greyhound
The Greyhound
#9 of 10 in Bridport
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
522 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Coach and Horses Inn
The Coach and Horses Inn
#1 of 1 in South Perrott
56 reviews
7.3 mi away
Halsons Bed and Breakfast
Halsons Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Morcombelake
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Horseshoes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Horseshoes Inn

Address: Dugberry Hill | Powerstock, Bridport DT6 3TF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Bridport
Price Range: $120 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Three Horseshoes Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amie, Tracey and our vibrant team WELCOME you "back to the future" of your local The Three Horseshoes Inn - Powerstock, from Nov 2016. Where beautiful beer meets the most handsome food, created by our very talented and passionate team. A village pub with rooms, welcoming all new doggie friends. We boast the most idyllic Dorset countryside view and live by a simple vision that is, everything we do is designed to be loved by our customer's, whether it's on their holidays or a visit to the local for any occasion. We would love you to see our passion, through the perfection of the beer and food, and very importantly the quality of service that everyone will receive. It is our intention to source, grow and smoke superb Dorset local produce and maintain a consistent quality of our food and drink. By building a family team with the same ethos we will always ensure each person leaves the "Shoes" having had a fabulous experience, turning it from a secret into a very public pub. Our ambition is to be the best destination pub in West Dorset! Check out our social media and posts for updates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Three Horseshoes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Horseshoes Inn
Three Horseshoes Hotel Bridport
Three Horseshoes Inn Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing